We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Franklin Delano Roosevelt Memorial
from US$43.00
More Info
from US$46.95
More Info
from US$49.00
More Info
from US$49.00
More Info
Reviews (5,679)
Filter reviews
5,679 results
Traveller rating
4,214
1,182
239
36
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,214
1,182
239
36
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tidal basin water features great depression fdr's presidency great president famous quotes his life great man fitting tribute great tribute my favorite cherry blossoms american history national mall night tour waterfall eleanor
Filter
Updating list...
395 - 400 of 5,679 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

While FDR isn’t my favorite president, I do love this memorial to him. The quotes etched into the walls are moving, it brought about a discussion with our 14 year old, who also enjoyed the monument. Only half of the water fountains were working when we were there, but the one that was working added to the feeling of the sight. It is definitely worth the time to stop and walk through this sight.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank dclmom34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Franklin Roosevelt is one of favorite people in American history. Not only was he brilliant, but probably as tough as MacArthur. Through the intense pain of his disability, he inspired half of the world (Allied forces) to rid the whole world of the evil and wickedness of the Nazis. My favorite aspect of the memorial is the architectural representation of the people standing in the bread line during the Great Depression. The statues offer visitors the opportunity for a hands-on reflection of the monumental contributions (Great Depression and World War 2) of Franklin Roosevelt.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Peterharris32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

FDR is certainly worthy of a memorial and this memorial didn’t disappoint. It’s actually a walking path with various sculptures, quotes in stone, and a very nice waterfall.

Nice sculpture and mention of Eleanor, an very important American in her own right.

Gift shop left a lot to be desired with few FDR books and more general DC stuff.

The memorial is a few minute walk from the Jefferson Memorial but a 10-15 minute walk from nearest Metro Station.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank shasta2088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

One of the most beautiful Memorials that we walked through but didn’t really know it was here. Southwest side of Tidal Basin and during Cherry Blossom time it is spectacular, go see!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank RWG19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

Our Viator guide for the night tour made viewing this memorial so much more interesting and moving. He told us SO MUCH about FDR, why each part of the memorial was designed the way it was and why Elenor R and Franklin's dog were the only first lady and dog to get a memorial. So moving and so interesting! Definitely would not have gotten all this info on our own!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews