We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Great family activity

Beautiful landscape with easy kayaking. We were well looked after Akaroa Adventure Centre. We took... read more

Reviewed January 17, 2021
Shoutycrackers
,
Wellington, New Zealand
Kayaking at Akaroa

Fantastic kayaking - marvelous sheltered bay, excellent equipment, reasonable pricing, lovely... read more

Reviewed January 16, 2021
erinsH4898LN
Read all 24 reviews
  
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
19
4
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
19
4
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews explained everything beautiful scenery hector dolphins new zealand kayak wildlife
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 24 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2020 via mobile

Akaroa is absolutely beautiful for kayak, me and my partner rented the double kayak for half day and definitely worth it! We saw a large group of the smallest Hector dolphins, they were swimming under our kayak, what a fun!! Also had the opportunity to see seals and various birds. Thank you so much for this adventure!

Date of experience: April 2020
Thank 232petraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoreenAkaroa, Manager at Akaroa Adventure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2020

Hi Petra,

Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoy your kayak trip with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2020

Beautiful location, great service and excellent value for money. Thoroughly recommend. Our international students really enjoyed it.

Date of experience: February 2020
1  Thank 894anniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2019

We hired 2 x double kayaks for a 4 hour morning trip. We were reasonable quickly fitted with life jackets and briefed. Expected to cover a considerable distance in 4 hours - at a very leisurely pace, we managed nearly 15 km. Kayaks fitted wit pedal controlled ribbers makes steering a breeze. We found some caves along the northern shore, various seabirds, and the odd penguin. No luck with seals of dolphins that day.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank GafFlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoreenM212, Manager at Akaroa Adventure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2019

Hi, Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your kayak trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2019 via mobile

We rented a 4 person pedal boat for 30 minutes and the person working was rude to one of the people in our group. I understand balancing weight, but the seats did not accommodate for anyone over a size 10. We had to go back to shore and change seats and it was still horrible. The seats were flimsy and kept coming loose. If your boats cannot handle people of a certain size, just say so. It was really a miserable experience for all of us.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank Kit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoreenAkaroa, Manager at Akaroa Adventure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2019

Hello Kit,
We apologize for the bad experience with the pedal boats. That they work properly we need to see that we arrange the people the right way. If people push to much into the seats they sometimes can become loose. The weight should go into the pedals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2019 via mobile

Good price to get a kayak and explore ourselves (we opted for the half day since it wasn't much more to pay than for 2 hours). Kayaks and equipment were good quality. However, not sure about the advice/'dolphin whisperer' claim on their website. The guy who set us up with the kayak seemed pretty bored and certainly didn't offer any advice on cool things to look for, even though we were the only customers at that time. We did actually come across 2 dolphins, but this was not thanks to any advice given and I think we just got really lucky. When we came back we were pretty excited about our dolphin sighting, but the guy seemed unimpressed. I know if you do this everyday it probably isn't exciting, but some enthusiasm would have gone a long way.

Date of experience: January 2019
3  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews