We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good brunch spot ”
Review of Firefly

Firefly
Reserve with OpenTable
Firefly is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #136 of 3,369 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Dupont Circle
Cross street: N Street
Transit: Metro: We are closest to the Dupont Circle Metro Stop, which is on the Red Line. Exit via the Q street exit. At street level, walk south on 20th Street for 4 blocks. Make a right. We are just past the orange awning on the right. We are located on New Hampshire Ave. NW, two blocks south of Dupont Circle, between N and 20th St.
Description: Firefly, the quintessential urban neighborhood restaurant, offers contemporary American comfort food to the city's many 'regulars' who dine out several times a week. Enjoy favorites like our matzoh ball soup, mini pot roast and a variety of 'Urban Picnics' to share...or not. We also have many seafood and some vegetarian options. The menu is designed to utilize products from our local farms and farmers. Hand-picked to compliment the cuisine, our award-winning wine list shows an affinity for small winemakers and producers and our seasonal specialty cocktail menu offers a bevy of unique libations.
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

Loved the decor; huge tree trunk at center of restaurant, exposed wood all around. Ceiling design is interesting too. I had the corned beef hash, very tasty. My husband had the D.C. scramble was good too. I would have given firefly a 5-star but for the fact that the waitress brought bread for the table after the food, poor timing.

Thank Eve212015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew B, General Manager at Firefly, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you, Eve212015, for your fantastic review and rating. I am sorry we missed the mark on bread service, but glad that you found the overall experience and atmosphere to be enjoyable. I hope that you join us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2017

My wife and I had a fabulous brunch to cap off a night away celebrating our anniversary. I had the lemon ricotta pancakes while my wife had the fried oyster salad and both were excellent, especially when accompanied by a carafe of mimosas! Highly recommended!

Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew B, General Manager at Firefly, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you, Simon C, for your kind words and awesome rating! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience so much. We hope that you don't wait a year to celebrate our brunch again... Please join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Decided mid-morning to go to brunch and was able to reserve a table (just in case!) two hours out. Love the style and atmosphere, and that it feels like part of the neighborhood. My second brunch visit here, and the mimosas were just right. Lemon ricotta pancakes for me this time (with Earl Grey creme fraiche!) but I had a few bites of my companion's corned beef hash too. Both excellent! Had the shrimp & grits last time. Next time: french toast with caramelized banana. All so good! And those mimosas! Excellent friendly service and a welcoming atmosphere. Well done, Kimpton.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank r0zlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew B, General Manager at Firefly, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thank you, r0zlyn, for your awesome review and rating! We are more than thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your experience with us in Firefly. We look forward to having you back again soon. By the way, keep an eye out for our new brunch menu. It will be rolling out on July 22nd, so come in and get your french toast before it disappears!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

We stopped in here for brunch on a recent Sunday, and weren't disappointed. Despite the apparently rather crazy DC pricing, the prices here seemed entirely reasonable. We got some delicious, warm bread to start, and then I got the french toast with caramelized bananas and walnuts. Really quite good. None of us had room for dessert, but we did opt for some port to round out the meal, which they offered a nice selection of. Never felt like we were being rushed, service was great, and the food was quite good. Would return!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ckassotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew B, General Manager at Firefly, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Thank you, ckassotis, for your kind words and wonderful rating! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us at Firefly. We would love to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

We wanted a place close to where we staying in DuPont Circle. We walked and they seated us right away(we did have reservations ). Respsive staff, food was good but seemed a little pricey( although this may be how it is in D.C.).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew B, General Manager at Firefly, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Thank you, Suzanne F., for your awesome review and rating! We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope that the next time you are in DC, you will remember us in Dupont.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Firefly also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Firefly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing