We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Ranked #60 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
197 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Wonderful location in Washington, however, the park across the street just teems with the homeless. Only one block to Metrorail and several restaurants nearby, but since it's right downtown, not noisy at night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdeanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    788
    247
    89
    55
See reviews for
394
488
92
573
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

The hotel is in a convenient location fairly close to the white house and other major attractions like the convention center. Staff are very helpful.

Everything about the hotel is old. When I checked in they mentioned they wll be going through a remodel soon. I really wouldn't recommend staying here until it happens. the only reason they got a 3 vs. a 2 is the staff is really helpful and the hotel was super clean.

Rooms and bathroom are small. Everything but the TV seems old and a little worn.

You can hear things from the hallway and despite being on the 10th floor you could hear lots of outside noise including many police sirons. There was definitely a lot of police activity in the area as well as ladies of the evening and homeless people very close to the hotel but that is the same for many hotels in DC.

What I like about the place. The staff are help helpful, Do not get Pizza at hotel bar. rally bad.

I usually have to stay at this hotel because of a work conference if you are looking for a simplier alternative there is a Hilton Garden Inn right down the street. You ca often get several other hilton properties for the same price as the crown plaze (just not during a large conference).

There is a great build your own breakfast, lunch noodle place right next door. really good food, very reasonable price. Hotel has a shoe shine guy at the back side of the hotel. he does a really good job and there is a Starbucks onsite

Room Tip: Nice people but stay at another hotel until rennovations happen
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P4620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sholeh K, General Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington, DC, greater thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback here on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to read that you were pleased with our staff service levels and the location of our property was ideal for your last trip, and that the location of our property was ideal for your visit to the city.

As you mentioned, we are preparing our hotel to undergo a soft, aesthetic remodeling that will enhance the look and feel of our guest rooms. Our management staff and designers have carefully prepared a plan to make sure all the items mentioned in your feedback are addressed. We also have a proactive plan that each guest staying with us will not be affected by the soft changes and the enhancement to our Historical property.

Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we have the pleasure and the opportunity to welcome you once more on your next visit to Washington, DC.

At your service,
Sholeh K. Kia
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Hotel staff was great and convenient location however I found it difficult to get a good night sleep because the hotel faces an extremely busy street in DC. If you have business meetings to attend and require a good nights sleep then I would suggest staying at a quieter hotel that has interior rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sholeh K, General Manager at Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington, DC, greater thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback here on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to read that you were pleased with our staff service levels and the location of our property was ideal for your last trip, and that the location of our property was ideal for your visit to the city.

I would like to share with you that we are preparing our hotel to undergo a soft, aesthetic remodeling that will enhance the look and feel of our guest rooms as well as addressing possible noise that may be troublesome due to our downtown location. We also have a proactive plan that each guest staying with us will not be affected by the soft changes and the enhancement to our Historical property.

Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we have the pleasure and the opportunity to welcome you once more on your next visit to Washington, DC.

At your service,
Sholeh K. Kia
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Traveling to Washington DC a few times a year has led to good and bad hotel experiences. This was one of the good ones. Our party of 3 arrived in late afternoon with our reservation confirmation in hand to find that our reservation had been cancelled. While we never unraveled the mystery (we do have a new office assistant who may have mistakenly reserved the wrong dates or the website booking.com could have been responsible for the error), the amazing evening manager, Walter Escobar, set about to make it right. Although he could not give us the special website price, he offered us great rooms at a sizable discount. The hotel has a cozy bar with a great happy hour which also helped take the edge off a potential nightmare. One of my associates needed a down free room - they were able to pull that together in record time. At every turn, this hotel exceeded expectations. Rooms were attractive and clean and quiet. Will keep this place in mind for our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Orion, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I spent two midweek nights at the Hamilton Crowne Plaza the last week of February 2012. I was attending a conference and this was the package venue. I had read some disconcerting revues so my apprehension was on high alert. I was very pleasantly surprised! This is an extremely nice hotel. My room, king bed, was very nice. It was clean, had a decent bed, nice linens that actually fit the bed, plenty of creature comforts, in room coffee (Starbucks), very nice bathroom, all was very good. I purposely looked for something that was amiss and finally found something, no full length mirror. Wrong, I opened the closet door and there it was. Another observation that prior reviews had complained about was noisy rooms and thin walls, not so for me. It was very quiet inside the hotel and outside street noise was buffered very adequately. The staff was great, very friendly and helpful. The restaurant and lounge was very nice with very good food and service. It may seem pricey but remember this is downtown DC in a very nice facility. It's very competitive. Finally, this facility is very centrally located to both The White House and Congressional buildings. I would stay here again and definitely would recommend it to my family, friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GreatLakesAdvocate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Great location. Close to metro or a $10 cab anywhere in the city for two of us. The lobby is beautiful, and the staff is great.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandysrtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ki-lo-li
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in October 2011. After a very long day travelling from the UK and a lost suitcase, we were relieved to arrive at the Crowne Plaza, Washington. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and as my boyfriend is a Platinum member of the Priority Club we were given a complimentary upgrade to a suite. The room was very spacious and comfortable.
Having never visited Washington before we had no idea about location but this hotel was in a great position for sightseeing, with almost all the monuments and museums within walking distance. If you wanted to visit Georgetown you would need to take a cab. There are local convenience stores and some restaurants/cafes close by, there is also an adjoining Starbucks.
I was also very pleasantly surprised by Washington itself; it is a beautiful, quiet and very clean city. All the museums have free entry and there are endless monuments to see, we did this on a night tour which was fantastic and highly recommended.
If I was ever visiting Washington again I would happily book to stay at the Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ki-lo-li
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#47 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#78 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel

Property: Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Address: 1001 14th St. NW, 14th and K Street, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored 1920's architectural gem, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel offers refined accommodations and modern meeting facilities in the heart of the nation's capitol. Gracing the corner of 14th & K Streets, NW, this Washington, DC hotel places you in the ideal location whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Just 5 blocks from the White House, 7 blocks to the Washington, DC Convention Center, 1 block to the McPherson Square Metro Station, minutes from the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums, and local dining and entertainment, the Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel is perfectly situated to make your visit a productive and memorable experience. The Hamilton's own 14K Restaurant and Lounge offers a contemporary American dining experience to guests and local DC residents alike. Perfect for people watching, entertaining, or unwinding after a day of meetings, 14K Restaurant and Lounge is the choice for casual meals or private gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hamilton
Crowne Plaza Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing