We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Location Location Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center
Ranked #29 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
162 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Great mid price property only a 10-15 minute walk to most of the good stuff. Easy walk to White House, Mall, Spy Museum, Newseum, Chinatown, etc. Excellent hot breakfast included which helps your pocket book in this fairly expensive town. Concierge Joseph is a National Treasure. Valet Parking. Close to metro.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have a large dining table and more square footage
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,432
    913
    222
    88
    55
See reviews for
1,267
357
70
746
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We've now stayed at all 3 Embassy suites in DC and can recommend all of them. This one was the most recent. I was a little worried because this one is on the eastern side of town which is considered the "edge" by some people. We had no problems and this location is actually very close to the touristy stuff. The breakfast is excellent (which is typical for ES) and free drinks at happy hour are hard to beat. Seriously, those to things probably save you 25-35 bucks a day for each person staying (breakfast and cocktails are not cheap in cities). The breakfast selections were numerous...from hard-boiled eggs, yogurt and fruit to a full hot breakfast buffet along with made-to-order omelets. We also thought that every employee was polite and helpful. The valet parking was expensive but that's just kinda the way cities are, i guess. Can't figure a way around it. The room itself was spacious enough that when you hang out there for a while you don't have that trapped feeling. Also, they're all suites. So if one person wants to go to bed and the other wants to watch ESPN for a while, it's fine. Room was clean, had a fridge, microwave, couch, chairs, table and chairs, etc. Only downside was you could hear some noise from adjoining rooms such as running water, doors closing...wasn't terrible but the plumbing noises were pronounced. The only other thing I wish they had was some type of noisemaker; like a bathroom fan, wall fan, or something. It would help mask the noises of the city on the street below. i don't know why more hotels don't offer this feature. They need to realize that people use fans for things other than ventilation. And lastly, we've found that on weekends you can get a room at these embassy suites for two nights for about the same price as one night. Don't know why, but that's a hard deal to beat.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrbrutaltruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear mrbrutaltruth,

First I would like to thank you for such wonderful feedback! We appreciate hearing from each of our guests as this provides us the opportunity to continuously improve.

It sounds as though you are a professional Embassy Suites traveler. Whether traveling as a family, on business, or just for a quick getaway, we really do offer a fantastic value. Our breakfast buffet is expansive and a real money saver! And, who doesn’t appreciate the opportunity to unwind with a complimentary cocktail after a long day of sightseeing?

We recently completed a renovation of our guest suites and have a housekeeping team dedicated to maintaining that “brand new” feel. It is great to hear you found them to be clean and spacious, as that is what travelers have come to expect from an Embassy Suites. I will be sure to pass along the kind words to our team members.

You bring up a great point with the ambient noise issue. Being centrally located in downtown Washington, DC makes us very convenient for all types of travel, but also makes us susceptible to the types of noise that are sometimes typical in a big city. I will personally look into some options that may provide some relief.

Thanks again for your review! As a dedicated Embassy Suites traveler, I am confident we will see you again during your next visit to Washington, DC.

Best Regards,

Adam Heffron
adam.heffron@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

This hotel is clean and neat. The rooms are not as big as most Embassy Suites but they are well-equipped. Beds are awesome! No atrium like most Embassy Suites. The breakfast was not up to Embassy standards. There was a buffet and made to order omelets. The waffles were soggy and cold, the eggs were not good. We parked just around the corner for $25.00 in a new, clean garage. Location is great.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank takoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear takoh,

Thank you for being our guest! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

I am particularly pleased to hear your appreciation of our clean rooms. We recently completed a renovation and our housekeeping department has done a phenomenal job maintaining our upgraded suites.

It is unfortunate to hear you were not pleased with your breakfast options. We offer a wide array of choices in our buffet, as well as a made-to-order omelet station, so I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. Perhaps we had an off day, but I will personally look into it to be sure this experience does not happen again.

Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to Washington, DC!

Best Regards,

Adam Heffron
Adam.heffron@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

It was not cheap, but the rooms are great, breakfast excellent, the service from everyone from housekeeping, to front desk, to the restaurant was about as good as it could get. If you have a car, you will pay $38 to park. But this is a very good place. Rooms spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLDCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesHill900, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Greetings JLDCA,

Let me start by thanking you for choosing our hotel. We know you have a lot of choices here in DC and we genuinely appreciate your business. In regards to your review, amazing! I am grinning ear to ear reading about your thoughts on our hotel and service. I see you stayed with us in March and had a chance to experience our newly renovated rooms. I am delighted to see you enjoyed them. Your satisfaction is our goal and it is always great such positive feedback.

I do hope you have the chance/need to travel back to Washington DC and will come see us again. Things will start to get busy as Spring approaches, but you are welcome anytime.

Best Regards,
Charles Hill
Charles.Hill@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel for three nights on a leisure trip to DC. It is a nice looking hotel and the rooms are clean, but the walls paper thin. I could hear my next door neighbors entire conversation. That is a shame as this is a convention hotel. I would hate to end up in this place for a week long conference. The food in this hotel is not good, so go elsewhere to eat. Even the cook to order breakfast was just blah. All of the staff was really nice with the exception of the fellas making the cook to order breakfast. Even though it was included in the stay, I only ate breakfast in the hotel one morning.

It is within walking distance to the convention center. You can catch the circulator bus to Georgetown right around the corner.

Room Tip: Get a room on the even numbered side of the building and bring your ear plugs. Try to get a high flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkIceStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, ON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

I love this hotel. Rooms are big and clean. Finn and porter is an excellent restaurant. Rachel [--] is one of the best & nicest bartenders I've ever met. She goes above and beyond to make her customers happy.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcap72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Had a great time at this hotel. My trip was especially made great by Maria (cleaning staff on 5th floor) and Terry (one of the greeters)!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#43 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Upper Northwest
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy Chase Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center
Address: 900 10th Street Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001-4405
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Embassy Suites Washington Dc
Washington Dc Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing