We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will stay there everytime in DC from now on”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 36 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Apex, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will stay there everytime in DC from now on”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

My stay at MVSBB was absolutely amazing! Lydia and Keith actually asked me what I loved for breakfast a few weeks before I arrived, and then it was prepared perfectly! BTW, it was one of my Southern favorites - pork chops and grits. All of the meals were outstanding, and the best part was just chatting with Lydia and Keith. One of my collegues stayed at the big convention hotel, and when he visited, he couldn't believe that I had found this charm...and for so much less money than those hotels charge.

Their house is very close to the convention center - an easy 5 min. walk. The neighborhood is very quaint, and no need to worry about walking to the convention center along busy streets...it's just a very nice stroll where you see neighbors walking their dogs. If need be, there is a grocery store (Safeway) a couple of minutes (walking) away. The one suggestion I have is to leave your car in the the free parking that the MVSBB provides and just walk for the duration of the trip.

The rooms are very nice with amentities you would expect in a first rate B&B. My room had a nice balcony that I would relax on.

One of the greatest charms of this place is the warmness that Lydia and Keith give. On the day of my big presentation, they both were wishing me luck and then afterward were asking how it went. I truley felt as if I were at home!!!!

Room Tip: I stayed upstairs and had a balcony. It was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    36
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
103
20
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2012

My family and I had a truly enjoyable stay at MVSBB. Keith and Lydia were the perfect hosts and made us feel entirely welcome. We stayed in the Terrace room, which worked well for three people. The room was artistically decorated in a very classy and tasteful manner. Breakfasts were amazing - Keith and Lydia worked their magic every morning coming up with different fantastic menus. When we inquired about laundry facilities, Lydia volunteered to do it all for us! Jaws still drop when we tell our friends that part... The only negative was that the nearby intersection seemed to be a common route for emergency vehicles, so it was common for sirens to be blazing nearby. But, then it wouldn't be DC without lots of sirens, would it?

Room Tip: Although the terrace room doesn't have a fridge/microwave, they are available just across the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanoBrainPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I had a wonderful two-night stay at the Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast. My entire experience there was wonderful. The house is full of charm and the hosts, Lydia and Keith, are kind and very helpful. You feel comfortable there immediately. I stayed in the Terrance Room on the third floor, which was very spacious and comfortable, with a short flight of stairs down to my private bathroom. I am not usually good with directions, but the B&B was just 3-4 blocks from the Convention Center Metro Stop, where you can go to anywhere in the city you desire. Central location--you can walk to the DC mall in 15 minutes or less, and there is a Safeway market around the corner (there is a private refrigerator you can use to store food). Lydi and Keith are life-long residents of the city and can answer any questions you have about what to see, how to get there, etc.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luminos123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

My wife Lisa and I spent six nights at the Mt. Vernon Square B&B for our first trip to Washington, DC, and we're very happy we chose this bed and breakfast. We stayed in the Cleopatra room which is large, with a very comfortable king size bed and en suite bathroom. It's a great value.

Breakfasts were delicious and filling. We never had to interrupt our site seeing to stop for lunch; our breakfasts kept us going until 6 or 7 pm. We really liked that it's family style seating; all the guests sit at the same table. We love that. We've stayed at other B&Bs where they put you at your own table. What's the fun in that? We had great, long conversations with Keith and Lydia and interesting people from the U.K. and northern California. The downside is that we sometimes spent TOO much time talking, taking away time from seeing the museums and such.

It's a five to seven minute walk to the Metro station at the Convention Center, around a forty minute walk to the Air and Space Museum on the mall. We felt very comfortable walking around the neighborhood and eating dinner at one of the nearby restaurants Keith recommended. They leant us a couple of Metro cards that we could charge up with our credit cards; those really streamline getting around town. We returned them when we left.

On Saturday we spent too much time at the monuments and had to get to the Kennedy Center for a symphony performance. I originally thought we could take public transportation, but with time running short we decided to take a cab. I stupidly didn't consider how difficult that might be on a Saturday night. I asked for Lydia's help, and she was on the case. She had her landline phone pressed to one ear and her cellphone pressed to the other, and with her help we got a cab and got to the performance with time to spare. As I said, unbeatable service.

By the way, if you punch their address into Google Maps and then look at the street view it shows you the side of the house from 4th St, and it looks a little sketchy. Google messed up. Navigate around to view the front of the house from M St. It's very nice.

We were able to only scratch the surface of all there is to see in Washington, DC. We'll definitely look to stay at Mr. Vernon Square B&B again for our next visit there.

Happy travels.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2011

The house is beautiful; the rooms are large and comfortable; the breakfasts are great, and the hosts are lovely, lovely people. As others have said, the location is central and very convenient. There was some traffic noise during the night, but you expect that whenever you're staying in a city center. In the end, this place is the reason people stay in B&Bs rather than hotels. We'll stay there again the next time we're in DC.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherazhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, n.y
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We were greeted at the door by Keith and immediately offered a glass of wine. Keith was a most gracious host. Our room looked better than the photos which was the opposite of what I expected. The room was large, sleekly decorated and comfortable. The only down side was that the bathroom was one flight downstairs though we didn't have to share it.
Breakfast was sensational with a unique cornbread, hash browned potatoes and scrambled eggs
and sausage. ( I usually hate sausage but I loved theirs.)
One unique aspect of staying was that the hosts make you feel that you are not just a guest but a part of their home. Both Keith and Lydia were warm and helpful.
I would highly recommend this B and B.

Room Tip: Because of one way streets it was a little tricky to find. The host will help you if you call them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myrabetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We picked MVSBB by online reviews and hoped for the best. What we found was better than the best. Keith and Lydia are wonderful people and the breakfasts that they put on the table, awesome. We stayed for 7 nights and every morning experienced a delicious hearty breakfast. The B&B is close enough to walk "downtown" to all the monuments and museums and there is metro station 3 blocks away. This will be our place to stay every time we get to D.C.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#27 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,454 reviews
Dupont Circle
Swann House
Swann House
#5 of 36 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast
Address: 400 M St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4606
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mt. Vernon Square Bed & Breakfast is an elegant downtown hub for your business or tourist activities three blocks from the Washington, DC Convention Center and a leisurely ten minute walk to the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums and other attractions. Our building's exterior makes a statement and it only gets better when you enter. The extensive wood work, marble floors, 11 ft. ceilings, and stained glass compliment the tasteful décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Vernon Square b&b
Mt. Vernon Square Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing