We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jugglers Rest Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I stayed at the Jugglers Rest about 10 years ago, so it may well have changed in that time, but it is still in my mind as about the best place I've ever stayed. Picton is a nice enough town, but this place was outstanding... No where else have I ever had the owner teach me to eat fire as another guest tried to teach me to do fire spinning... I had so much fun, and would love to go back. I don't suppose it could ever be as much fun as it was back then, but I live in hope... (also, I've put February 2011 as the date, but only because that's as far back as it goes... Should be March/April 2002....!)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
There are newer reviews for Jugglers Rest Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

Jugglers Rest really offered a unique travel experience with its friendly, caring atmosphere and beautiful, peaceful environment. I was really taken good care of when I needed medical attention in the middle of the holiday season. It was also a great place to meet interesting people and share ideas and experiences. And what other lodging can offer a fire show for your evening entertainment?

Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Jugglers Rest. Quiet neighbourhood, easy walking distance to shops, close to hiking trails. Your home away from home. And you can juggle, throw, twirl, catch (hopefully) various objects till you're hearts content. Or need to go rest some

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Really enjoyed my time at the Jugglers Rest.
It exceeded my expectations. Great people, tranquil neighborhood setting, and an appreciation of juggling and cirque arts that runs deep.
Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clinton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Had a great experience staying here in this beautiful old house with a lovely backyard... really peaceful and comfortable (and always clean and tidy). I definitely recommend the Jugglers Rest Backpackers, and I look forward to returning the next time I'm in Picton! Thanks!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

"Nikki, who runs Juggler's Rest, is passionate about providing a home away from home for you. She knows well how to make a splendid experience for people. A historic house in a fantastic garden setting, this place is kept immaculately clean. With a fireplace running every night, how cozy can it be? Every room is a delight. The best hostel experience I have had. Much more then a place to sleep, with the other hostelers, it is like a big family. And, people who stay here (you) will actually learn to juggle! You must go here, you will love it!"

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Friendly little place in Picton, short walk away from town, lots of circusy things to play with, lovely setting and fresh bread and homemade jam in the morning, perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Red063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
4.5 km away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
17.1 km away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
321 reviews
0.9 km away
Tombstone Backpackers
Tombstone Backpackers
#2 of 26 in Picton
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#5 of 26 in Picton
179 reviews
0.9 km away
Harbour View Motel Picton
8.7 km away
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Okiwa Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Anakiwa
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jugglers Rest Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jugglers Rest Backpackers

Address: 8 Canterbury Street, Picton, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price Range: $30 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picton's smallest hostel (with beds for just 16 people) is BIG on comfort. Our lovingly renovated historic villa is an easy 10 minute stroll or 3 minute drive from the centre of town and there are walking tracks just outside our door. With shady decks, comfy chairs, bean bags, hammocks and sunny chill-out areas in lush gardens, either relax, play, learn or simply sit back & watch the amazing fire and glow shows at night. Small and cosy with all beds fully made up (no bunks), we provide every comfort for your stay including organic fruit, herb & veggie garden, breakfast, juggling toys, workshops in a variety of circus and spinning skills (poi, hoop etc) unlimited wi-fi, bikes, log fire, quality book exchange, musical instruments, barbecue, well equipped kitchen with a huge array of herbs & spices, information/advice/bookings on local activities AND an atmosphere that can't be beaten! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jugglers Rest Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing