We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good times with a tour group”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good times with a tour group”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This property was quite nice for the two nights we were there. I was part of a tour group and so maybe that had something to do with the good time. The food was O.K., the room was good (except we couldn't open our patio door) and we had an ocean view which was marvelous, the service was fine. The beach is great and close to the property. Enjoy yourself and don't worry.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Saturn_Sela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    423
    475
    299
    233
See reviews for
303
707
59
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

All the reviews you see on this site are true, including the Good.the Bad and the Ugly.
First the ugly. After three hour flight we had a three and a half hour bus ride. This is after getting up at 3 am to get the 6 am flight (Hola Suntours/Canjet) When we arrive there are no porters so we have to haul our luggage to our rooms.No elevator so had to carry them up three flights of stairs. OK lets have a hot shower? Nope. No hot water and no water pressure. Had no hot water for three days. Fourth day met the largest Cockroach in the world. He was the size of my large toe.
Same day I got the worst case of Diarrhea I have ever had.I still have it a week later. Am going to my doctor to make sure it is not something worse. Can you spell food poisoning or Norovirus? And I even made sure I didnt drink the water so this must have come fromt the food.
Bad; The food except in the al a carte la Virgia restaurant upstairs where you can get lobster for $15 CUC and good wines ( all extra cost)
The bed was so thin and hard both me and my brother has sore backs all the time
Noisy. The walls are so thin you can hear the people in the next room scratching
The first night the couple next door were either "bumping ugly" or doing sit ups . I dont know which but they made a lot of noise.
Doors slamming Staff yelling at each other and the Clock Tower ringing every hour on the hour.
OK so lets have a drink. Cant the lobby bar closes as 10pm. The snack bar is so crowded it takes 20 minutes to get a drink. The management makes sure there are no more than 2 bartenders on duty at any time.Usually just one so they dont have to serve too many drinks.
OH Ya the "noseeums" are still showing up all over my body. Those are the sand flees that bite you and the mark shows up the next day. So the beach is nice but bring lots of bug spray.
The Good; The dancers are young , beautifull and very talented.
Oh ya the AC is iffy

Room Tip: 6207 ++ rooms near the back seem to be quieter Or get a room on the bottom floor so you dont have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adjusterboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trinidad hotels

Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
119 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I had to stayed in this hotel, since the tour operator booked. I have no idea about the room rates but I can say for sure that it was a bad experience.

Its very far away from the Trinidad town center. The rooms are very old and dirty (even for Cuba). Everything in the hotel including the food, restaurant, the atmosphere is cheap. No chance to try the beach so I have no idea.

It may only be acceptable for the family with kids or old tourists want to play Bingo on the pool side. For the others avoid it. Seriously

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meetjoeblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Had a couple of nights here as part of a tour.

Plus points: the grounds well kept and nice to walk around. The beach is amazing, soft sand, warm sea. We lucked out with a room by the beach front where we could watch a great sunset from our balcony and it was very peaceful. The drinks are incredibly strong but you can ask them to tone down the rum a little!! It was quick and easy to get served and they did great coffee in the lobby bar. Our room was fine with a comfy bed and was fairly clean (though we did have a cockroach one day – not an indication of room cleanliness – but not really terribly welcome).

Negatives: one big one……the food. Dear God. Ok, I know this is Cuba, we made plenty of excuses but, seriously, it was not good – and I am far from picky. Be warned: a seafood paella (more like risotto or porridge) that was quite possibly one of the nastiest things I have ever eaten reappeared at breakfast, disguised as croquettes! The bread was stale, the butter had clearly been left out and was rancid. The salads were the saving grace to be honest. Maybe we just got unlucky with the couple of nights we were there but we also got ill – and never normally do. The other negative is the location, you’re stuck out, 15 min drive from the charms of Trinidad.

Would we stay again, nope…….

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jemtee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed 2 nights on March 14th & 15th 2012 all inclusive. This hotel is awfully run down. It is on a spit of land about 15 mins car ride from the inland town of Trinidad which is most enchanting, a World Heritage site that we wanted to visit as it is very photogenic. I cannot find anything to say that is good about this hotel except its location on a lovely beach, however it is isolated from the town which costs 8 pesos by Taxi ( about £5 )one way. The bathroom smelt of sewers which permeated into the bedroom. The tiles were cracked, no plugs in washbasin or bath., bidet didn't work. Coakroach scurrying across floor. No fly netting, mosquitos in room but no fly spray. The chamber maid didn't have any & the hotel doesn't sell it or have it, so I got bitten. Rooms are not ready till 4 p.m . Food in buffet is terrible with the exception of breakfast. There is an A La Carte restuarant but the food is only marginally better. Out of our party of 12 , 4 got diarrhoea. They were all 4 doctors who never ate any salad ! I think there must be hygiene issues in the food preparation/ luke warm food standing around in a buffet situation is probable cause, & dirty preparation of fruit, which we witnessed. The staff were not helpful. In summary my wife & I stayed in 5 hotels on our trip to Cuba & she was so disgusted that she is going to write a letter of compaint to the Tourist Department about the standards in this hotel,as the other hotels were fine. I don't recommend anybody to stay at Brisas.

Room Tip: Take a bathpug, fly spray, deodorizer, & medication for diarrhoea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locust Valley, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We went to this hotel with an InsightCuba tour and it was not great. Water pressure and temperature in our room would vary depending on the time of day. As the day wore on, it appeared there was a buildup of sewer gas that would leave our bathroom reeking by nightfall. Our traveling companions' terrace door wouldn't open. The mattresses and pillows were terrible. The breakfast buffet was fair (and typical for Cuba), and the 24-hour snack bar was nothing to rave about. When I ordered a late night burger and fries (after a lousy meal at a local paladar), the chef took a cooked burger that had been left on the counter unrefrigerated and he seemed to nuke it for 10 minutes in an old convection oven until it was a hockey puck. The fries contained more oil than potato. The beach was very nice and the pool was decent, but this hotel is not in any condition to receive an influx of world travelers. Like every other hotel or restaurant in Cuba, you have to lower your expectations because you're in a developing country. If you're looking for a luxurious and relaxing Caribbean vacation, try another hotel. For that matter, try another country.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Longislander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We were booked in for 3 nights as part of our tour but booked for an extra night and had to pay the rack rate. It is not cheap and as my wife doesn't drink alcohol we found it hard to get our monies worth from the all inclusive rate. This is my first experience of an all inclusive hotel and found their small glasses, cheap rum, and slow bar service a very clever way of not allowing you too many free drinks. Room was fine and the laundry service excellent and cheap. The restaurant is only fair, quantity OK but choice limited. One night we went to the a La Carte restaurant which is a lot better but I think you are only allowed to go there 1 night per week. In there the drinks are not included and the prices for wine are high. The hotel grounds and the beach are excellent and there was no problem getting a lounger. If staying in Trinidad for a few nights then I would recommend here as opposed to in the city, it is only 15 minutes into the centre of the town and you can relax more here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank segara87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
7.2 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
19.4 km away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
206 reviews
7.3 km away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
293.9 km away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
3,205 reviews
54.0 km away
Hotel Rancho Luna
Hotel Rancho Luna
#6 of 6 in Cienfuegos
618 reviews
141.8 km away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisas Trinidad del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas Trinidad del Mar

Property: Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Address: Peninsula Ancon, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brisas Trinidad del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brisas Trinidad del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Trinidad Del Mar Hotel Trinidad
Brisas Hotel Trinidad
Brisas Resort All Inclusive Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing