We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Ranked #59 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Great location, good price, great customer service, but has some flaws. The beds were uncomfy despite being a sleep number. They have double beds so that's not great for sharing. Breakfast isn't included which I don't expect there, but it is really expensive to have breakfast at there. So we just walked right next door to a Cosi for breakfast which is sooooo much cheaper (and really good). The metro is literally across the street (McPherson Square) so it's easy to get to places. The White House and the Mall are really easy walks. It's also easy to walk to from Metro Center metro stop if you are coming in from Union Station and don't want to transfer metro lines. Not a lot of food choices around though for dinner so be prepared for that. But there is a Five Guys right across the street (right next to the metro stop) if you are in a pinch.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
It sounds like you were able to use our location to see a good bit of the city. We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again next time you're in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,145 - 2,151 of 2,968 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

This is excellent value forpney hotel and the loction is excellent the on on 14th with the white house walking distance and a few nice places to eat.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reywoeke4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here during our recent trip to DC. The hotel was close to most of sites and the metro station which made it easy to get around the city. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lfenn525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Thank you for the kind review. We hope to see you in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I thought this was in a great location. Right near all the attractions, restaurants...and our room was always very clean. Everyone was so friendly, Mark the doorman greeted us each day with such a warm welcome. I so recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank cece59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.

We appreciate all feedback and it is always good to hear someone say they had a great stay. I am glad to hear the location and staff, especially Mark, all helped make your stay pleasant.

Thank you once again for the review, and we hope to see you next time you're in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed here with the wife for three nights in June, good location,very clean, friendly staff, just what you would want from a hotel, well done!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the ice machine, we had some idiot using it constantly at 4am
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for the review.
I'm glad to hear that your stay in DC was pleasant and our location and staff were up to par. Thank you again for the feedback and we hope to see you again next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The Hilton Garden Inn on 14th St is a great location for a trip to Washington DC. From the airport it was $44 for the two of us using the 'Blue van' Supershuttle service which we booked ahead of our trip. The hotel is a short 10 min walk to the National Mall and the White House is 10mins max away. The area surrounding the hotel is very safe and apart from the occasional homeless guy asking for some change there were no hassles. The Metro service is less than 5mins walk at McPherson Square and we used that to get back from Arlington Cemetery. Chinatown is also around 10mins walk to the east of the hotel. We took a cab to the Capitol building and ate at a great little diner called Pete's Diner on 2nd St SE which cost $10 in a cab and saved starting the day with a 45min walk in 90degree heat. Walking from the Capitol area via Union Station and back along the Mall was a nice way to spend our first day and all very easy because of he hotel' s location.

The Garden Inn is not a super plush hotel like The Willard but as a base for a trip it's ideal. The staff are all very friendly and the reception is very efficient. We were checked-in within 5 mins of arriving and asked for a quiet room, which we got. Note that rooms ending in 24 or 25 do not have security boxes in the room and you have to use the security box at reception. These are really tiny and other than wallets or other very small items you cannot get much in them. We were in room 1425 which although it had no view (only an internal courtyard) it was also really quiet and peaceful. A good nights sleep was also had thanks to the very comfortable beds.

The hotel has a bar and restaurant which again is staffed by very friendly people. Bar staff are particularly nice. We ate in the restaurant (The Grist Mill) one evening as the reviews on Yelp were very good and we were tired after a long day in the heat. The food was surprisingly good but the restaurant seems to rush the courses too quickly. Our main course arrived before I'd finished my starter!! Personally I like a gap between course and should have said that when I ordered the food as I've read some reviews where people moan if they have to wait more than 30 seconds between courses !! The food was good and the Lamb Lollipops were especially fab !! Dinner for two with two courses and a bottle of wine was $74 which seemed OK to us. Lots of eating places close to the hotel and we would recommend the Old Ebbitt Grill on 15th St and Lincoln on Vermont Ave for it' lovely sharing plates and "buzzy" atmosphere.

We had a small problem getting our security box opened at reception as the key jammed resulting in a 10min wait. Without prompting the guy at reception gave us two days worth of free breakfasts (would have cost around $60) for the two of us because we were kept waiting. The guys all try very hard to help and make your stay a good one, and their efforts were appreciated.

We would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay for couples or families. A few things let it down such as the rather drab decor in the bar and restaurant, and the security box situation. These are minor niggles though and the staff make a great effort to make you feel welcome so overall I would definitely use the Hilton Garden Inn again.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are at the top with an "internal" view and rooms ending in 24 or 25 have no in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeeBeeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It sounds like you had a great stay in the city and I am glad to hear that our staff were friendly and our location was especially helpful. I'm glad to hear we exceeded your expectations when dealing with slight problems noted.
Thank you once again for the review. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I recently took my family to DC for vacation, and we spent 6 nights in this hotel. Almost everything about our hotel stay was positive...price was very reasonable (paid $259/nite), the staff always friendly/helpful, they served complimentary cookies and ice water every afternoon (always appreciated after walking to see the sights all morning), and best of all was the location. This hotel was right across the street from a metro stop and an easy 5 min walk to the National Mall/White House area. You couldn't ask for a more convenient location when visiting the popular monuments and smithsonians located on the Mall. There were several decent restaurants in the immediate area, including Five Guys (burgers), Potenza (Italian), Old Ebbitt Grill (burgers/seafood), etc. We used the Metro often during our week-long vacation and found it very easy to navigate.

Our room was just an average size, but very clean. The only negatives I can think of is that we had 2 beds in our room that were a bit on the small side for a family of 4. I'm not sure if our beds were double size or full, but they seemed very small for 2 adults. I wish they would put 2 queen size beds in the room as that would make sleeping much more comfortable for a family of 4. For what its worth, the small-ish beds were the only reason I didn't rate this hotel as excellent.

Overall, we were very happy with our hotel stay, and we will definitely stay here again on our next DC vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeyboy_esq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for the review about the DC downtown Hilton Garden Inn.
I am glad you and your family had a great stay and were able to see a good amount of the city. The room you stayed in did have two double-sized beds.
Thank you once again for feedback about our service and amenities. We hope to see you in the not too distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 142 in Washington DC
3,072 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,219 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown

Address: 815 14th St, NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $148 - $657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, Dc Downtown Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing