We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you paid for.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
District Hotel Washington
Ranked #132 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“You get what you paid for.”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

District Hotel was ok.
We booked a room for 4, and we were 3.
Except the deterioration of the walls and the windows which were sealed up (you can't air the room), the beds were the most astonishing part of the room! They are big and clean.
The bathroom was pretty big and clean too. And the room was really big.
However, I would rather call this hotel a "luxurious hostel" more than a "hotel".
We shared a closed common door with a neighbor room, and it was very loud toward the end of our stay (having ear plugs is a plus in those cases).
The hallways are long, large, and well decorated, make you feeling like in a "real hotel".

As for the service, I would say VERY POOR. The guy at the front desk was rude and unpleasant with us. But I heard some other people having troubles with him too.

The breakfast is delicious though: different kinds of bread, cream cheese, waffles, jam, milk, orange juices, cereals, etc.
And the location is just PERFECT. You can almost do everything by feet! That's what we did.

You pay average, you deserve average.
I mean, our stay was ok but we only stayed 4 nights. I couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFresh118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    93
    140
    103
    191
See reviews for
65
165
94
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chigny Les Roses
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Please do not stay at this hotel... I stayed 2 nights this week. Room is so dirty you can't leave your socks, wires hanging from the ceiling, pigeon pooing on window (window never cleaned), staff obnoxious (really unpolite), breakfast included but so disgusting you don't want to it, wifi free but inaccessible because too weak...

Not 1 thing I would recommend this hotel for... Whatever price it is, believe me it is not worth it

ah, forgot to add, the linen were disgusting too

Room Tip: Don't choose any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My husband and I recently stayed in this hotel, the trouble started when we walked into they hotel and found out that they elevator was broke and we had to walk up four flights of steps. As we settled in our room it was alright for a couple of hours,until I discovered a large black roach on they wall above our bed. My husband immediately called they front desk and told him about they bug and asked for a checkout and money back, they sent someone up to see they bug and told us to collect our items and checkout. Once we got downstairs my husband requested to checkout and for us to receive our money back, they front desk agent spoke with they manager over they phone about they incident,they did not want to give us a full refund and instead offered very little money. After going back and forth with they concierge who was trying to get they manager on the phone to negotiate a deal. After no response and they same offer,we resulted in calling the police,when then got our full refund.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tynnraymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This hotel was THE WORST hotel I have ever stepped foot in. It was absolutely disgusting. There are bed bugs, and no sheets on the bed. There was mold growing on the ceiling right above the bed and you could see that it was falling down on to the pillows. There were DC rats running all over the place. I was honestly afraid for my health in that place. The room was AWFUL. The front desk person Alex was rude, unhelpful and totally untrustworthy. I am totally DISGUSTED with this hotel and I cant believe it hasn't been condemned. I will be reporting this to the BBB.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, the hotel next door Helix is 10 times better, cleaner and safer for almost the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Esteph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I was booked in here while on a research trip during January, and it's probably the worst place I've stayed in 20 years. It's sad and dilapidated, not very clean (the standard of housekeeping was low), and very noisy because the walls are paper thin (I felt like I was having a communal shower with the guys in the room above). The first room had a broken bed & broken telephone, so I was moved to a second floor room with a broken sink & broken iron. Just thinking about the bedding makes me shudder (though I'm quite picky about that). The breakfasts are stale and horrible, there's no coffee-making in rooms, only an urn in reception with polystyrene cups, and cockroaches (I had breakfast at the coffee-shop on the corner of 14th St). I didn't feel particularly safe and there is NO actual safe at all. It was, however, very cheap, and now you (and I) know why. I won't be returning.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Now look this isnt first class but in DC expect to pay $500 a night for 5 star. I book the room at their Youth Hostel site and saved heaps. I had to pay for two people a night but had a private tiolet / shower nice large room and bed. Never saw bugs etc but admit it was dated but again I paid under $100 a night (I think close to $80) and got good service from the guys that was at the front desk. The breakfast that was included was okay, I hate when people book the cheapest hotel then write reports of how it should be 5 star. Not as bad as many of the reports. If you are so posh pay the big money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the property are best. I asked for one and got it. Call ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We just came back from a 3 night stay with a large group of kids for a trip to DC. While the kids didn't have a big problem with these accommodations as one of the organizers and having traveled a lot over the years, I was very unhappy with the District Hotel. We go to DC every year and this year picked the District Hotel because there rates were a bit lower than the others. BIG MISTAKE. This place is a dump.

The elevator does not work. Many of the rooms rooms are in severe need of renovation, the walls are paper thin and there is a lot of noise with the night club next door.

The staff is nice, but it took us 2 1/2 hours to check in ( we had 15 rooms).
Unless you are on the tightest of budgets, I would avoid this place if at all possible.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrankinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#129 of 140 in Washington DC
248 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Baron Hotel
The Baron Hotel
#128 of 140 in Washington DC
363 reviews
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#126 of 140 in Washington DC
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#115 of 140 in Washington DC
1,659 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#124 of 140 in Washington DC
194 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#118 of 140 in Washington DC
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to District Hotel Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about District Hotel Washington

Property: District Hotel Washington
Address: 1440 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — District Hotel Washington 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your District Hotel Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
District Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing