We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous place in Trinidad”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Casa di Elio Ramos
Ranked #6 of 379 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Elio's house is lovely. The food is by far the best we had, prepared by a great chef. The mattrasses are real and comfortable. Highly recommended. The location is perfect as it's just outside tourist hotspot, in the historical 'New Town'.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor, the very back is the best, if not the front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2016

While a little further away from the town center, still walking distance to all tourist sites. This also makes it a little quieter than others. So many casas advertise 'best terrace' Elios is overlooking most of the town rooftops (view changing will all the construction around) but can't really see Main plaza buildings. Staff is excellent, meals are good, to order and convenient but not the most economical as you can eat cheaper in restaurants. Elio has good english & italian and is most helpful, a good host.

Room Tip: choice of 4 rooms each with bathroom, each apart, center quieter. 1 on main (no stairs)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Happywanderervc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2016

We recently stayed at Elio's casa which is located within walking distance of the sights of Trinidad. The two rooms we stayed in were spotlessly clean with a nice terrace - there was also a rooftop terrace with great views of the local neighbourhood. Fresh fruit, pancakes and omelettes were prepared by Elio's sister for breakfast and a chef is organised for dinner if you choose to eat there - all the food was plentiful and very tasty. Elio is an excellent host who goes out of his way to organise any activity (day trip to the valley/beach). He also helped book restaurants even taking us there himself so we didn't get lost. Staying in a casa particular gives you an insight to how the family lives and we found Elio's family particularly warm and very helpful. I would highly recommend staying in this casa.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016

We had four people and rented two rooms in Elio's beautiful house for four nights. It was such a pleasure to stay with Elio and his family. Everyone was friendly and helpful and treat us like part of the family. Elio helped us schedule activities and transportation to Havana, and made us a delicious breakfast every morning. He also has a chef come in to make dinner each night, and our meals were always great. The location is great, within walking distance to Trinidad's highlights, but far enough to avoid the noise. There are multiple patios with great views of the neighborhood. I highly recommend this as a place to stay when visiting Trinidad.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jkersey09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2016

The casa particular is few meters from city center.
Our room was large, spotlessy clean, with two big beds, fridge and private large balcony.
The breakfast was fully satisfactory with fresh juice and everything you want on demand.
Elio and wife were friendly and excellent owners

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016

We asked and got a room with a private terrace. We booked for 2 days, and we were so happy with the place that we prolounged our stay with 3 nights, which was made possible by the owner, Elio Ramos. He is an amazing guy, speaks super english and italian! He has a very good feeling of what tourists need. It was the first place, after 1 week in Havana and Vinales, where we felt relaxed and safe (thanks to the safe in the room). Bathroom excellent . Our roum was spacious and very clean. Tastefull and colourfull decoration of the entry, terraces and room. Pleasant and charming staff, especially his sister, who speaks italian too. Location just outside center, so quiet at nicht. He has a very good coock, the only tastefull lobster we had in Cuba.

Room Tip: room in the back of first floor has private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christine-Willy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2016

For people traveling by car, Casa Elio Ramos is the perfect choice. It’s a step away from the traffic-free town center, on a quiet street that allows parking. The casa has three rooms, two on the first floor with a shared terrace. It also has a second terrace on the rooftop. The bathroom is equipped with essential amenities, soap, shampoo, body wash etc., something rather unique among the many casas we stayed in our journey through the western Cuba.
Our room was on the first floor. On the evening of our arrival, we stayed home (yes, it feels like home) and had dinner on the terrace: lobster and shrimps, well prepared and beautifully presented, something again unique. It shows Elio and his family’s care for details. For breakfasts, enough for an army though we were two, he served us even pancakes.
But the best part was Elio himself. He made us feel welcomed in his peculiar disarming way. I’m Chinese Italian and the booking was under my name. Understandably he was surprised when we first met. Our conversation went like this:
Elio, “But You are not Italian.”
“Don’t I look Italian?”
Elio, with a frowning face, went, “No. Ma sei davvero italiana?”
“Sì. Da Pechino.”
We felt immediately connected. Elio is simpatico. He has an understated sense of humor, dry yet warm. He can speak English, Italian, French and Spanish, and he is learning Portuguese! For what we are able to judge, his English and Italian are perfect.
He was curious about what we were reading and we enjoyed great conversations together. We talked about his casa, his life and profession as a language professor before Raul’s reform in 2011. We talked about Cuba’s future, his worries and concern.
For us staying in a casa particular is also and mostly about this: get to know people. Elio opened a door for us. He allowed us a glimpse into his mind and made our Cuban experiences richer and unforgettable.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TangDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trinidad hotels
0.5 km away
Hostal Dr. Suarez y Sra. Addys
0.2 km away
Hostal Dr Lara y Sra Yuda
Hostal Dr Lara y Sra Yuda
#29 of 379 in Trinidad
318 reviews
0 km away
Casa Hostal Caridad
Casa Hostal Caridad
#128 of 379 in Trinidad
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hostal Dr. Alexis Martinez Alcantara y Dra. Lisdey
7 km away
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
#10 of 10 in Trinidad
1,711 reviews
0.7 km away
Casa Tona
Casa Tona
#343 of 379 in Trinidad
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa di Elio Ramos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa di Elio Ramos

Address: Lino Perez # 159 | e/ Frank País y Pedro Zerquera, Trinidad 62600, Cuba (Formerly Hostal Elio)
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 379 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range: $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious semi - colonial family house in the centre of the city, five minutes walk from the Plaza Mayor. The house has a three bedrooms, all en- suite and with safe for valuables, as well as a large communal living area and a roof-top terrace with great views over the city. Bedrooms available: Option One Two Double beds with a private terrace. Option Two: Two Double beds. Option Three: One double bed. Traditional Cuban- style breakfast and dinner available on request. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing