We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,298)
Filter reviews
1,298 results
Traveller rating
614
476
110
50
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
614
476
110
50
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdupont circleconnecticut avejunior suitefront desk staffadams morgancharming hotelstay there againembassy rowolder hotelwashington hiltonfew blocksgreat neighborhoodroom was largerestaurants and shopscorner roomking bedloved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 1,298 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2017

After a late night arrival in DC, I was glad to see how nicely the front desk welcomed us. The front desk clerk even engaged in some small talk with us, and waved hi to us when we reentered the hotel. It was a sort of casual yet efficient service that really welcomed you to the hotel--they were polite without being formal or withdrawn.

The location was very convenient for us, being an easy 10 min walk from Dupont Circle Station. We could easily use public transport to get around. Although the hotel is in a older building, the rooms appear to be newly renovated. Our room was a junior suite at the top floor (9th floor), which was ornately decorated, and had a decent view of the DC area out the window. The room was reasonably quiet despite being right by Connecticut Avenue, but you could still hear car horns or other very loud city noises.

The bathroom is a bit small, with the toilet being almost flush against the shower. The shower also did not drain properly and after 15 minutes, I was standing in about two inches of dirty, soapy water.

There was an office space inside our suite, which had three decorative busts mounted on the wall. When we arrived, we noticed the busts had fallen off the wall, or appeared to be close to falling off. We did call the front desk, and they assured us that it was safe. Although the decorative busts were not fixed, the maintenance staff (and all the staff in general) were polite and understanding, and it didn't really affect the quality of our stay.

The room seemed to be missing some very basic items, like an alarm clock and a trash can in the bed room (there was only one small trash can in the bathroom). We ended up placing our trash in a bag on the floor in plain view, but this was not collected by housekeeping the next day. The fridge was also not very cold, and barely kept my bottled juice cool overnight.

Overall, while the staff were warm and friendly, and the hotel was comfortable in general, I think the condition of the room (bad shower drain, warm fridge, fallen decorative busts) and the design of the room (lack of trash cans/alarm clock) leaves more to be desired, especially in an establishment of this standard.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abc_at_Huntsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liana B, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us!
I am glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our accommodations, our central location and our personalized service. I have shared your comments regarding your experience with our team who appreciates all guests feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,
Liana Badalyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017

Stayed at Churchill Hotel in DC near embassy row this spring. It has been recently renovated. The rooms are beautiful and the service is very good. Advise them in advance if you are driving and they arrange parking. That's a plus in a busy city like DC. Good restaurants are nearby. Competitive rates make it a very attractive place to stay if you are visiting DC,

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank cgbader47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liana B, Front Office Manager at Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017

Thank you for choosing the Churchill hotel for your visit to our Nation's Capital.
We are delighted that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your room.We hope to welcome you back soon, and that this next visit is as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Liana Badalyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2017

Great location on Conn. Ave NW. Wonderful people at the front desk, concierge and restaurant. Walking distance to much of what DC has to offer. Will certainly return. Windows actually open for fresh air and hardly no road noise on the upper floor. Immaculate room.

Room Tip: Corner suite had lots of light and windows.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded September 23, 2017

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Churchill Hotel. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the customer service you received during your stay, as well as our central location. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Warm regards,
Liana Badalyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2017

WORST HOTEL EVER!!!! Room service stole 1000 dollars from my room and management didn't do anything about it all they said was that they are not going to compensate me and they are not responsible
The hotel is old and outdated it has a nasty smell the toilets in the bathrooms are not working properly the system is always down so it will take you like 10 hours to check in or out it was literally the worst experience of my life!!!!!!!!!! If you value your belongings or cash do not stay in this hotel they are a bunch of thieves!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Maisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2017

The Churchill is a lovely hotel - the inside is quaint, rooms are comfortable, and it is well located - I really liked it! However, I was in a corner room that had extremely bad wifi (e.g. fluctuating signal that could be off for hours), and because I was there for work this created a significant problem. The staff tirelessly tried to help, within their means; but fixing it will require management to install more routers near corner rooms (which they have assured me they will). I would stay here again if have to work nearby.

Room Tip: In case management did not install more routers, ask them 'not' to put you in a corner room.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smaynard74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded September 23, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your experience. We are glad to know you enjoyed the customer service you received during your stay, as well as our accommodations. We are sorry to hear about the issues you have experienced with the internet connection. We currently work on improving our WiFi connection. We hope to have a chance to welcome you back to the Churchill Hotel.

With warm regards,
Liana Badalyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews