We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have to revisit....”

Thomas Sweet Ice Cream
Ranked #8 of 104 Dessert in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Georgetown
Reviewed April 19, 2017

Took a chance on Easter Monday hoping to try the famous ice cream....it's an enjoyable uphill walk along Wisconsin Ave.....they open at 10am, got there at 10:45am no line but they said ice cream won't be ready till after 12noon. So got the frozen yogurt which was delicious! I noticed the cash only sign when there are long queues and for totals less than $6 so be prepared. The menu board is astounding!!!! Will have to visit again to try the ice cream!!!!

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Vidjaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 31 of 140 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2017 via mobile

The ice cream menu is borderline overwhelming. There are so many different flavors and toppings and all look and sound amazing. It took my boyfriend and I a while to make a decision. As a super ice cream lover I got a large size helping of "oreo mocha" and "cake batter" with rainbow sprinkles. The oreo mocha was top notch, the cake batter a little lacking in cake taste. It was more of a vanilla, but still deliciously creamy. I regret not selecting the butterbrickle which I got to sample- absolute heaven.
Prices are reasonable for the area and ice cream quality. Two massive servings of ice cream with toppings ran us about $14.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank daniellecG7380IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2017 via mobile

This place had so many amazing flavor of ice cream! It was so hard to try and choose what I wanted. You can't go wrong with anything here!!

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Britt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2017 via mobile

Whenever we're in Georgetown, we always manage to walk up Wisc Ave to get a scoop or two. The flavors are fresh and delicious.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank RonFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2017

Excellent ice cream, must try if in the Georgetown Area. Line was long, but wait was reasonable. Be aware they prefer cash payments when busy. Keeps the line moving. Lots of flavors. Enjoyed the choc dipped sugar cones too.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 976carye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thomas Sweet Ice Cream also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Thomas Sweet Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing