We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb Room with roof top terrace”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alegria (B&B)

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
B and B -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Tavira, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
rftu
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
434 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Superb Room with roof top terrace”
Reviewed January 26, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Really centrally located with a supermarket right next door. If you have not given an arrival time you need to phone Rui [phone number is beside the front door ] and he arrives promptly to check you in.
There are plenty of summer seats outside if you do need to wait the 5 to 10 mins it takes him to arrive.
This is a quirky but lovely B&B and our roof top room had an amazing roof terrace with BBQ and wood burning pizza oven. Piles of sun loungers.
The room was spacious, spotless and the bed was so comfortable.
Breakfast was a light continental but as we do not eat much in the morning it suited us well.
The location was 5 star and although in the centre of things, amazingly quite at night. Just yards from the river, the ferry to the dessert style beach island and the town's bars and restaurants. For those who wish to explore the Algarve the coastal train station is nearby and journeys are very cheap [€3.20 to Faro].
Rui, the host, could not have been more helpful and friendly and we would definitely stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handy0
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Is it a B&B or a holiday rental ??”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Had to phone the owner when we arrived at the door and were met after 15 minutes by Maria who led us into what was the stairwell of a block of flats. There were two doors on the first floor and two on the second, one of which was access to our accommodation. This led into what appeared to be the kitchen and living room of a flat and we had to go through this area to go up another flight of outside stairs to our room.
The room was clean and traditional with a small bathroom with toilet, shower and cloakroom size washbowl. No toiletries but a hairdryer, two hand towels and two threadbare bath towels.
There was a kettle, two small bottles of water and three coffee sachets but nothing to drink out of. There was no mini fridge.
Breakfast was brought to our terrace at a time agreed. Fresh orange juice was nice but toast, two rolls with only two individual size portions of butter, ham, cheese, jam and yoghurt and tea was a bit of a disappointment.
We stayed for three nights and no one appeared to have been in the room to make the bed or to empty the one bin in the bathroom.
The third night before we went out we both had lukewarm showers and on the morning of our departure again there was no hot water.
The only reason I gave it 3 stars instead of 2 is because of the convenient location.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LightPack...
n.ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First time in Portugal”
Reviewed July 4, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Having travelled a fair bit around southern France and northern Spain, with an increasing preference for destinations slightly off the main tourist route, we decided to give Portugal a go this year.

Instead of taking the more popular direction of west of Faro (sounds like a movie title), we looked at resorts to the east and to be honest, when we saw the pics of this accommodation we decided we would go to Tavira, but this is not a review of Tavira, but said accommodation.

As we didn't know the area, we arranged a transfer from the airport with Rui who owns the accommodation and his wife Maria, a lovely friendly young couple. Maria picked us up and gave us a brief, but informative and helpful tour of Tavira after an approximately 40 minute transfer.

There had been a slight hiccough with our flight booking, and we arrived a night earlier than we had originally booked the accommodation, but it was no problem as by prior arrangement, Rui was able to put us in another well appointed room in the same building in which we would have been happy to spend the week.

But cutting to the chase, the room at the top with the terrace was as all that we had hoped for. Modern, well furnished, quiet air conditioning, plenty of space, good shower. And then there was the terrace that had attracted us in the first place.

It was clean and tidy and got the sun all day and had a good view of the castle and clock tower. There was plenty of furniture without being cluttered and it was really quiet. Superb. We especially liked the variety of the plants on the terrace and are looking forward to see how the grape vine matures. There were also barbequing facilities although we did not use them.

Each morning Rui delivered a really nice breakfast consisting of croissants, toast (that Portuguese bread is delicious), ham, cheese, yoghurt, jam, tea, coffee and the most delicious orange juice.

Even though Rui and Maria lived in the same building (I think), we rarely saw them, but they were only a phone call away if needed, although I must confess that I did feel a bit awkward thinking I was walking through their kitchen to get to our room. It didn't stop us using the freezer to chill our ice packs for the beach each day and it didn't seem to be a problem.

The location was perfect, a 5-10 minute walk in one direction to the ferry to the beach and the same though in a different direction to the town hall square, from which another brief walk across the bridge took us to a host of restaurants and bars. There is a supermarket and ATM next door.

At the end of our all too brief stay, Maria took us back to the airport.

To sum up, this accommodation more than met our needs and we would be pleased to and intend to return.

Obrigado Rui and Maria for a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Reviewed October 26, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The area was spectacular. Restaurants were amazing food outstanding
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 15, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: Location to Tavira, no car needed and the wonderful accommodation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gtravel18...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A super B&B with great hosts and ideal location.”
Reviewed September 8, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent one week here in Sept and enjoyed it very much. The room is bright and spacious with a lovely, sunny outside terrace. The small en-suite toilet/shower room is all new and everything was beautifully clean. The air-con was a godsend as it was particularly hot when we where there and unlike so many units you come across this one was very quiet, unobtrusive and efficient. As for location, if you want to be central to the town you cannot beat it. The bridges across the river, shops, restaurants and the ferry stop for Ilha de Tavira (and its beautiful beaches) are only 5 minutes walk away. A mini supermarket for basic supplies is even nearer! Despite its central location we were both pleasantly suprised how quiet the Alegria was. Our hosts, Rui and Maria, could not have been more helpful and and nothing seemed too much trouble for them. A highlight was a lovely breakfast being brought up to the terrace at a time to suit us.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly hosts and location
Liked least: Trip Advisors/Holiday lettings payment IT problem!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLO15
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great room and lovely hosts!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The room was great and very clean! There was a terrace and facilities for a great BBQ . The hosts are very helpful and friendly and keen to tell us about Tavira, places to go, etc. the location is very central and easy to find. Very positive experience and will stay again if we ever come back to Tavira.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing