We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (725)
Filter reviews
725 results
Traveller rating
663
49
8
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
663
49
8
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswelcoming placelobster dinnervisiting trinidadexcellent hostsroof terracecasahousecubasalsadancing
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 725 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2017

We stayed in Elio's Casa for 2 nights and found it pleasantly charming. Elio was available for all our requests and gave us some good suggestions regarding things to do nearby. It was nice to chat with him to hear his views on the changing face of Cuba and general life.

The room was comfortable, with an attached private balcony - nice to sit outside on sunny mornings, with great views. Breakfast is served in a courtyard, and it was one of the better ones we had in Cuba, probably the best.

We had dinner at the Casa on one of the nights, and unfortunately my husband had an allergic reaction (we did not know he was allergic!). Elio made sure he was available and he really felt guilty for the whole episode, when it was not even his fault! In fact we liked the effort that was put in to make sure the dinner was quiet and "romantic" with our own and only table that was set for the night upstairs.

The Casa is located well within a short 15-20 min walk to the town centre and we felt this was a good way to explore the streets of Trinidad.

Room Tip: The room with the private balcony on the first floor has more privacy.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chamanvitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2017

Elio was a great host, possibly one of the BEST out of all the lovely people we stayed with! Nothing was too much trouble and had brilliant advice and help during our stay. Elio made us feel so welcome! Great contacts in the local area, great level of English to save him from our less than great Spanish and great eggs at breakfast! Thank you Elio :)

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank aprilgirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2017

Stayed at Elio's in December. Arrived in Trinidad and couldn't get access to accommodations we had booked, but Elio saw us out on the street and offered to find us a place to stay close by. We were so grateful as the place he found for us was fantastic. We landed up extending our stay in order to stay at his house for a night when a room became available (he was fully booked when we had arrived) and cannot say enough about his help throughout. In addition to his fantastic help, his house is also so charming and the location is perfect. Great views from the roof, excellent breakfast and friendly staff and family. Elio made our trip to Trinidad easy and stress free - Thank you!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are best with large patios
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eco-island-life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2017

I have had the opportunity to visit Cuba for the second time just a couple days ago, and once again I decided to return to the beautiful city of Trinidad. Since my last stay with Elio was great, the decision was easy. Once again the stay was amazing, Elio and his family were very attentive, the house has a great location near the center, the rooms were high above Cuban standard, clean, cozy and comfortable. And the best of all, the home cooked diner at Elio's house it just the best, if you stay here don't eat anywhere else but at his house, it the best lobster and shrimps in Cuba, much better than any restaurant!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jan_R_SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2017

The house is just beautiful. Our room was lovely, and we used the terrace for salsa lessons. Elio organized the teacher for us, as well as many taxi appointments. Big advantage point is the wifi spot within the house, so you can use internet every time someone charges the house wifi with the card.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews