We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour View Motel Picton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harbour View Motel Picton
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
175 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Lovely place to stay view is amazing and the motel is very close to town so you can walk in to eat.

We ate in two aces the Oxley bar which was Ok and the Whalers in the hotel across the road it also had a great view from the third floor restaurant and good steak

We went on the daily mail run boat trip which was fascinating to see how people live on the sounds

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    140
    15
    3
    5
See reviews for
119
565
45
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stayed at the Harbour View before and after doing the Queen Charlotte Track. The room had fantastic views. It was spotlessly clean and very well equipped. The position is ideal for the water taxis and the start of the Queen Charlotte Track. The owners were really friendly and helpful They let us leave the car at the motel for the 4 nights we were doing the track.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elljay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We spent 4 nights over Christmas in Harbour View. I think we agreed that it was the best accommodation we stayed in during our 3 week trip around South Island (and we stayed in some great places!) Lynn and Keith and their staff could not have been more helpful, the rooms are spotless and the views over the harbour are fabulous. I highly recommend this motel,

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winnieb1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Our room had a King bed with a hide-a-bed couch and was spacious. It also had two nightstands, breakfast table with two chairs, and a kitchen with half refrigerator and 2 stove burners, sink, microwave, electric kettle, toaster, dishes and pots/pans and flatware. There was an ironing board and hair dryer. There was a pay laundry on the property and clothes line with pegs. Our host and hostess were very congenial and a pleasure. We opted for ground floor, closest to the road, and had a beautiful view of the harbor. We enjoyed taking our tea and coffee onto the patio and sitting in the outside chairs, admiring the view. I believe the other rooms, further from the road, had even better views. There was no desk, but the table worked fine for our computer work. The weather was mild to warm, so we did not need heating or cooling, though the heated towel rack aided in drying our clothes. It is convenient to restaurants, the grocery, and bus stop/train station/ferry terminal.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadrunner5527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We only had one night here but enjoyed it very much. The room was clean, welcoming and lovely, as was the bathroom. The bed was comfy and the view was beautiful. The kitchenette was well-stocked for when we decided to self-cater too. Perfect location too, close to the harbour, shops, cafes, supermarket.
Best of all, the owner kindly took our bags when we checked out in the morning and offered to drive them down to the ferryport so we could go for breakfast and a quick stroll without worrying about walking back to get them. Now that's service!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed on the top floor (room 10) and had a fantastic view of the harbour - there is a small balcony with a table and chairs - a good spot to enjoy a glass of wine.

The room was very comfortable and very clean. We enjoyed our very short stay and would recommend this motel - good value for money and lovely owners.

Room Tip: Stay on the top level to enjoy the view. We stayed in room 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AETL2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

Good views of the harbour, central location in Picton (15 minute walk to ferry to Wellington) and very helpful hosts (generously offered to drive my family to ferry because it was raining).

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gossageredux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
3.5 km away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.0 km away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 17 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 km away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
The Portage Resort Hotel
25.1 km away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.2 km away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#4 of 17 in Picton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel Picton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel Picton

Property: Harbour View Motel Picton
Address: 30 Waikawa Rd, Picton, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#1 Family Hotel in Picton
#2 Business Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour View Motel Picton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique studio accommodation in the heart of Picton with stunning views of Picton Harbour, the marina and surrounding landscape. Your Hosts Kim & Ian 30 Waikawa Road, Picton ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Harbour View Motel Picton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Motel Picton Hotel Picton
Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing