We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, slow service, average food”
Review of Paladar Sol Y Son

Paladar Sol Y Son
Ranked #6 of 119 Restaurants in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$15
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: In our palate can taste excellent dishes, but be patient, our cuisine is organic (charcoal), all meals are prepared at the time you order them, even view of the customer. For a pleasant stay we suggest options bar while listening to live music beautiful traditional trinitarian.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, slow service, average food”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The best thing about this palador is the exquisite house it occupies, though the design of the courtyard overdoes the faux ruin look to the point where it begins to look like Disneyland. The live band was amazing. Unfortunately, the service was extremely slow and the food disappointing.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Handmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    160
    55
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Experience - food so so”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We really enjoyed the music, ambiance, and staff. We were a little disappointed with the food.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank AndrewandMary_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virum
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place, okay food”
Reviewed 30 November 2011

It says in the menu that you have to wait for a while to get your food, and they encourage you to order several starters. So we did, but everything came very fast, so we could not eat all the food we got. Brought the rest home though.

The place is really nice, a small courtyard with running water, life music, old stuff on the walls etc. They also have a small wine "cellar". The atmosphere was very good, but the food was so-so, as were the quality of the ingredients.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank xbettina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot. Love it!”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Great meal and definitely the best (outside the Particulares) we had in the whole of Cuba. Great big delicious portions and brilliant live music. Fab (and strong) Mojitos too. Yes you do have to wait a while to order, get food and pay but that is clearly explained on the menu and we felt it was all worth the wait :o) It is of course full of only tourists - but then so are most places in Cuba where you pay in CUCs for obvious reasons! Everyone seems to have a good time and the atmosphere is great. Courtyard is a dream - made all the more atmospheric by the tropical downpour! And we were highly amused to be dining with a pretty prominent English comedian - so it's good enough for the stars!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacquila_Sayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So slow”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We try to have dinner there with my husband as it was recommended to us. We ordered food and drinks. The drinks arrived relatively quickly. We were relaxed and chatting away, listening to the music. We looked at the time, it was 9pm whilst we arrived before 7.30 pm. Then we realised that people around us that had arrived after us were finishing their main! We were told it was slow, but that was really to slow!! We tried to eye contact some staff for a while, then we had to call them. We complained that we had been there for more than 1h30 and we still had no food. He apologise and disappear, explained that some of the food required time. I did point out that we had ordered salad as a starter and that could not take so long and that other people had finished their meal. He then recognised that he had made a mistake and it was all his fault. The starter arrive within 5 min. By then we were not so hungry anymore and quite annoyed. We cancelled the remaining of our order and left. So we might have missed on a great meal but the service is just not up to speed.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank marmeladejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paladar Sol Y Son also viewed

Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
 
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
 

Been to Paladar Sol Y Son? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing