We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Charming Italian Restaurant”
Review of Ristorante Piccolo

Ristorante Piccolo
Reserve with OpenTable
Ristorante Piccolo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #290 of 3,463 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: US$22 - US$22
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: M Street
Transit: Arriving every ten minutes, from 7 a.m. to midnight everyday, the red, black, and yellow-striped Circulator bus. Get to and from Georgetown via M Street and Pennsylvania Avenue, NW. $1. Blue Georgetown Metro Connector bus picks up from Dupont Cir & Rosslyn Metro to M Street in Georgetown. We are near the corner of 31st and M Streets.
Description: Ristorante Piccolo in Washington, D.C. Is an award winning romantic Italian restaurant popular for first dates & marriage proposals. Ristorante Piccolo offers lively, fresh and season rustic Italian fare, with hand rolled pastas, exquisite meats, fresh fish and seafood dishes, daily specials and enticing desserts. Not to be missed is our 2008 Taste of Georgetown winning entree of hand-rolled porcini stuffed agnolotti in a fresh sage and butter sauce, or our Nodino di Vitello all' Piccolo-a 14oz veal chop marinated for 48 hours in our special sauce and pan-seared to order, served on a bed of saffron risotto with seasonal vegetables. We offer both private and semi-private dining space, as well as full restaurant buyouts perfect for any special occasion. Sign up today for our email list to receive news about special events, offers and to find out how to receive a complimentary glass of house wine. For one of the best seats in historic Georgetown and a warm-hearted atmosphere and cuisine that matches the spirit of Italy, visit us for lunch or dinner today.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good thing we didn't listen to the hostess and wait outside in the cold for 45 mins. When she stepped away we and several other parties went in to inquire about tables and were promptly seated. The waiters were all very friendly and accommodating. The food was delicious, I had a fruite de mar risotto that was delicious! The strolling violinist lingered a little too long for our taste, but otherwise, all very charming and delicious.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tami K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony K, Owner at Ristorante Piccolo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the review, Tami! We are glad you were able to get a seat quickly once inside, and that you enjoyed the food and service. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2018

A very nice italian restaurant in Georgetown near Blues Alley. Service was friendly and efficient. There was a strolling violin to provide more ambience. A little pricey but not outrageous,. I had the rissotto with braised ribs which was very good. The bruschetta was good but not spectacular. The tiramisu desert again, was good but not spectacular.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank charliespal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony K, Owner at Ristorante Piccolo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the service, food and our wonderful violinist. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

We stopped into Ristorante Piccolo for an early dinner on a recent trip to Georgetown. They had an excellent Happy Hour dinner special. The food was great, the service was excellent and enjoyed talking to the GM Frankie. Stop by and say hi to him next time in Georgetown.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony K, Owner at Ristorante Piccolo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for leaving such a great review, Stuart! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us, particularly our Happy Hour Dinner Menu, the food and service! Frankie is a great part of our team, and we will pass on your kind words to him. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

We ate at Ristorante Piccolo after a movie in Georgetown. We asked for a quiet area so we could talk and were escorted to a charming room upstairs. The staff was attentive and the food reminded us of times in Italy. It's just off M St., very convenient.

Thank kaydc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony K, Owner at Ristorante Piccolo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thanks for leaving us a great review! We are so happy you enjoyed our upstairs dining space, the service and the food. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

Grossly overpriced for mediocre food. The “ambience” in the rear section (which is most of the restaurant) consists of tightly-crowded tables, red colors everwhere, and a violinist (whose playing was competent but just overbearing in the small space).

A veal dish had very little veal, maybe 100 grams, and a huge pile of boiled spaghetti. When I asked for a “pasta that has some taste”, after 8 minutes I was given a new bowl of almost the same thing.

My bill for one person (wine and tip included) came to US$ 60. It wasn’t worth US$ 15.

1  Thank MannyG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Piccolo also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Piccolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing