We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sundancer Backpackers Resort
Reviewed 24 July 2011

had loads of fun at sundancers in 2010!! shame they kept a few idiots stay there! but overall really cool staff and good bar! good home feel, and has a swimming pool which is great for the really hot days! loved it and would recomend it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fred2939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2011

This is the worse hostel we have stayed thus far. Thank goodness we only stayed for 1 night back in March 2009. The shared kitchen and bathrooms were filthy! As if that wasn't bad enough, we couldn't sleep in peace the whole night because of the noise (there was no house rules to keep noise down in the hostel after hours.

The only good point is their location. It is just a 10 minutes walk from the hostel to Shed C, a jetty where you take a ferry ride to Rottnest Island.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albertaleong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Stayed with a few mates for a couple of nights in a dorm upstairs.
Centrally located in Fremantle.
I love cooking and eating with friends......they;ve got a big kitchen and long group tables outside for dining.
Hostel looks quite funky and colourful......a few spots need a touch up of paint but that's about the worst of it!
Basically good spot ot meet people and see Fremantle from.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianonhistravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

I stayed here for my first time in Australians hostels and what a pleasure it was. Greeted by a smiling face on reception was a great help as my partner had just flown back to England that morning. Everyone there was super friendly even when I asked for an extra blanket. Having free ping pong, Wii games, DVD player in a seperate area to the TV lounge is great. Free internet was an absolute bonus, it's not too fast but when your backpacking who worries about time!!!! The rooms & bathrooms were clean and spacious, A really good time was had and I would highly recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanrahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Great location, good staff, poor standards. Rooms are dirty, beds need replacing, kitchen is dirty and not enough storage.
This hostel has the potential to be great, it just needs a bit of work.
There are a lot of long term guests, so the place is very cliquey, so can be hard to meet people.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kopite85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

this place is huge and feels a bit like an old boarding school, there are so many people living there. but it is well managed and the atmosphere is lively, hip, and fun. i wandered in off the street with my backpack and without booking, but was accommodated on the spot by cheery staff. there's a bar downstairs with reasonably priced drinks and a pool in the back. i was only there for one night so didn't get to partake in any of the activities, but i reckon the BBQs are probably quite fun. they have several fixed computer stations with free internet AND a free cable you can hook into your own laptop for free as well (which became crucial when i had a bit of emergency work i had to get done on the fly). if you're looking for an intimate place that is small and cozy, this isn't it, but if you're looking for more of a hustle and bustle scene with lots of other backpackers, a good social scene, and is still comfortable and clean to boot, then you've come to the right place. the location couldn't be better either, right off one of the main streets in freo and just steps away from the train station.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HibiscusByTheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

I stayed here with my boyfriend and my mate who'd flown in to see us from Sydney. We wanted a room for 3 and got a bunk bed with a double on the bottom, single on top and ensuite bathroom...very basic, but fine! We were only there for one night so it did the job.

We were pleased to discover the bar downstairs, had a few beers, played some ping pong. The facilities seemed pretty good to us, HUGE kitchen, loads of bathrooms, a couple of huge lounge areas, swimming pool out the back. All in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank havemonkeywilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
2.1 km away
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 1 in East Fremantle
46 reviews
0.1 km away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
0.1 km away
Fremantle Hostel Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Pirates Backpackers Fremantle
0.7 km away
Fremantle Prison YHA
Fremantle Prison YHA
#4 of 26 in Fremantle
123 reviews
0.2 km away
Old Fire Station Backpackers Fremantle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundancer Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundancer Backpackers Resort

Address: 80 High St, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Fremantle
Price Range: $40 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sundancer Backpackers Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This funky backpackers is located in a beautifully restored 110 year old heritage building situated in the heart of Fremantle. It's many features include large spacious rooms, SWIMMING POOL, cheap bar, 24 hour access, open plan kitchen with 4 separate cooking stations and numerous fridges, laundry, free pool tables and FREE WIFI. In the best cafe and entertainment area, close to all amenities, right near the famous Fremantle Markets, Bathers Beach, Maritime Museum & Sailing Boat Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sundancer Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing