We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Mandarin OrientalUS$296
Booking.comUS$296
PricelineUS$296
Hotels.comUS$296
TravelocityUS$296
Lol.travelUS$411
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,550)
Filter reviews
2,550 results
Traveller rating
1,657
516
203
111
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,657
516
203
111
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jefferson memorial tidal basin empress lounge room service turn down service club level beautiful hotel train tracks luxury hotel in room dining national mall four seasons cherry blossoms smithsonian museums fitness center valet parking spa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 2,550 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2021 via mobile

I am a huge fan of the Mandarin Oriental Spa (the best in DC!), but had never stayed the night at this luxury hotel. When my husband and I needed a break from the kids, I decided to give it a try.

Upon arrival, the Valet was friendly and the hotel appeared to have Covid-19 protocols in place (checking temperatures, encouraging social distancing, plastic screens at the Front Desk, hand sanitizer everywhere).

At check-in, the Front Desk was friendly, particularly to our dog, but we were not extended an upgrade as part of the Fine Hotels & Resorts program - even though rooms with a water view were available. After going upstairs to our room, I called the Front Desk to inquire about this; I was told that she would check on it and call me right back. She never returned my call.

For $655/night, I hoped for and expected better service. I am extremely disappointed, and will take my business elsewhere in the future.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank whitneycjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin Oriental Washington DC, Guest Services / Front Office at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2021

Dear Ms. Johnson,

Thank you for staying with Mandarin Oriental. I know you were disappointed about not receiving an upgrade but we were fully committed for the weekend and couldn't accommodate your request. If you decide to come back, we will make sure that you have a perfect experience.

Sincerely,

Michael Deltette
Director of Guest Experience and Quality Assurance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 13, 2021 via mobile

Treated my husband to surprise Birthday getaway at Mandarin Oriental in Washington DC. The property is beautiful and the staff very friendly and professional. Saida at the front desk, was especially helpful in securing a wonderfully appointed bedroom suite with water view; and arranged for champagne and fresh macaroons as a surprise for my husband. Mr Shibiya, director of rooms, and Malik were also very gracious and ensured we had a wonderful stay. We enjoyed high tea in our room and the variety and quantity of the teas and savory foods and special made sweets was impressive We will definitely visit again.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank shannongF9100KN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin Oriental Washington DC, Guest Services / Front Office at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2021

Thank you very much for choosing Mandarin Oriental for your celebration. We are delighted that we were part your special event and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Be well!

Michael Deltette
Director of Guest Experience and Quality Assurance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2021 via mobile

We had to visit D.C. for an appointment with the Brazilian consulate. Because we drove from Ohio, we needed a place to spend the night. We took the kids with us.

We had a wonderful stay at the Mandarin Oriental. From the vallet’s welcome to the bell captain’s friendliness, to the front desk welcoming registration, and the pool managers, every encounter we had with the hotel’s staff was nothing short of magnificent! We were very appreciative of the room upgrade we received; the kids LOVED the little stuffed pandas they each received! The room was spotless and very comfortable. The soaker tub, a plus! Our view to the Wharf was also lovely. We were grateful that they were still operating the pool using a reservation system: we had the whole place just for us because of that.

The M.O. is located in a premium spot, and a short walk is all that it takes to arrive at all of the sight seeing attractions in the Natl. Mall area. We are planning to visit this superb hotel again, maybe in the summer time, when we can enjoy it for at least a few days and, hopefully, with some of the health restrictions lifted.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank rodrigovasconcelosbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin Oriental Washington DC, Guest Services / Front Office at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2021

Dear Vasconcelos Family,

Thank you very much for the PERFECT score. It was lovely having you at Mandarin Oriental and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Hopefully, it will be for a longer vacation next time.

Be well and take care!

Michael Deltette
Director of Guest Experience and Quality Assurance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2021

We had a wonderful staycation at MO DC to welcome 2021. The view from our corner room is amazing - overlooking the entire Tidal Basin and Jefferson Memorial. Afternoon tea was prepared and served in a dedicate way. Amenities included in our package were all great. Staff were very responsive to our requests. Special shout-out to the front-desk team (we talked to Justin and Cristina) for handling our inquiries before and post stay in an attentive and efficient way. Will recommend to those who are looking for a local escape and/or are simply visiting DC.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank jessicafl0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin Oriental Washington DC, Guest Services / Front Office at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2021

Dear Jessica,

Thank you for choosing Mandarin Oriental and for the PERFECT SCORE. We are delighted that you had a great experience and we hope to see you again soon.

Thank you as well for recommending us to your friends!

Stay safe,

Michael Deltette
Director of Guest Experience and Quality Assurance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2020

After 9 months of laying low in our house, with our 2 and 5 year old's, we needed a change of scenery with a pool. After extensive research, we were so fortunate to have discovered the Mandarin Oriental in Washington DC.

As a platinum member of rewards programs at two competitors, neither advertised such extensive COVID preventative measures to care for the safety of its guests. We really appreciated the room being vacant for at least 48 hours before arrival. We read a review about this property on Conde Nast Traveler from August 2020 and had several calls with Saida at the front desk, who was amazing! She took over an hour answering our questions, assuring that every request we had could be accommodated (from extra deep cleanings beforehand, reserving private pool sessions, to discussing all the training measures by the staff to assure our level of comfort)

We arrived, after a 4 hour drive, welcomed by incredible service, panda bears for our kids, hot towel service, beverage upon arrival, early check in, upgraded room with welcome amenities, and a balcony for that extra airing out of the room. We did a few room service meals, presentations incredible, every dish in shrink wrap, contactless service, etc. Melissa in the Spa Staff at the pool, made our kids so happy, catering to all their needs (finding pool toys of their favorite colors, and coloring books for the car ride home).

We are already planning our next visit for Jan/Feb 2021. The Mandarin Oriental team has just earned a new long term customer, one who plans to visit again soon (next time hopefully for a few nights)

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AdamNYC34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin Oriental Washington DC, Guest Services / Front Office at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2021

Dear Jason,

Thank you for staying with Mandarin Oriental and for the 5-star review. It was lovely meeting you and we are all delighted that you had a good visit. We pay very close attention to our COVID through our WeCare program and it is good to know that we made you feel safe while at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in January and February.

Happy New Year!

Michael Deltette
Director of Guest Experience and Quality Assurance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews