We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“great place with friendly staff and fair price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valley Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Valley Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great place with friendly staff and fair price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Like the lastg years we really enjoyed our stay at the valleyhostel. It is in the middle of Lauterbrunnen so you can walk to station to Mürren and Wengen (5 Minutes), Shopping (COOP 3 Minutes), etc. As it is a hostel you have to bring your own towel. Sheets, etc. are available in the hostel. Different rooms are available 2-bed, 4,6 and 8 bed dorms.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allways_arround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    86
    23
    8
    10
See reviews for
57
94
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

This hostel is a gem! Location-wise, it is only a few minutes walk from the train station (up a slope though, but not too tiring) and a grocery store (Coop), though that closes at 6.30pm in winter. We got a room on the third floor and as we arrived during the low season, there were not many people at our level (a few others arrived a day or two after us).

The view from the room was astounding. There is a small balcony which you can walk out to and feast your eyes upon the snowy mountains, which look like they were just a few hundred feet away from you. There is also a kitchen right opposite our room (with oven, stove, microwave and all the utensils) which we use to cook most of our meals (you can buy salad and instant meals from Coop). The bathroom is right beside the kitchen and it is sparkling clean throughout the day. They provide breakfast as well (2 pieces of bread, jam/butter and a cup of coffee/tea) for 11 CHF which does sound a bit expensive, but then again, almost everything is costly in Switzerland.

This place is perfect as a base if you want to explore Jungfraujoch...we went up in the morning, went to the Ice Palace, ate our lunch and came down as it was too cloudy to walk around outside. We reached Lauterbrunnen at around 4pm, went to Coop to get our daily grocery, came back to cook and had our dinner at the balcony.

Another plus point here is that it has free wifi and the owner is really friendly - you get the sense that they really welcome tourists. I would think that the only problem would be the shared bathroom especially during peak season, but I guess that is a small price to pay for having such a comfortable accommodation with great view and location.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony facing the mountains for good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldangel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

First off, Lauterbrunnen is the most beautiful place we visited in our European endeavour! I could go non stop singing praise about this town, but I digress...

Hubby and I stayed at the Valley hostel for 2 nights in a private room (shared bath) with bunk beds.
Location - short walk (< 2 mins) from the railway station, cable station as well as the grocery store. There aren't too many eat-out options in Lauterbrunnen, you would have to go to Interlaken or maybe Wengen.
Cleanliness - Squeaky clean and they are proud of it! In fact, you need to leave ur footwear outside ur room and use the slippers they provide indoors!! The bathrooms were clean too, but the problem was it was very crowded. In all the hostels we stayed all through in Europe, this was the only place we had to wait a long while before our turn. It's possible it was just one off, but also possible that they have very few restrooms/bathrooms for the number of rooms they have.
Service/Amenities - There is a full kitchen (which we didn't use) and large dining/common area. Free wifi is available, but we had some difficulty getting reception in our room. When we asked the front desk about it, they didn't seem to care (hence the 4 stars). We eventually had to go over to the dining area to use the internet.
Except for the above inconveniences, it was a really good stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juslyktht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

we stayed here for 3 nights n absolutely loved it! we had never stayed in a hostel before...n this experience came as a pleasant surprise :) the hostel is very conveniently located near to the train station,supermarket (coop), restaurants and the cable car station. the room was tiny..but it was a hostel! the kitchen on our floor was very well maintained and had all the cooking amenities including microwave n coffee maker in a gud condition...the shared bathroom was not at all an issue...it was very clean..n we were also allowed to use other bathrooms if ours was busy...the laundary machines were dead slow i must say! but it was open till 10PM n costed us only 10Euros for wash n dry... the wi-fi service in our room was a great add - on..lastly the girl at the recetion was extremely helpful n friendly....they also gave us a chocolate bar as hostel sovenier..which was a very sweet gesture we thought! overall our first hostel experience was excellent with great value for money!

Room Tip: Try to request for the private rooms on the right side of the block entrance...as they had excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilikeit84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
137 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

I had never stayed at a hostel before, but understood going in that we would be sharing bathroom space, kitchen space and, since we weren't able to get a private room, our bedroom. My sister, sister-in-law and I spent three nights here and found it to be a great experience. We had a 6 bed women's room. The girls that we shared our space with were very kind and quiet. Each room has it's own lock and key.
The location of the Hostel was perfect. We could walk from the train station with luggage. We explored both sides of the valley easily. The rooms, bathroom, kitchen were very clean and the staff helpful. This was an affordable way to stay in the beautiful alps.
Yes, you do have to remove your shoes at the door. Bring your own slippers or flip flops if you don't want to wear theirs.

Room Tip: Try to book early to get a private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganChocoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

The hostel is right in the centre of town, and is very cute and clean. Our double room was a wonderful and comfortable size, and we had our own balcony which looked out at Staubbach Waterfall as well. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the kitchen facilities and laundry facilities of the hostel were also very good. Our stay at the Valley Hostel was very comfortable and would definitley recommend staying here to others visiting Lauterbrunnen.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan_Chambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

They made me and my friend pay for four people when it was just the two of us. There was an error with the booking and they treated us poorly over the error. We were polite and friendly and not treated the same in return... They make you wear these cheap flip flops that smell terrible and do not get cleaned after they are worn. We did not sleep well because the room we were put it was right next to the common area and people liked to stay up late and be loud. Overall we were treated poorly and had a bad experience.. We have been to several hostels and this was the worst...

Room Tip: Get a room away from the common area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doug1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
0.3 km away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Horner
Hotel Horner
#4 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Steinbock
Hotel Steinbock
#7 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
3.7 km away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#3 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Hostel

Property: Valley Hostel
Address: Fuhren, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Lauterbrunnen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Valley Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Hotel Lauterbrunnen
Valley Hostel Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland - Jungfrau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing