We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$94
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-04-29
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$94
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-05-01
Agoda.com
US$126
US$84
View deal
SAVE US$42
Free cancellation until 21-04-30
Expedia.comUS$94
Hotels.comUS$94
StayForLongUS$126
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveller rating
281
109
17
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
281
109
17
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor spacious room first floor middle floor one night restaurants and shops great view view of the water big bed new zealand laundry facilities free wifi good size stayed here for nights within easy walking distance beautiful town a wonderful stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 410 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2021

Excellent place to stay. Room well equipped and comfortable with a very comfortable bed. Extremely nice staff. Excellent location. Enjoyed our time here. Would definitely stay again. Close to restaurants and hotels.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 20, 2021

The staff are absolutely amazing - above and beyond, from check in, to local hot spots. The rooms decor is stunning and the location has an impeccable view of the harbour. Absolutely recommend - think we may even stay another night!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Krismariearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2021 via mobile

An extremely welcoming and well run motel in the heart of Akaroa. A few steps away from the harbour and walking distance to local cafes, shops and restaurants. Felicity and the team are awesome hosts. A comfortable, quality stay. We’ll be back!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank OldRocker1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2020

Absolutely perfect for private time during the Christmas break. We stayed from Christmas Eve until the 27th of December. The room was everything that you could wish for and then some. We were in room 4 which overlooked the Daly Wharf, the harbor and beautiful gardens in-between. The room was so spacious and beautifully decorated, style that reminds us that the mixture of French and New Zealand heritage is something that has been cherished in the best way. We usually travel a lot overseas as well as around New Zealand so Akaroa offered the excellence of French hospitality in a priceless corner of the world. The Hosts were gracious and kind which made the whole visit relaxing and joyful.

Room tip: Room 4 and this was our second stay at the Criterion and is a massive corner suite.
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank croatianbriar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2020 via mobile

The Best Motel I have ever stayed at. Fantastic View from top floor, very clean and spacious room, large bed and two couches to stretch out on. Friendly and helpful staff.
Lots of lovely restaurants and cafes all within a small easy walking distance.
Would definitely stay again and highly recommend :)

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews