We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast Sandwich”
Review of The Brown Bag

The Brown Bag
Ranked #764 of 3,368 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: American
Neighbourhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Reviewed 28 August 2017

This place was great for a grab and go breakfast. We got egg, cheese, and bacon on a croissant. The best one we had on the whole trip, and the service was so fast. But the coffee was not great.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brooke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2017

Had a great quick Rueben sandwich here. Lots of variety. Soups, salads and sandwiches. Fairly quick service... caters to the local business crowd.

Thank Will O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

I'd never heard of this chain, but it was right next to our hotel so we tried it for breakfast. I had the breakfast sandwich and coffee and was pleased with all aspects. Staff was efficient and we were in and out quickly.

Thank Jen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erich F, Owner at The Brown Bag, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Hi Jen,

We are so happy you were able to join us during your visit! It's wonderful to hear that you were pleased with your meal and we had your food ready in a quick and timely manner. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback for us and hope you'll visit us again next time you're in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Tired of pretentious, overpriced restaurants with bad food? We had been to a couple of restaurants in the area that fit that description and just wanted a good meal. We saw the Brown Bag and decided to give it a try for breakfast. What a nice surprise!

There was a really nice selection of breakfast choices--various hot breakfasts with eggs cooked to order (plus omelets),bacon and other meats, toast, bagels, muffins and much more. Every we tried was really good and the prices were extremely reasonable.

Since we had a good experience, we told the others in our group and the next day we all went to Brown Bag for lunch. One ordered the burrito (enormous! He couldn't finish it but said it was delicious) and children and a couple of adults ordered soup and sandwiches. I had a pasta dish that was fixed to order.

Everything we had was from fresh ingredients and put together individually by the cook staff as you waited. I do highly recommend trying out the Brown Bag. I know I will definitely go there again.

Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erich F, Owner at The Brown Bag, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Hi Barbara,

Wow, thank you! We were so thrilled to read your review. It's fantastic to hear that you and your group have had such wonderful experiences with us. We are so grateful to hear your feedback and know that you were all able to enjoy such a wide variety of meals; not only different dishes, but throughout different meals during the day. We certainly strive to provide experiences just like the ones you had.

We would love to have you back again any time! Thanks so much and we hope you have a great rest of your day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

An interesting concept but works really well. I liked the way you select ingredients to eat. If your into wholesome food then give this ago

Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erich F, Owner at The Brown Bag, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Hi Rob,

Thank you! We appreciate your comments on both the food and the way we operate. It's certainly our goal to give our customers an experience they've never had before. We hope you'll join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brown Bag also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to The Brown Bag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing