We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Best Casa Particular Experience in Cuba” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Casa Colonial el Patio

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Casa Colonial el Patio
Ranked #3 of 346 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
“My Best Casa Particular Experience in Cuba”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Manuel and Elizabeth, who speak English, have two spacious rooms. The front room that I stayed in had a large shower with plenty of hot water and water pressure. They moved a table in for me to work on my computer and the two fans kept me cool. The courtyard , where most meals were served provide a cool relaxing atmosphere.
What most impressed me: At the end of a long tiring day, Manual turned out a delicious candle lit hot sauteed shrimp dinner during the middle of a four hour electrical blackout!
I have stayed here twice. This is my home away from home in Trinidad.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
262
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Great place in the historical centre of Trinidad 2 minutes walking from Plaza Major.
2 beautifull 2 triple rooms with new barhroom ensuite.
Amazing patio to have breakfast, dinner (homemade by his wife) and relax in the shadows of his trees lying on an amaca.
Manuel speak also english and if you call him in advance he has no problem to come to wait for you in the Viazul station.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gtosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed 3 nights for the New Year 2012.The rooms were decent (which in Cuba means great!). The house is beautyful, and the patio and the host- excelent!

Room Tip: Electricity at 110 V
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ovidiu m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

I just wanted to say that after traveling around Cuba, Manuel´s house is the best with difference. I highly recommend it for anyone that wants to enjoy a great time in Trinidad.
Manuel is a really nice guy and we have had an amazing time!

Dont think more. Just GO!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xavier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I highly recommend this casa particular in Trinidad. The house is in really good condition, the main room (where we stayed) is massive and clean, and the garden at the back is beautiful and perfect for chilling out after a long walking day around Trinidad. Meals served are abundant and yummy! Manuel, the owner, is a great person and he is always willing to help, have a nice chat, and he provided us the most useful tips for our visit in Trinidad/Cuba.
Also, great location: just 2 minutes walk from the main square.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanBusquets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

We completely enjoyed our 5 night stay at Casa Manuel. We stayed in the front room, which is big and spacious albeit noisy in the mornings and then in the back room facing the garden.
The garden area is very tranquil and perfect for relaxing.
I agree with the other reviews that dinner here is a pleasure and they cook some amazing soups.
Manuel and his family were very friendly and helpful and definitely we would consider staying here again.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MMBItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuuk, Greenland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

I stayed in this wonderful house. Room A was huge, approx 30sqm. It is located near the main square, just a short 2min walk from casa de la musica where you want to hang out in the evening. Manuel speaks perfect English and is very helpful with everything. Food is good.

Room Tip: Room A facing the street, however it is more noisy than room B facing the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mathilde_x_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
1824.3 km away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 km away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
198.3 km away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hostal Los Hermanos
Hostal Los Hermanos
#88 of 211 in Trinidad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.7 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
12.5 km away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa Colonial el Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Colonial el Patio

Property: Hostal Casa Colonial el Patio
Address: Ciro Redondo (San Jose) 274 | La Calle del Museo, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 346 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful colonial house is located in Trinidad's historical center, just two blocks away from the Central Square and local bars (Casa de la Musica, Palenque, Casa de la Trova). The house was constructed in 1754 by the Spanish with all the architectural elements of colonial houses which have been preserved (internal patio, wooden ceiling, floral motif ornamentation of the door and window paneling). Its two rooms have been refurbished with all modern amenities. The owner and his family will certainly make you feel at home! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing