We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location and quite comfortable too:)”
Review of AKA White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AKA White House
Ranked #40 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2012

8 easy transportation days due to the location near 2 Metro stops. 7 restful nights too. The 2 bd was modern, clean and well equipped. The roof top area was perfect for a relaxing conversation out doors just steps away. We had very little interaction with the staff, but each encounter was professional and helpful. Thank you to all of you at AKA, we will most certainly stay here again :) Only recommendation for coffee drinkers; The coffee maker provided is nice and programmable for a fresh, hot morning cup, but you need to bring your coffee, filters and fixings unless you want to go downstairs before caffeinating. :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenda_Pittard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Thank you for your feedback! Our number one priority is your satisfaction, and we are thrilled you enjoyed suite amenities during your stay. Our fully furnished suites provide outstanding luxury accommodations to fit our residents needs. We pride ourselves in our 24/7 concierge services, and our Guest Services team is available to provide anything our guests and residents require. Regarding coffee, we do have complimentary initial starter kits located at the front desk that include everything one might need for a short stay or begin their long-term stay with AKA White House. Additionally, we offer complimentary coffee in a. lounge every morning Monday – Friday. When in need of any extra groceries, please don't hesitate to contact the front desk and we can happily arrange for coffee to be delivered up to your suite, or help arrange grocery delivery services at anytime. Thank you so much for the positive feedback and we look forward to your next lodging experience with us at AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (752)
There are newer reviews for AKA White House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

584 - 590 of 752 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2012

I just spent 3 weeks in a 1 BR suite at the AKA Whitehouse and found it to be well-outfitted and comfortable. You have your own full kitchen (with full-size fridge, stove & oven, microwave, dishwasher and kitchen necessities) opening onto the spacious living room with breakfast bar seating. A half bath and washer/dryer opening off the entrance hall are nice features, and the bedroom suite is very comfortable (great linens, pillows and mattress!) with a huge walk-in closet and ensuite bath.

The central location is good, within walking distance to the metro, and taxis are always coming by out front so you never have to wait. There are coffee shops and restaurants within close walking distance, but finding a grocery store to stock up on supplies requires going farther away which is a small hassle but typical of DC. There is a nice bar on the ground floor but no restaurant or snack bar, which is a slight inconvenience. For extended stays there is once a week maid service.

The staff is friendly and helpful, but they tend to be short staffed on evening shifts so anything requiring extra help, housekeeping or maintenance in the evening can be delayed.

I'd definitely stay at the AKA Whitehouse again but make sure I stock up well at a grocery store before checking in.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisakclayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

We greatly appreciate your time, and positive feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed your suite and amenities. With a fully furnished kitchen, residents have the luxury of preparing home cooked meals in the comfort of their own suite. Our rooms were designed to provide outstanding luxury accommodations while exceeding our residents expectations, and we are so glad your experience was as such. With AKA White House being centrally located to many wonderful restaurants, attractions, and cultural sites, residents and guests alike have the opportunity to experience Washington, D.C. to its full potential. When in search of grocery stores, Whole Foods and Trader Joe's, which are both in the Foggy Bottom neighborhood, are great options. If traveling presents issue, our Guest Services team is available 24/7, and can arrange PeaPod grocery delivery services at any time. If your suite requires any extra servicing, please contact the Front Desk to arrange these requests at anytime, to ensure immediate resolution. Your feedback is the key to our growth as the premier luxury serviced residence in Washington, DC and we thank you for providing us with such. We look forward to your next stay with us at AKA White House!

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

AKA is not a standard hotel but has everything you need for a long stay vacation. An apartment style suite with all the amenities of the hotel, daily maid service and a 24h reception. Its right next to the White house and all the touristic part of DC. The only thing missing would be a 24h grocery shop nearby for late snacks or very early morning breakfast. Overall it was a great stay and i recommend it.

Room Tip: Request a high floor room or at least facing H street.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Thank you so much for the great feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed your accommodations while in Washingon, D.C. We pride ourselves at AKA White House with our 24/7 concierge services, while providing an unparalleled luxury extended stay experience to our residents and guests. Upon your next stay with us, please contact us directly when booking to learn more about our concierge services. At that time, we can happily arrange for grocery delivery to ensure a fully stocked fridge at arrival. Thank you again for the great feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This was our second visit to AKA White House and we weren't disappointed. We took the 1-bedroom apartment again. Everything was just as good as the first time but the hotel was better than before because there's a bar on the ground floor. The location is good, although fairly quiet at night and over the weekend but very central, about a block from the White House. We hope to come back yet again if the chance arises?

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuppy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Thank you so much for the positive feedback! We are thrilled you enjoyed your suite upon your return to AKA! Being so close to many, wonderful things within Washington, DC., AKA White House has a location that cannot be beat. Your loyal patronage as one of our guests is greatly appreciated. Thank you so much for the comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to AKA White House.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We wanted to be close to all the touristy places in Washington and had a few hotels in mind. Cost was the biggest determining factor. The other was proximity to restaurants and subway. This fit the bill in spades. The pictures on their website is exactly what you get. Very nice well decorated rooms with lots of space.
Kitchen is nice, you get a full size stove, microwave, dishwasher and of course refridgerator. Pots and pans were included as well as cups and plates and utensils. Only thing we should have considered to bring is sponge and dishwashing liquid. Then we wouldn't have to rely on the dishwasher to clean everything. We made breakfast 3 out of the 7 days we were there. Saved us some money.
Bedroom is spacious with a flat screen tv with a blu-ray player and soft beds. I prefer firmer beds but it was comfy, can't complain. You get an ensuite bathroom and there is an additional powder room. Perfect when both of you got to go at the same time.
Our room was at the back of the building so got a nice view of an office and the garbage. Not a big deal since we weren't really there to see Washington in our room. Noise does creep in. You do hear the occasional beeping as a truck backs up and although our room isn't connected to the elevator I'm pretty sure I'm hearing the elevators go up and down. It's not really loud or annoying just faintly audible. Did not bother me at all.
Parking is awesome. Cheapest rates anywhere. We got the weekly rate which averaged out to under $20 a day. Most hotels in the area was charging $30-40????
They have a nice bar/lounge area but did not really visit it so can't comment on the service although the female bartender looked really nice. :)
They also just finished renovating the fitness room but again, did not check that out so not sure what they have.
Their rooftop Terrace was a little sad. With the lobby and the rooms all nicely decorated we expected the Terrace to be equally nice but it was just a couple of tables and lounge chairs on a concrete floor and the view (which is the same view I get in my room) is the office building and garbage area. Needless to say, we did not use it.
As others have said, it's not a real hotel so don't expect housekeeping every day. This was fine for us.
You are close to Farragut West subway stop. Probably a 5 min walk. From there you can go just about anywhere. We never used our car while we were there. The subway was too convenient.
And, of course, you're really close to the White House and Washington Monument. The White House is literally down the street from AKA. The other monuments are walkable but a little further. Smithsonian is a long walk but we took the subway.
Not sure why some people complain about proximity to restaurants from AKA. Sure, there's no inhouse restaurant so you can't just go down the elevator and get food. But, you're walking distance to a lot of restaurants. Founding Farmers, Aroma Indian Cuisine, Sichuan Pavilion, Potbelly Sandwich Shop, McDonald's, Old Ebbitt Grill, and then some.
And, yes, there's no real grocery stores in walking distance so get your groceries before you get to the hotel.
Anyways, I highly recommend this place whether for business or pleasure. It has everything you need and you can really call this your home away from home.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AsianCaucasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Thank you so much for your time and feedback! We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us at AKA White House! Our suite and property amenities were designed to create an atmosphere of luxury while providing high levels of excellence. With our newly renovated Fitness Center and Business Center, residents and guests have the opportunity to relax and work from their home away from home! When planning for groceries, our guest services team is available 24/7 and can help arrange grocery delivery at any time, to ensure a fully stocked fridge. Regarding housekeeping, reservations that are more than 1 week receive a weekly clean, once per week. When in need of extra services or toiletries, please contact the front desk at any time to schedule these requests. Additionally, at any time you are not completely satisfied with the suite location, please contact Guest Services so we may accommodate this request, per availability. It is great to hear you enjoyed the area as well! Washington, D.C. is host to many outstanding restaurants and sights, and we are so glad you had to opportunity to enjoy them. Founding Farmers, Old Ebbitt, and Aroma are all local favorites, and are excellent options regarding restaurants. Thank you so much for the positive feedback, and we look forward to your next stay with us at AKA White House!

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

The hotel : apartment style hotel with daily service, very functional, fast lifts, very modern & tasteful decor through out the hotel, big, beautiful lobby.
The location : near Whitehouse, in the business area, not many shops or restaurants.
The check-in & check-out : fast, accurate.
The breakfast : no.
The room : very big, very clean, nice kitchen, the bed is incredibly great, great decor, tasteful lighting, the air con works very well, big living room window but somehow the bedroom has no window, quiet & peaceful rooms.
The bathroom : big & functional, very clean, water pressure is great, good amenity, pretty of towels.
The staffs : capable & friendly.
The rate : very good for such a big and nice apartment.
The Internet : fast & free.
Overall : it's a very good choice for a city center hotel, great base to explore DC, I'll defenitely stay here again with this rate.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arayaBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

We appreciate your time and comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting Washington, D.C.! Our suites were designed to ensure our guests experience nothing but the best. AKA White House takes great pride in our services and amenities, and we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your suite. Your feedback is the key to our success, and we thank you so much! We look forward to welcoming you back to AKA White House and showing off our new business and fitness centers which were just completed.

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Last week I stayed for the first time at the AKA White House Hotel. Perfect! A great location. Instead of a small hotel room, it is a real suite. It is fully outfitted. One of the best experiences and values in DC I have found. A very friendly staff with a cool bar in the evenings. Great beds. I felt very comfortable and well taken care of at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Thank you for the great feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed your suite and amenities! Washington, D.C. has so many wonderful things to do, and we're thrilled you had the opportunity to enjoy them. Also great to hear you enjoyed the a.lounge! With its excellent selection of artisan cocktails and micro brews, the a.lounge is a great option when relaxing. Thank so much for the feedback, and we look forward to your next stay with us at AKA White House!

AKA White House Management
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#51 of 142 in Washington DC
499 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
3,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,290 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#23 of 142 in Washington DC
1,286 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#56 of 142 in Washington DC
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA White House

Address: 1710 H St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-4699
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $230 - $1,245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA White House 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located just two blocks from the nation’s most important residential address, as well as in close proximity to many noteworthy business and arts institutions, AKA White House features spacious one and two bedroom residences with king size beds, elegantly designed living rooms, full kitchens, spa-like baths, as well as spectacular penthouse suites with spacious terrace and outdoor dining areas. Superb amenities include a modern lounge area with stunning bar and fireplace and contemporary, comfortable seating with open views onto the streetscape; complimentary wifi; resident cinema; fitness and business center services, and a 24/7 Resident Services Team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your AKA White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka White House Hotel Washington Dc
Aka White Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing