We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
I expected more

I wanted to see a real Caribbean beach, you know how they look like in the movies, with fine white... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Iwonna
,
Warsaw, Poland
Nice beach but stay a bit away from the hotel parts

We visited Ancon almost 20 years ago and it felt quite familiar this time around apart from that... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Johan L
via mobile
Read all 3,400 reviews
  
Reviews (3,400)
Filter reviews
3,400 results
Traveller rating
1,419
1,313
522
116
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,419
1,313
522
116
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews white sand pizza warm water sun loungers sand flies fine sand sandwiches per day a short taxi ride few hours la boca caribbean sea cuc per person beds cuba peninsula bike
Filter
Updating list...
989 - 994 of 3,400 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013

this beach is perfect, only a short drive from Trinidad centre, a taxi is less expensive if there are two or more rather than wait for the bus that the tourists get which was crazily over crowed. The beach sand is lovely & white and the water refreshing after lounging about. Can rent chairs for only 2 cuc a day or the sand is perfect for lying on too.

Date of experience: January 2013
3  Thank max_washedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Playa Ancon is a nice beach with white sand and calm water, great for sun bathing or a refreshing swim.
There is a snack bar where you can order sandwiches, burgers, ice cream and drinks.
The public washroom is a complete disaster especially as the day goes on. If you pay $2cuc you can use the Playa Ancon Hotel palapa and their hotel washroom, which is much better. If you are in a pinch and have not rented a palapa, just head to the back of the lobby in the Playa Ancon Hotel and look left of the front desk to locate the washroom, I have used them many times and never been stopped.
There are taxis in the parking lot at the public beach (next to snack bar) to take you back to Trinidad for $8cuc or less.

Date of experience: January 2013
5  Thank NotMeantToBeHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2013

It is so easy to get to the beach with hop on - hop off bus or with a local taxi entrepeneur who comes to the hop on / off bus stop 5 minutes before the "official bus" arrives. The ticket for either one is 2 CUC round trip. The only difference is that the hop on / off bus goes via Roca village and thus takes longer time to get to the beach but on the other hand, you get to see more. The taxi entrpeneur drives directly to the beach, so you'll get there in no time. Ones you are on the beach, you are in paradise! The beach is big and clean and there are bars for snacks and drinks. You can also take a small catamaran and go to see some nearby coral reefs. Or you can just relax and enjoy the Caribbean Sea. Since Trinidad is in the valley and thus very hot, to go to the beach for the warmest hours of the day makes all sense. Just make sure that if you are staying untill the sunset, take some mosquito spray with you. The sand flies are nasty and there are lots of them, but just in the morning and in the evening.

Date of experience: January 2013
9  Thank Miia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Beautiful beach with white sand and nice calm water, a good spot to relax for a bit. What more can one possibly want. Hm... probably a beer? Some kind of a bar to sit and enjoy shades? No such luck here, the whole strip of the beach is full of all-inclusive resort and normal traveller getting to Playa Ancon by taxi has no luck of getting any place to sit and drink at all. There is one small strip of beach close to the parking lot where you can lay your blanket and relax, but otherwise it's infested with all-inclusive guests.

Take a coco taxi to the beach (4 or 5 CUC one way, depending on how you haggle) or the hop-on hop-off bus for 2CUC per person, it's much cheaper than taxi if there's only two of you.

Date of experience: December 2012
3  Thank Tina Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is our second time to Ancon Beach. I quite liked it. We stayed in Trinidad and took a cab to the beach. This would be my only dislike. The cab fare to and from is 8 CUC each way which adds up if you are staying for awhile. I am not a wave person so I liked this beach a lot. My children were not as keen but enjoyed it well enough. The little restaurant is good enough once you figure out how the service works. One end of the bar takes the food orders and if you just want drinks go to the bartender. It can be slow but who is in a hurry on vacation? The bathroom off the restaurant is mediocre at best. We rent a palapa at the hotel Playa Ancon for 2CUC which allows us use of their bathrooms. A far better alternative. A great place to relax and enjoy yourself.

Date of experience: January 2013
2  Thank newp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews