We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot across from the zoo!”
Review of Duke's Counter

Duke's Counter
Ranked #439 of 3,719 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Description: Family friendly gastropub with a full bar and large patio, located directly across the street from the National Zoo. Enjoy the award-winning Proper Burger, hefty sandwiches, salads and tasty specials along with a Kids Menu and weekend Brunch. Happy Hour from 12:00-7:00pm during the week. Rotating selection of local craft and import beers on draught. Reservations accepted for groups of 6 or more. Cheers!
Restaurant details
Description: Family friendly gastropub with a full bar and large patio, located directly across the street from the National Zoo. Enjoy the award-winning Proper Burger, hefty sandwiches, salads and tasty specials along with a Kids Menu and weekend Brunch. Happy Hour from 12:00-7:00pm during the week. Rotating selection of local craft and import beers on draught. Reservations accepted for groups of 6 or more. Cheers!
Reviewed April 20, 2018 via mobile

Just had lunch at this awesome small pub across from the zoo. Waaaaayyy better than the typical fare you’d get at the zoo eateries. My wife and I split the Quinoa Salad (it was HUGE and delicious) and the Cubano (with chicken schnitzel, avacado, and capicola!), both were scrumptious! While the kids had fish and chips and chicken tenders (our daughter got the Mac and cheese but despite it being incredibly good, she felt it was too creamy so they swapped it for the chicken, no charge!). Highly recommend this spot!

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank RedCycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 84 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2018

I visited for lunch and was really impressed with the 'proper burger'. It was excellent--perfectly cooked and so tasty! The service was also excellent and Duke (I assume) was a friendly and gracious host. Don't eat at the zoo, but cross the street for this spot!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018

Well, we were all FAMISHED after a morning at the Capitol, and we just happened upon Duke's on our way into the zoo. Boy, were we pleasantly surprised! My son had the nutella, banana, and marshmallow press, and he hasn't stopped talking about it for DAYS. He's not normally a "foodie" kid; he's very picky. He's now hoping that Duke's will deliver sandwiches to Alabama! Ha!!

Each of the four of us had something different, and we all enjoyed our meal.

Our server was slow to refill our drinks, but another staff member picked up the slack and took good care of us. Our food was a little slow to come out, but the restaurant was busy, so that was understandable. We are all pleased with our choices!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thewoodstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 9, 2018 via mobile

This is a great little bar that serves great drinks and has a surprising delicious menu. We enjoyed truffle Mac and cheese with bacon served in a hot skillet, a proper burger and a pastrami sandwich. My advice look over the happy hour menu so your not confused over any pricing. The owner takes great pride in his establishment and offers perfect customer service. Recommended!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Kira G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2018

We stopped in before an evening Zoo event and were pleasantly surprised. Every plate we shared was delicious. I'm glad it's now an option before all Zoo events.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SeatOfMyPntsTravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duke's Counter also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Duke's Counter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing