We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 a.m. - 11:59 p.m.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Washington DC
from US$43.00
More Info
from US$13.50
More Info
from US$24.26
More Info
from US$13.50
More Info
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
24
43
37
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
43
37
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tidal basin founding fathers important historical figures nice statue across the street united states under construction national mall virginia rights author fountain constitution declaration memorial fdr tourists
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 108 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2017 via mobile

At a tangent off the trail around the tidal basin, this memorial is quieter than most and inviting for a calm observation, almost romantic.

Like other memorials in the National Mall, it is well kept and has a pleasant overall design.

Though I wouldn't really recommend going all the way here just for this memorial, it is easy to combine it with the Jefferson and/or the Roosevelt Memorial.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Jydeoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2017

This was marked as a "To Do" for us as we walked around from the JFK Memorial to Jefferson Memorial, and yet it felt like most people didn't take the time to visit this one.

A Very cool statue and photo moment with him sitting on the seat - it feels like the city itself has forgotten about him with no water fountain or feature. I think an extra 5-10 min in calling in this Memorial is a worthwhile attraction when visiting Washington.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Davidwazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2017 via mobile

Facinating❣My boyfriend and I decided to just up and go on a long weekend. It was wonderful we actually went for memorial weekend they were is a lot to do.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank kitshalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2017

The George Mason memorial is really close to the Jefferson Memorial, but it's tucked away just off the major roadway. It's actually worth walking on back there, although when we visited we had the place entirely to ourselves. It seems that it's a pretty low-trafficked memorial. I guess when you choose not to sign the Constitution, this is your penance.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank RunrDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2017 via mobile

Memorial to a founding father whose contribution to our country like his memorial overlooked. Close to Jefferson Memorial construction around the memorial when we visited. I I hope they upgrade the grounds around the memorial. Jefferson called him a mentor and Washington said he was the smartest man of his generation.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Va5traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews