We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Oyster Inn(Oneroa)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Enclosure Bay(Oneroa)(Great Value!)
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Courtyard(Waiheke Island)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Onetangi Beach Apartments(Onetangi)(Great Value!)
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waiheke Punga Lodge(Waiheke Island)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kowhai Close(Waiheke Island)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Delamore Lodge(Waiheke Island)
US$583
US$566
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$409
US$380
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Te Whau Lodge(Waiheke Island)
US$350
US$327
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
129
35
6
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
129
35
6
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalm beachmud brickour honeymoonshower curtainoutdoor firebeautiful bushbirds singingpeaceful settingpeace and tranquilityshort strollperfect placejet lagstayed nightsattention to detailtreetopsbalidriftwood
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 185 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2014

We had stayed here before in another unit. That was 4 years ago and I don't think anything has been done to it since then. It is not romantic to be greeted with cobwebs in the face as you open the door and then the damp smell. The bed was covered in dust.
Very sad because last visit was so good. We won't be back to this place until we hear that it has had an upgrade.
Poor quality, a rip off.

Room Tip: Take a broom, and your own coffee.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james1959136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmbeachmanagement, Owner at Palm Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2016

Hi James
Sorry to hear about your less than perfect experience. Having bought the bungalows shortly after your stay and now invested hugely in renovating them, we'd love to talk to you about giving the place another try - please get in touch if you're interested.
Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Firstly I have stayed here before in 2010 and it was wonderful, my wife and i were very excited to revisit this place as it was a unique and romantic place to spend a few nights tucked away in the serenity of the native bush of Waiheke.
We will not be returning unfortunately as this it is not the same magical place it once was. We once again stayed in the luxury bungalow but when we arrived it was very apparent from the smell that this unit had a damp issue, OK we accepted that and got over it pretty fast. We then unpacked our things and decided to walk to the beach, down the lovely little winding path we went only to be met by a new timber fence running down the centre of the property. OK they must have sold off half or fallen out with the neighbours maybe? I don't know but we accepted that. We then decided to see if we could have warm croissants delivered to our bungalow as we had this last time and it was a neat little touch having them hanging outside our door in the morning to collect, they do not do this anymore...we accepted this.
When you know a place can be so much better because you have experienced it at its best you start to look around and spot other issues that lead to more disappointment.
There were light fittings broken, what appeared to be live insulation wrapped wire sticking out of one wall and a astonishing amount of fake plants throughout the bungalow. (I counted 6 including a large ficus type tree).
The nice little round table for two was a powder-coated out door furniture type that you get from Bunnings, there was dust and dead flies on the window sill and the old TV had a large cloudy mark through the middle, it looked like it was a hand me down TV when the owners had got and upgrade in fact everything looked to been past on from someones house much like you would a bach.

We will come back to Waiheke because we love it but will not be staying at Palm Beach Bungalows.

Room Tip: Beware there is nothing luxury about the "Luxury Bungalow"
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ngatai P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmbeachmanagement, Owner at Palm Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2016

Hi there,
Very sad to read about your experience as I look through old reviews. We completely understand your list of complaints and would love to offer you the opportunity to have a better experience at this accommodation, which we bought at the beginning of last year and have renovated and renewed. Unfortunately we can't do anything about the path to the beach, since the Bungalows was divided into 2 titles after your 2010 stay, and we own only the upper half. And, sadly, we're not onsite as Brenda was, to deliver the croissants to your door. However, we believe the bungalows are much more inviting and comfortable now, and we do our utmost to make sure that your self-service stay is a happy one. We'd love to offer you the opportunity to try the bungalows again - let me know if you'd like to give it another shot :) Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2014

my wife and I spent 3 nights here, what a cool place, wife loved the quirky nature of construction, very comfortable with all the things you need, never saw anyone else as we came and went regularly, booked the Bali Garden and just chilled watching a movie, ( which we never have time for ) after the bath, along with nibbles etc, just what we needed, thoroughly reccommended

Room Tip: we stayed in the mudbrick bungalow
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renegade53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 20, 2014

What a wonderful weekend we have just spent at the Palm Beach Bungalows. We stayed at the Mudbrick bungalow and found it quirky, comfortable, clean and very well equipped. The extra touches of chocolates, romantic CD's, a well stocked mini bar, mozzie spray etc all made the stay one to remember, Great place to celebrate a special anniversary and the Bali garden experience topped it off. Listening to moreporks at night, toasting marshmallows on the clay fire - wonderful.

Room Tip: Try the Mudbrick bungalow for a quality experience
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Peeb_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The owners have not refunded our money after we decided to not stay for a second night due to rats in the ceiling, gunge in the bath, the bed was as hard as rock and there are too many signs giving too many rules. Never go there !!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fijibaby2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, Owner at Palm Beach Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

We are very disappointed these guests have chosen to use this heading for their review as we have offered a full refund, despite their frivolous complaints. After the complaint we had Waiheke Pest Control inspect the property & they found no evidence of rats. No previous guest in 12 years has complained about rats,
We supect that the sound of native birds abundant in the surrounding bush skidding on the naturally curved iron roof of this bungalow confused our guests, who thought they might be rats. Pity they did not consult with the friendly neighbours & management before exposing their ignorance in print.
The spa bath is filled from natural bore water, which as most people appreciate can leave a small stain around the inlet. People who have travelled & are familiar with natural artesian will understand this.
Regular travellers will appreciate that the firmness of a bed is a very personal preference,and we have had many more positive than negative comments about the firmness of our beds. As Conrad Hilton said, "we cannot offer a bed that pleases everyones tastes"
These guests booked through Wotif, who have a no refund policy. We offered a refund in good faith, despite knowing Wotif would not reciprocate. This is why we cannot believe the heading of this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews