We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Ranked #49 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My husband and I drove down to do a little sightseeing last week and stayed at this hotel. It was very nice and only about a block from Chinatown. Lots of restaurants close by and a very nice area. I don't think I've ever been to a cleaner city!! We walked everywhere from the hotel. Granted my feet did feel like they were going to fall off but that's more because we were trying to see everything in a day!! Walked as far as the Lincoln Memorial which would have taken about 20 minutes if we had walked straight there!! Awesome trip!! Very nice, comfortable hotel. A little construction noises in the morning, but there is construction going on all over the city so I'm sure it would have been heard anywhere!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bfglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear bfgleason,

Thank you for your great review. I am glad to read that you and your husband enjoyed the hotel as well as the local area. We hope the next time you travel to Washington DC you choose to stay at the Hampton Inn again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    630
    161
    47
    29
See reviews for
636
311
81
498
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This Hotel is pretty nice. The rates are very reasonable for what you get in the area. You are also getting a breakfast which is great when traveling with a family. The breakfast was decent. It had a hot item every day, such as an egg, a meat (ham or Bacon) and sometimes biscuts or French Toast Sticks. They also had two waffle makers. You also will have some cereals, yogurts, oatmeal, fruit salad, and assorted bagels, dounuts, muffins and danishes. The eating area is fairly sized and we had no problem getting a table. The pool was also very nice and kept clean along with a hot tub that can accomadate a dozen people. The only thing I didnt like was that the ceiling tile above the hottub was turning green, possibly mold. Hopefully management will read this and take care of this. Otherwise the area is well kept. It also has an adjoining gym which was pretty well stocked and overlooks the pool which was great to keep an eye on my kids. This Hotel charges for parking, $35 a day, the car is kept underneath the hotel in a very secure area. This is a city so you will pay for parking at most hotels in the arean unless you stay far from the attractions. This will force you to drive every day and pay for parking anyway at a parking garage. Some reviewers complained about work being done at the hotel. It looks like they are renovating entire floors one time. When I was their they were renovating all the rooms on the 2nd floor. This appeared to be going on only during the day. I would suggest calling ahead of your stay and making sure your room is at least 2 floors above any work(this hotel has 13 floors). You will not notice a thing unless you get off the floor the work is being done on. The Hotel itself is about one block away from the chinatown area. It is about a fifteen to twenty minute walk to Smithsonian museums and the capitol and about a twenty five minute walk to the Washington Monument and the Lincoln Memorial. I walked it every day. and loved the exercise. If you want to get closer you will proably pay a lot more. The rooms themselves are up to date, The beds are very comfortable. The room has free Wifi which worked very well. I would definitely consider this place again,

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueensMarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear QueensMarine,

Thank you for the review of the Hampton Inn Washington DC Downtown. It is great to read you enjoyed the breakfast, wifi, pool area, and that you were glad that we have secured parking. We hope you choose to stay with us the next time you travel to Washington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

As far as Downtown as DC hotel prices go, for location and amenities, you can't beat this hotel.

Staff was friendly enough, typical clean Hampton room, and the breakfast was more than expected (and included in the price of the room). Breakfast staff was particularly friendly, helpful, and efficient.

The location is a 10-20 minute walk from the National Mall museums or White House and just on the edge of Chinatown/Downtown. Easy, cheap ($1) bus ride (Circulator stop is a half block away) to Georgetown.

We traveled with our two small kids. Read some weird comments here on the surrounding area. Neighborhood is just fine, no worries at all - same atmosphere you find in every big city.

As previous reviewer said, the pool is not heated, but our kids still wanted to swim. The water was cold though.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear John127,

Thank you for the good review of the Hampton Inn Washington DC. I am pleased to read you enjoyed the staff, cleanliness, and breakfast. We hope to see you the next time you travel to Washington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Really good customer service, and in a good location. Breakfast was okay, but the hot items were less than impressive and the oatmeal was undercooked half of the time during my 12 night stay. The most disappointing aspect was the pool. I stayed in this hotel when it opened and was disappointed because the pool wasn't heated, but I figured it was just overlooked as there was so much chaos during an opening. But now years later the pool still wasn't heated. I did complain, and then checked a few days later and they had evidently turned a heater on, but the temperature of the pool couldn't have been 60 degrees even then. I swim in 70 degree water every day, but I ended up skipping my daily swim while staying at this Hampton because of the temperature of the water. A friend of mine was staying in another Hilton property over on First St NE and indicated the water in that pool was heated so I will probably try that hotel next time.

Room Tip: Pretty noisy from traffic if you have windows on Massachusetts or 6th so ask for a room that doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23wearytraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear 23wearytraveler23,

Thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn Washington Downtown Convention Center. I am glad to read you enjoyed the customer service provided to you by our team. I am sorry to hear about your disappointment with the pool area. We have adjusted the heater properly as well as installed a thermometer to show the water temperature. I hope you will give us another chance the next time you visit Washington DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Plains
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed here during the Girls' travel volleyball tournament over Presidents' Day weekend. Relatively inexpensive for downtown DC. 5 minute (2 block) walk to the Convention Center. It could not have been easier! There was some renovation on floors 2 & 3 (swimming pool and gym areas, but we were on the 11th floor so there was no issue at all. Beds were reliably superb Hampton Inn beds/covers/pillows. Next best thing to my Tempurpedic at home!!! Complimentary breakfast was as good as I've seen at any Hampton...and they are all better than the rest...just one more reason I stay at Hampton whenever possible. The only downside was the cost of valet parking. Nearby private lots varied from $10 - $20 per day....the hotel was ~$35/day valet. But the car was fairly well secured...no worries about anything unsavory happening. A small price to pay for peace of mind.

Room Tip: Higher is better with the lower floor renovation. The elevators are quick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shizuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Shizuka,

Thank you for your nice comments regarding you stay with us. I am glad that you had a good night sleep on our beds and enjoyed the breakfast as well. We hope the next time you travel to Washington you choose to stay at the Hampton Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Our family - two adults, two boys - stayed in DC for four nights for some museum hopping. We are not demanding travelers. We want to stay somewhere that is reasonably close to attractions, that is clean, comfortable, and preferably with queen beds (since the boys bunk together when we stay in hotels). When we aren't planning to spend a lot of time in the room, we do not require high-end accommodations. This Hampton Inn fit the bill perfectly for us and the great free breakfast buffet and in-room wi-fi were major bonuses. The location was an easy fifteen minute walk from the Mall and other attractions (we walked to the Lincoln & Jefferson Memorials which are a bit further out, but cabbed it back). There are plenty of restaurants in easy walking distance - a particular fave was Busboys & Poets, which is around the corner. The front desk staff and concierges were always extremely friendly when we came and went. (They also kept all our luggage for us on our last day, when we went out for a few last hours of sightseeing after checkout.) The room wasn't huge, but we were basically only there in the evenings after dinner so it didn't matter. Unlike a previous reviewer, I neither saw nor heard any signs of renovation at the hotel - though much of the city and the Mall was under construction! Anyway, I highly recommend this Inn - I booked it based upon other good reviews, and I'm happy to add mine!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Decatur_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear, Decatur_mom,

Thank you for the great review of the Hampton Inn Washington DC Downtown. I am very pleased to read you and your family enjoyed the breakfast, local area, and most of all the staff. I will share your comments with the team and we hope to see you the next time you are traveling to Washington DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I Checked in and was not hold there was active renovation. There is constent hammering, which sounds like someone is knocking hard on the door. I can't sleep, and have an early business meeting. Nice hotel, but AVOID until renovations are completed.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JusWannaCleanRm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear JusWannaCleanRm,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the hammering. We were enhancing the hotel with new guestroom carpet and hallway carpet. I will personally reach out to you to make this right. The carpet installation has been completed and we hope that you will give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#67 of 141 in Washington DC
801 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#35 of 141 in Washington DC
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Address: 901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001-2520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 13 story hotel offers 228 rooms/suites complemented by public facilities which include a newly renovated lobby and breakfast area, a new bar, as well as a business center, guest laundry facility, suite shop, fitness center, meeting rooms, indoor pool with spa and valet parking garage. Each guestroom is finely appointed in a contemporary design with upscale touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing