We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
50
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tight parking local knowledge colette host cabin peach internet
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 55 of 55 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed in one of the units for 2 nights and loved it! The location is excellent having stunning views and peaceful and private surroundings - simply wonderful!!! It is well worth the 10 minute drive from Picton to stay in such a beautiful place, a show case of New Zealand scenery at its best.

Colette is an excellent host and very knowledgeable about the area and what it has to offer.

The unit we stayed in was spacious, clean and well appointed with a view from the deck over the sounds. The walk down through the gardens to the water listening to the native birds made this extra special

If you are planning to visit the Marlborough Sounds we recommend the Whatamonga bed and breakfast homestay to all. We look forward to visiting again soon - actually we wish we could live there!

Room tip: The unit we stayed in had a comfortable queen size bed and a sofa bed which was great for our daughter.
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Discerning_Kiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair W, Owner at Whatamonga Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Whatamonga Homestay. It was a pleasure to be your hosts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The pictures you see on the website are an accurate representation of how lovely this place is. Truly beautiful views. We stayed in one of the individual units which were very comfortable with big windows and a deck overlooking the water. Parking was a bit tight, but the room was much more spacious than I expected and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was delicious and there were homebaked treats in the fridge to enjoy upon arrival. You feel very welcome at Whatamonga but still are able to enjoy your privacy. Colette is a friendly host. Excellent place for a homestay and a very nice area to explore. I quite enjoyed Picton and if you have a vehicle (this is a few kilometres outside of town) it's a good base for exploration.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair W, Owner at Whatamonga Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are thrilled that you had such a enjoyable stay. Colette would really welcome the chance to host you again when you return to the Marlborough Sounds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair W, Owner at Whatamonga Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2013
Google Translation

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair W, Owner at Whatamonga Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews