We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Save
  
Ways to Experience International Spy Museum
from US$24.26
More Info
from US$59.00
More Info
from US$13.50
More Info
from US$89.95
More Info
Reviews (4,892)
Filter reviews
4,892 results
Traveller rating
1,951
1,654
826
305
156
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,951
1,654
826
305
156
Show reviews that mention
All reviews james bond cold war real spies gift shop interactive exhibits a lot of fun older kids all ages hands on activities whole family great for kids two hours three hours on display espionage gadgets identity
Filter
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 4,892 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

I totally thought this was going to be a gag, like Ripley's believe it or don't. But it wasn't. It was actually pretty cool. They had (what I think are real), spy stuff from KGB, FBI, etc. Everything is displayed with easy to understand descriptions and they even had a 007 exhibition at the end. The only drawbacks? You must book this in advance, and even then, be prepared to wait to get in. It also gets pretty crowded as you're making your way through the cramped museum, but worth checking out for sure.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank ncoutroulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2018

Hello Agent Ncoutroulis,

Thank you for sharing your intel! I am happy to see your mission was a success. As you stated the Spy Museum has the World's largest collection of Spy artifacts. Hope to Spy on you soon!

Tierra Manning
Guest Services Operative
202 393 7794
guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Took the family to visit this during a trip to DC. Very neat museum. Be prepared to wait a bit as there is ALWAYS a line (as stated by one of the workers). I was not aware you needed to “book” your time in advance so we had to wait in line. There was about a 45 minute wait (outside) the building and there is about a 20 minute line once you get inside. The line moved along pretty well as they start their tours of the main building with about 20 people at a time.

Give yourself about 2 hours to walk through the museum. Lots of cool information in there with some interactive stuff to play with (regardless of your age)! There is also a exhibit in honor of James Bond with lots of paraphernalia from his movies and various movie clips.

There are a couple of “adventures” listed in their website: Operation Spy and another scavenger hunt using GPS coordinates. You need to sign up for these ahead of time as you are assigned a timeframe for your participation...and they fill up fast. We didn’t know about signing up early so didn’t participate in these adventures but people we spoke too seemed to enjoy them. There is a Spy store attached to the museum which is where you finish the museum tour, however, you don’t have to go on the tour to visit the store. Some neat books, shirts, and gadgets for purchase.

The museum is very appropriate for teenagers as we took our 15 year old son. Be prepared for a lot of walking and standing. There is an elevator and space for wheelchairs. You are not allowed to take strollers into the museum due to space issues. They have an area to leave the strollers while in the museum.

Great time had by us and highly recommend visiting.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank CurlyRamirez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2018

Thank you for your thorough debrief. I'm so glad you enjoyed the museum! As you mentioned, spring break can be a busy time for us. We generally suggest visiting the museum when we first open between 9-10 am or two hours prior to closing between 5-6 pm to avoid peak crowds this time of year. Museum tickets are valid all day, so guests can enter and enter as much as they like once tickets are purchased. There's definitely a lot to explore in our museum. From gadgets to interactives to unique artifacts, it's one of the most extensive collections of its kind in the world! I hope you'll spy on us again soon. Thanks again for visiting.

Meredith Richard
Guest Services Operative
202 393 7794
guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Excellent, informative hands on museum. So much to interest kids and adults alike and great that you get to have a go at so many of the activities. Really underestimated how long it would take us to get round this place (took us about 3 hours), get there early to avoid the queue. Think we arrived about 9.30 am and got straight in, by lunch time the queue was immense. Fantastic shop full of gadgets and gizmos. really loved this place and would definitely recommend, it's pricey but worth it.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank JosieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2018

I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit! As you mentioned, our museum features numerous hands-on activities to help bring the world of espionage to life. There's definitely a little spy in all of us! Spring break can be a busy time for us so we do recommend visiting when we first open (around 9-10am) or two hours prior to closing (5-6pm) to avoid peak crowds this time of year. I hope you'll join us for another mission in the future!

Guest Services Operative
202 393 7794
guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

What a fun museum. We learned a lot and even though it was quite crowded we did feel we had ample opportunity to look at the plentiful displays. This museum does a great job of presenting all aspects of espionage and has so many real life artifacts to share as well. I didn’t know that much about spying but now that I e visited I feel as though I know much more.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Thegoodegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2018

Hello Agent Thegoodegg,

Thank you for sharing your intel! I am happy to see you completed and had a successful mission. The Spy museum has the largest collection of Spy artifacts and our mission is to educate the public in an engaging manner. Hope to Spy on You Soon!

Tierra Manning
Guest Services Operative
202 393 7794
guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

We did the spy activity. It was fun to do something differently interactive with the kids.

The museum was awesome too. It wasn't that busy while we were there. If it had been, could have been a problem as the museum is more tight and closely spaced that the Smithsonian's. Interesting place with great info. Recommended.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Roadtripgal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpyMuseumManager, Guest Relations Manager at International Spy Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2018

Congrats on a successful mission! I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed your visit.
As you pointed out, our goal to bring the world of espionage to life through our unique exhibits and activities. After all, the best way to learn about spying is to try the tradecraft for yourself! I hope you'll spy on us again soon...

Meredith Richard
Guest Services Operative
202 393 7794
guestdebriefing@spymuseum.org

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews