We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Browsing through books and a Backyard Cafe”

Kramerbooks & Afterwords Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Kramerbooks & Afterwords Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #67 of 3,368 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Washington's only full-service restaurant and complete bar combined with an independent bookstore, located at the Dupont Metro Q Street station, Kramerbooks & Afterwords Cafe serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and weekend brunch; open early and late seven days a week, 24 hours Fridays and Saturdays, offering the full, widely varied dinner menu until closing time, as well as cocktails, coffee drinks and fabulous desserts.
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Rows of books and a pleasant plus... backyard cafe. The brunch menu was so filling. Service was good. The price is a bit pricey but the portion makes up for it!

Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin O, Guest Relations Manager at Kramerbooks & Afterwords Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Hello,

We are glad that you had a positive experience. Thank you for your review. If you have any other information about your experience or suggestions on how to make our overall brunch experience worth the price for the future, please feel free to email us at justino@kramers.com

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 50 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Good omelet. Generous servings. Nice fresh seasonal fruit. Diverse local and tourist clientele. Good value. I'd come back. Joined to a little independent bookstore.

Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin O, Guest Relations Manager at Kramerbooks & Afterwords Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Hello Rebecca,

We are glad that you had a positive experience. Thank you for your wonderful review. If you have any other information about your experience or suggestions, please feel free to email us at justino@kramers.com

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

I arrived part of a party of 5. The restraunt was not crowed at 9:30 on a Monday morning. We all ordered mushroom omelettes. My order was forgotten and had to wait an additional 7 minutes to eat after everyone in my party had received their meal. Sorry was all that was said. Poor service. Don't recommend to anyone.

1  Thank Jack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin O, Guest Relations Manager at Kramerbooks & Afterwords Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Hello Jack,

Thank you for the feedback. We apologize for your experience. Please contact us directly at justino@kramers.com to discuss this matter further. It would be very helpful to receive additional information specifically date and time.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

We wanted a diner type breakfast - pancakes etc - Kramerbooks supplied that breakfast in great style but in a bookshop! Lovely. We sat on the little terrace outside which is on a fairly side busy street. Service was a little slow but we weren't in a hurry and the food was worth the wait.

Thank sibellius2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin O, Guest Relations Manager at Kramerbooks & Afterwords Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Hello,

We are glad that you enjoyed breakfast with us. Thank you for the 5-star review! If you have any other information about your experience or suggestions, please feel free to email us at justino@kramers.com

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

well...the bookstore has little room to navigate...but the book selection on local books is fantastic...surprisingly good...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hemantphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin O, Guest Relations Manager at Kramerbooks & Afterwords Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Hello,

We are glad that you appreciate our local book selection. Thanks you for the layout feedback. If you have any other information about your experience or suggestions, please feel free to email us at justino@kramers.com

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kramerbooks & Afterwords Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Kramerbooks & Afterwords Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing