We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Terrace Central B&B Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Fremantle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Terrible experience. I was on my own with a child and our bathroom door lock was faulty so we could not enter the bathroom. The owner verbally attacked and intimidated me and wanted me to take responsibility for his poorly maintained room, he did not apologise and was very unkind.
He took the handle off the bathroom door leaving the hole and no way of securing it and sawdust all over the carpet.
I slept very badly with a chair behind my door as I felt nervous and my child was upset too.
I also felt the place to be poorly maintained with cracks in the ceiling and mouldy windows, threadbare carpet and the breakfast was disappointing too.
I was most displeased and upset by the experience.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesjac512, Owner at Terrace Central B&B Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

The bathroom door was not faulty, your child (teenage boy) some how managed to lock the door from the inside exit the bathroom and slam it shut this destroyed the lock, if he had been inside he could have opened the door from the inside. This was 7pm I suggested they go for dinner while i tried to open the door, at this time no tradesmen available. I had to hacksaw the handle off then chisel the lock out leaving the hole for the lock in the bathroom door. I did apologise for not being able to get a lock smith at night. Regarding breakfast when we advertise and only charge for a continental breakfast i do not know why you would expect more !
I do not enjoy responding like this however please read more reviews i have been running this business for 20 years and love the industry and enjoy having guests share this beautiful herritage building and my home. It is not possible to please all guests but we try and enjoy doing it. Please compare my rates and what we offer like breakfast, wifi and parking all inclusive and still my rates are lower than my competitors. I am sorry you had a bad experience however i have no control of your expectations and acknowledge your right to inform your fellow travelers as I excercise my right of reply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017

If you like very old buildings this place will suit. Does have parking so that was a big plus. The room was comfortable but you go upstairs and downstairs to get to the dining area which is part of the front office where the owners are working on computers. Breakfast was OK with canned fruit and continental style only available. The worst for us was the bathroom where the cleanliness and noisy plumbing wasn't great. There was next to no toiletries and the shelf in the shower had a crack in it which created a puddle on the shelf. Could use more towels or at least some hand towels. The coffee in the room was in a plastic container and was stale (to my taste). More attention to detail would be good. Overall, not bad but room for improvement.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the street would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesjac512, Owner at Terrace Central B&B Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Thank you for your review, I will respond to your comments, we provide two bath towels and hand towels plus a bathmat, if you refer to flanels, we do not provide these [not hygenic] we provide the standard toiletries shampoo and soap we pride ourselves with the cleanliness of our rooms. regarding breakfast we advertise "continental" we provide 5 types of cerial, 3 styles of bread. crumpets, muffins, instant noodles, peaches and apricots quality canned fruit, prunes, dates, brewed coffee 8 types of tea. We supply tea and Nescafe instant coffee fresh milk daily in the rooms.
The rate for your room was $125 including breakfast,wifi and off street parking. we do have superior rooms and suites, the rate increases accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

As per previous stays I have not been able to fault anything here, the service as always was great, a huge TY to Barry and your team.

The facilities were clean and the room was comfortable. Great location close enough to walk into town. The breakfast provided was a good selection of cereals and toasts. Parking is available. Nice little bottle shop around the corner where you can get a wide variety of beer and wine and sit out on the balcony and enjoy a quiet evening if you feel like it.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mydnyght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Though the room was clean and tidy it was showing it's age, the thing what really got me that there was no natural light in the bedroom, dim and gloomy, I think this should be pointed out to anyone who books these rooms.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Les A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

We booked Terrace Central B&B (TCB) online from Agoda website. My wife and I are visiting Perth and we wanted to spent some time at Fremantle.

TCB is as it was advertised, the location is good, just off the Busy Cappuccino Strip, within walking distance from Fremantle Station, and also accessible through the free BLUE CAT bus. It is also juts walking distance to the Fishing Boat Habour and the famous Fremantle Prison. Just great.

TCB is in a old building with a terrace, lots of nice old antique wood Victorian furniture. The owner Barry emailed me twice for our arrival time. This is because TCB doesn't have reception round the clock. We arrived early and actually just wanted to unload our heavy backpacks, but Barry greeted us pleasantly and said our room is ready and check us in. Nice. We can have a good snooze before we attempt to explore Fremantle. :) We booked the Red Room no 8. Nice, warm and comfy.

Breakfast place is a beautiful little cafe, with breads, spreads, hot coffee and tea. There are also some fruits and cereal and milk.

The caretaker lady was most pleasant and we enjoyed our stay there for 2 nights.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cheekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We booked just one night stay here so we could attend a function in Freo without the hassle of getting home late at night. So pleased we did. The Very friendly lady in the office showed me to our room, gave me a quick tour of the facility and directions to parking. Then left us to make ourselves comfortable. Our room was very spacious and the bed proved to be very comfortable. Although right on the Terrace we weren't disturbed by any street noise. Room was very clean, fresh and all we needed for our short stay. A continental breakfast was included which provided plenty of choice. And great fresh coffee. Highly recommend this quaint little hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LIZandELT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Such a great place for the price! It's affordable, comfortable, got such a great Fremantle vibe and loaded full of character. It's a old building but it has charm and warmth. The staff are outstanding and so helpful! The rooms are comfortable and right in the heart of Freo! I stay here for business and the place comes highly recommended by me!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesjac512, Owner at Terrace Central B&B Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Thank you. We look forward to your next stay in Fremantle. Regards Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fremantle hotels
0.5 km away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
0.4 km away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
0.6 km away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 8 in Fremantle
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
256 reviews
0.1 km away
Arundels Boutique Bed & Breakfast Accommodation
0.3 km away
Port Mill B&B
Port Mill B&B
#9 of 21 in Fremantle
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Central B&B Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Central B&B Hotel

Address: 79-85 South Tce, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Fremantle
Price Range: C$116 - C$182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Terrace Central B&B Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small B&B Hotel in the city centre of Fremantle, close to the Markets, , Ferry to Rottnest Island. and all tourist attractions. All rooms have ensuite bathroom, aircon, TV & DVD, Fridge/tea/coffee, Free wireless broadband internet, Free parking[subject to availability], Continental breakfast included [7.30 to 9.30 am in the dining room] . We also have executive Apartments one and two bedroom. Arrival time is needed...check in is by prearranged time only...afterhours we have a locked box facility for key collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Terrace Central B&B Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing