We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,023)
Filter reviews
2,023 results
Traveller rating
943
682
228
106
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
943
682
228
106
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews convention center m club high velocity anthem restaurant atrium view the concierge lounge room service beautiful hotel lobby bar huge hotel platinum member attending a conference conference hotel free weights beautiful lobby rooms are nice national mall
Filter
Updating list...
460 - 465 of 2,023 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2017

The physical plant of the hotel is decent enough, and its location near the convention center is fine. The hotel, however, is way overpriced and the customer service is terrible. The floor of our room was smeared with chocolate in places and the toilet wasn't flushed when we checked in. In addition it is really difficult to get a hold of staff. I was promised 10000 Rewards points to make up for my poor experience but have not received them. As a Marriott Rewards Platinum Member I am disappointed and will not be staying here again.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gaurav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded May 19, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey in regards to your recent stay at the Marriott Marquis Washington, DC.

As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the cleanliness issues you had during your stay. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team to ensure that this was an isolated issue.

Upholding my commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, I would like to offer you not only the 10,000 Marriott Reward Points you were offered but and additional 10,000 for your next stay. Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to Washington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2017

THis is a very large hotel right next door to the convention center. We were there because my husband was at a conference and I tagged along. The king room was large and lovely as Marriott's can be trusted to be. (Although I was surprised to find a tear in our bed covers.) The location is just perfect to exploring the city. Walk to the smithsonian mall, the capitol, museums, union station and lots of restaraunts and stores. There is a loading and unloading circle in front. Parking is expensive and by the day, in an underground garage. If you come by train, it is a short uber drive. If you have no luggage, it is an easy walk. Come by plane? The metro is not too far.
I recommend.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panama2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded May 26, 2017

Dear panama2000;

We're so glad to hear that your stay here at the Marquis was so fantastic! We're sorry to hear about the bed cover--rest assured we'll be passing your feedback along to our teams to prevent further issues. We're also glad to know that our location was highly convenient during your trip. We did locate our hotel for easy use and we're glad to know this consideration counts. We hope to see you again in the future as you continue to travel brilliantly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2017

I have stayed at the Marriott Marquis a couple of times now, and it is very nice. The rooms are clean, and about average size for DC. The conference center staff was wonderful, and took care of all of our needs. Clara responded quickly and professionally to every request.

Room tip: Try to get a room that does not open onto the atrium.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank COexec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded May 26, 2017

Dear COexec;

We're so glad to hear that your stay with us was so fantastic! Our convention staff does understand the importance of the little details, and we're so happy to hear that Clara took such good care of you while you were at the Marquis! We hope to see you again soon as you continue to travel brilliantly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2017

-Upon arrival, the valet is simple and effortless. The overhang and outdoor seating provides a great space to mingle and wait for an Uber/Lyft.
-The lobby is open and airy. Starbucks and the lounge was a plus. At night the interior of the triangular layout changes colors in a neat pattern and is worth a look from above.
-Ask if you can have one of the rooms on the exterior with a window that bumps out. It gives you extra space and a fabulous platform for people watching.
-The keys worked great, the room was clean and check in was a breeze.
-Don't forget to use the backdoor, its not bustling as the front.
TIP
-become a Marriott member, use your account number to gain free wifi. BOOM

Room tip: Ask for exterior with a window that bumps out. You can see it if you look at the facade. It offers more room.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaneSellsSeashells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded May 26, 2017

Dear ShaneSellsSeashells;

We're so glad to know that you had such a stupendous stay while staying with us! When designing the hotel, the comfort and accessibility of our guests was taken into great consideration, and we're glad to know that this has certainly paid off! We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again in the future as you continue to travel brilliantly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2017 via mobile

Had a pleasant stay here as we spent the weekend sight seeing and went everywhere by foot.
Great rooms and awesome room service with the best chocolate cake I ever had !
The club lounge puts out a great breakfast .

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LAPIZZERIAOGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded May 26, 2017

Dear LAPIZZERIAOGT;

We're so glad to hear that your stay at the Marquis was so splendid! We're also glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our full range of amenities, and that our location was convenient for your trip. We hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again in the future as you continue to travel brilliantly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews