We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$100
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$68
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Pernik(Holguin)
US$62
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$57
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Islazul Villa Don Lino(Rafael Freyre)
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (5,615)
Filter reviews
5,615 results
Traveller rating
4,050
1,058
360
105
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,050
1,058
360
105
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal serviceel patiooutdoor showershow tablethe mediterranean restaurantjunior suitepool restaurantbutler servicejean marcrs beachrs restaurantmain beacha la carte restaurantsroyal sectionlobby barprivate beachhour room service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,061 - 3,066 of 5,615 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Had twelve nights with my wife at Paradisus. Generally not keen on all inclusive, but the quality here was fine - quite good really.

The food in the 'speciality' restaurants was very similar to the main buffet, the main advantage is the improved ambience. The restaurant in 'Royal Service' in our experience was not up to standard; we spoke to the management about this, and they dealt with our concerns very well, and refunded all costs incurred with good grace and without hesitation. The drinks are generally premium brands.

Nice beach bar and restaurant, (only open in the daytime) with great live music from an accoustic trio. - There were a lot of very good musicians playing every night in the main bar area.

The rooms, by international standards, are a little tired, but clean. We upgraded after one night to a 'bungalow' which was better.

The staff were particularly pleasant and obliging; tipping certainly helps, but do not feel intimidated into doing so.

If you want a couple of weeks in the sun, then this is for you; if you want to get out and about during your stay, then there is little to see in the immediate area.

We stayed at Melia Cayo Coco seven years ago, and this is a similar operation. In our experience, the food at Paradisus is better, but the rooms at Cayo Coco were more attractive.

Room Tip: Do not upgrade in advance via a UK tour operator. Upgrading on arrival, vor by email direct with the hotel in advance, is at least 50% cheaper.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eastertown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadisusRioDeOro, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am glad that you found your experience at our hotel “quite good really” and were happy with the services provided to you by our staff.

We strive to make each guests’ experience unique and of top quality, of what is expected of a 5 star hotel. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of hosting you again at PRDO for another great holiday.

Thank you very much again for sharing your experience at Paradisus Río de Oro with us.

Kind regards,

Eduardo Perera Castro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed at PRDO between 23rd March/6th April 2012. Travelled with Thomson. Nice plane, plenty of leg room, good service on flight. Were greeted at Holguin with a Cuban band and bucks fizz - a nice touch. We had booked taxi transfer which was quick and efficient and got us to the hotel in just under 1 hour. Our room wasn't quite ready but were given more champagne and cool cloths for our face and hands and just chilled out. Taken to our room in one of the buggys and were shown all facilities in room and told about room service.
If you are a frequent traveller to 5* hotels in places like Dubai, Mexico etc, do not expect this to be the same. This is Cuba and things are harder to achieve. The rooms are decorated in a Cuban rustic style with a hand painted mural on one wall. The beds are HUGE. Either two doubles pushed together or a king size. There is a coffee maker (get your milk from the bar or ring room service) CD player, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, and a fridge stocked with soft drinks, beer and water. This is replenished every day if needed. The bathroom has the sinks seperate to the toilet and bath area. The shower is over the bath and looks quite old but is actually great. Yes, both bathrooms and bedrooms could probably do with an update but it is not a great issue. The rooms are large and comfortable and kept spotlessly clean (thanks Odalis for your hard work).
Pool area is lovely, plenty of beds, shade and a good swim up bar. The pool is flaking abit on bottom but nothing bad - maintenance must be difficult when resort is open all year. There is also a great pool restaurant that serves, amoungst other things, great pizzas.
Beach beautiful - again plenty of shade and beds. The sunbed men will put your bed where you ask. There are rocks in places going into sea but can easily find a way round them. Lovely beach bar/restaurant and the beach toilets are very unusual!
Gardens are really pretty, the gardners work really hard and the result is amazing. Grass, flowers, fountains, wooded areas. Check out the Botanical Garden where they cultivate their own plants. So many birds and animals to see - we saw herons, vultures, hummingbirds, bullfrogs, lizards, crabs and many other things. A good nature walk is to cross the bridge over the lagoon, preferably early morning or late afternoon.
Didn't try Spa but other people said it was brilliant.
Walked up to Royal Service and there is a nice small beach and the villas look beautiful but wouldn't want to stay there as is quite isolated and many people there were coming down to
the main hotel.
We ate in the buffet, the Meditteraneo and El Patio - all were great. Lots of choice at buffet but things do sometimes run out. Cuba has trouble getting regular supplies. Also ate at beach restaurant and pool one - also lovely. We paid on the last night to eat at Royal Service and the meal was outstanding and beautifully served. Lovely treat.
Entertainment was very good, always little bands playing, singers, dancers before evening meals. Main show between 9.45 and 10.45. Lots of dancing, some ballet, classical guitar, electric guitar, water ballet, singing, and great beach party on Thursday nights.
Did the Dolphin Trip which was fabulous, beautiful friendly creatures and about 25minutes in the water with them. Lovely little ride on boat across the bay to the Dolphinarium. We also took a horse and carriage ride to Guardalavaca (20 pesos return) and a ride in an old American car (12 pesos return) to visit the craft market there.
Staff are fantastic, friendly, cheerful and extremely hard working. They will tell you about their lives and their families and you realise how extremely spoilt we have become in this country. If you can speak abit of Spanish they think it's great! We saw some people treat the staff like dirt, clicking fingers and shouting at them for no reason at all. Do not underestimate these people. Their education system is great and most of them are better qualified than us -there is just no work for them. They have an amazing health service too. I think we could learn alot from them.
Thomson rep Angel very good and answered many silly questions I went and asked him. Was around each day between 9 and 1 in the lobby bar.
In general guests at this hotel were probably aged from about 35 upwards apart from honeymooners or couples getting married. It is a quiet hotel in general so do not come if you want lots of noisy night life.
All in all we had an amazing holiday and will certainly be returning.
Finally to all the wedding couples who tied the knot in the fortnight we were there (especially Ashley and Rebecca) we wish you all the best for your futures together. To the lady who was so poorly with a stomach complaint (nothing to do with hotel) that I spoke to alot - I hope your onward journey from Manchester was not too stressful and that you are feeling alot better. And to Brenda and MIchael - we looked for you at Manchester to say goodbye but couldn't find you! Hope you got home Ok and that Michaels trees had survived the bad weather!
Thank you to all staff at Paradisus for a beautiful holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank tiai23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadisusRioDeOro, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing a review about our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am extremely happy that we were able to provide you with a wonderful experience and a great vacation at our hotel. This is our mission and duty and when we have a satisfied guest, such as yourself, we feel that we have accomplished our greatest task.

I do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again to our resort, and please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival for any special requests that you may have.

Kind regards from Paradisus Río de Oro,

Eduardo Perera Castro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We had an outstanding time at the PRDO during the week of March 17-24, 2012. It was our second visit there and a last minute choice because a previous booking for the Iberostar Ensenachos was cancelled due to complications. It must have been kharma because a spot became available on the Thursday before a Saturday departure with SunWing at very good price. Upon arrival we made upgrades. We had 5 days in a deluxe room and 2 days in the Royal Service section. It was like.having two different 5-star vacations! Both had outdoor showers. What a great idea those are!

It was obvious that we were dealing with a first class organization when we received prompt responses to our e-mails from Yunaiki, one of their customer service people. This professionalism was evident throughout our stay.

I'll briefly repeat what has already been written but from our perspective. We consistently had the best service that we could hope for. We tipped for this reason. No pressure to do so. The food was excellent. It didn't matter whether it was breakfast, lunch or dinner; there was choice, quality and minimal waiting. They are really organized. We enjoyed the beach, restaurants, sailing, snorkelling and the lobby bar at night at the main area. The infinity pool, spa and view were awesome at Royal Service. Staff and other visitors were very respectful and pleasant to us. Good Chilean house wines, premium liquor and beer selection as well. Nice little cigar shop with a better selection than I've seen at other Cuban 4 and 5* resorts. The lobby bar was a nice place to spend a few hours in the evening. The entertainment was good. Sitting and chatting while having spanish coffees, rum, beer or other well made drinks was always enjoyable.

Our stay was relaxing but never boring. We always had fun together enjoying the many amenities that the resort had to offer.

The staff seem more empowered here when compared to other resorts (Cuba and other Caribbean countries) that we've visited. They made quick decisions (e.g. booking changes, room service selection, menu changes, etc.) that gave us the impression that the resort staff wanted us to be satisfied. This is a very good reflection on management. They definitely know that they are Number 1 on TripAdvisor and are proud of it.

It was very easy for us to communicate with any of the workers from the front desk to the gardeners, bartenders, Hobie Cat sailors, waitresses and other staff. Many that we spoke to had worked at the PRDO for many years.

The water was little rough for snorkelling on some days. There was an odor from the toilets in both sections (before using them lol). These are the worst things that I can come up with.

This is definitely an excellent choice for a couples vacation or a destination wedding location. They have customer service figured out. We highly recommend the resort and will go back someday soon.

One last comment to summarize. The catchphrase that we've borrowed from Jorge who does a great job serving on the beach is "Enjoy your drink... please. Thank you friend.". We're already begun using it playfully to each other to remind us of the fun we had. We'll be using around our own pool this summer as well!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mr_Shawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadisusRioDeOro, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very nice and positive review about our hotel.

It definitely turned out well that you did end up having your vacation at PRDO. I am very happy to hear that you “consistently had the best service that you had hoped for.” This is a definite indicator of the fact that we do make every effort for our guests to be as satisfied about their holidays as possible and our goals have been reached.

We are always trying to improve not only our services but also our service and do hope that when you do decide to pay us another visit, you will find everything up to par with your expectations.

Kind regards from Paradisus Río de Oro,

Eduardo Perera Castro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I have rated the hotel as terrible for one reason only. We arranged the holiday from the uk, and booked in for a 7 day stay at the normal part of the hotel...we lasted one night.

We were shown to our room, as we walked in there was broken glass all by the front door of the room, the bathroom was covered in ants, the shower was filthy, and there was a horrible musty smell in the room. We immediately went back to reception to complain, and after much persuasion we were moved to another room. In fairmess, the second room was ok, quite a decent size, but certainly nowhere near the 5star which it purports to be.

on or first morning we went to the pool, got our loungers, but had to meet the rep at 09.15. We left all our stuff by the pool, but to our shock all our stuff had been taken by the pool manager. When we tried to sort this out, we were told that we were not allowed to reserve our seats. This in my opinion was disgraceful!!!

We had enough of the hotel at this point, it felt like we were staying in a 3 star hotel, full of people who were hell bent on drinking their body weights full of alcohol at the pool bar. We then tried on several occassions ot upgrade to the Royal Service. Whether it was something about the wa we looked, or our age, but we were being fobbed off by the most unhelpful reception staff who gave us every reason under the sun why we couldnt upgrade, but persistence paid off, and at 4pm on our second day we got upgraded, and was it worth it!!

From the moment we arrived at RS to the moment we left it was simply outstanding, the rooms were large, clean, and 5 star, the staff were fantastic, always happy to help, always smiling and very good at what they did, and the pool bar tender Wilmer was outstanding, I cannot praise his work rate, his service or his politness enough, he was simply brilliant, and deserves either a promotion or a significant pay rise!!!

To conclude, had we stayed in the normal part of the hotel, or week away would have been ruined, it was no where near 5 star quality, and we would have left Cuba vowing never to return.

However, we will go back to the RS, as it is 5 star, and is worth the money. If you want 5 star luxury please upgrade, if your happy with an average 3 star hotel with decent food, stay at the normal part, i will never return to that part of the hotel.

I know it this review goes against what many people say, however, we have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world, we pay good money for good hotels, however, comparing the normal hotel to others 5 star hotels over the world is the reason why i would class the the normal hotel as a 3 star, and not a 5 star hotel.

If you want value for money, and a damn good holiday, please please please stay at the Royal Service and not the normal part!!!!!!

Room Tip: Royal Service is a must
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank ggj90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paradisusri0de0r0, Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2016

Old review, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

If you have heard that the food is not good in Cuba, it's completely false at the Paradisus Rio de Oro. The food is EXCELLENT everywhere (À la carte restaurants, grills and Buffet) in this hotel. We where surprise, because we went to others hotels in Cuba and the food was not good. The quality of the food is at the same level as Mexico and Dominican Republic (maybe better), but the staff is much nicer.
The staff is very friendly and attentive. Special Thanks to David and Misladys, servers at the buffet, always smiling and cheerful.
We took the regular junior suite. We asked for a balcony but we got a ground floor. The rooms are a little tired and in need of refurbishment to contemporary taste. Our room had a slight musty smell, but the site of the hotel is beautiful and heavenly.
The site had just the right size. We didn't have to walk far to go from the room to the lobby, restaurants, beach and pool. Everything is close and convenient.
At the beach and the pool, there are always chairs available (we went during the first week of april). There's even an attendant at the beach to tell you if there is a palapas available and to give you chairs if needed.
Two drawbacks to the beach: there are many rocks in the water near the beach (we can easily hurt our feet), but it is an ideal place for snorkeling, and there is no grill where you can eat right on the beach.
The service is fast and very professionnal everywhere in the hotel.
It's a quite resort (adult only), but there are some activities. Just enough and not too much.
I recommend the beach party on Thursday evening. Really fun!
Finally, I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone and I really had a great time!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trionyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadisusRioDeOro, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your comments on Trip Advisor about our hotel.

I am very happy that you enjoyed everything in the hotel, especially the food and service. We try to make each guest’s stay at our hotel unique and memorable and I am glad that we were able to achieve this with you. It would be a great pleasure to host you once again at our resort.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Perera Castro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews