We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Circle Guest House
Ranked #2 of 35 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2013

To celebrate our 5 year anniversary my wife and I wanted to do something a little different so I surprised her with a trip to our first Bed and Breakfast. This will not be our last visit to Embassy Circle Guest House. Not knowing what to expect we both were a little apprehensive about how our trip would turn out but this little get-away was one of the best we have had. From the moment you arrive you are made to fell welcomed by the staff! We arrived in the evening during the happy hour and were helped with our bags and settled into our room. Laura and Raymond are great hosts and take time to interact with each individual at the house. We stayed in Room 101 – Berry Kashan and the room is pretty spacious. The bathrooms are sorta small but they are functional. Our room did not have a bathtub but did have a standing shower. The room also had a nice sized closet where we were able to put our luggage in. To top it all off each room is decorated differently.

Breakfast is a great time to meet with other patrons but they also have an evening happy hour. For breakfast you will find a variety of items to choose from. Daily they have cereal, juice, fruit and things of that nature. The hot items seem to change each day. While there we enjoyed stuffed french toast and quiche. The nightly happy hours are pretty fun as you can catch up with the other patrons and find out how their day went and what sights to do the next day. While we were there they were starting to introduce wine parings which seems fun.

The location is walking distance to many restaurants and the DC Metro. If you need anything the staff tries to accommodate you so do not be shy to ask. They are full of helpful tips and information and make you feel like you are an old friend just stopping by to catch up. The location is great as you can walk around the city and see the various Embassy's in the area. We made a nightly trip to P Street and found a variety of places to eat.

Things to note...parking is limited and they recommend you park your car when you arrive. There is a fee per day for parking. Late check-in is allowed but there is a fee for late arrival.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l0v3_2_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed at Embassy Circle Guest House September 2012.
From the moment we arrived, Betty was at the front door to let us into the Guest House, she was incredibly helpful, showing us around, the facilities - dining room, kitchen, lounge and then to our room, which was impeccably furnished.
The lounge room where they have a happy hour was more than enjoyable, people from all around the world, even Australians!
The restaurants we were recommended again 100%, all in all, our time at Embassy Circle Guest House we thoroughly enjoyed, Laura and Raymond, a little late, thank you once again for your hospitality and kindness.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Australia016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

The hospitality that Laura and Raymond showed us at their wonderful home last week was outstanding. It doesn't seem right to call The Embassy a guest house, as that seems too impersonal.

The interaction with the owners and other guests was invaluable to our enjoyment of Washington. We found out where to visit, where to eat and where to drink, and enjoyed every second of our stay.

We love the US, and have always found the people to be so friendly, especially when compared to here in the UK, but you truly have raised the bar! And Raymond running us to the airport when the taxi failed to show was the icing on the cake.

We wish you all the best for the future, and will definitely return someday.

Thanks once again,

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adetuono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

As one would expect this is a clean and well appointed Guest House. However there are significant disadvantages against a fully fledged Hotel. There is not a 24 hour service or late check-in facility. Whilst the rooms are large the bedrooms lack bathtubs.
The sting in the tail is that even if you guarantee your reservation with a credit/debit card, you will be charged $40 if you check in late (Even if you inform them of your late arrival!).
Breakfast is limited. Hot pancakes are prepared but no typical American breakfast alas.
Bottom line is it is excessively expensive. Circa $300 per night which is TWICE the price of the local Marriott.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lovablelondoners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NativeWashingtonian, Owner at Embassy Circle Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

When there is a problem with your train to London and you miss your international flight from Heathrow to Dulles; when you arrive in Washington DC close to 11 PM, rather than your projected early afternoon arrival time; when you are only here for one night before moving on to another destination - we can understand how you might miss the incredible benefits of staying in a beautiful, world-class B&B. If this guest had arrived with his colleagues as scheduled, we think he would have had a very different experience. In fact, we’re sure he would have enjoyed the House, the evening wine and conversations – there was a fascinating group of international guests here that night – a great dinner at one of our recommended restaurants, a good night’s sleep, and the company and conversation of familiar people at breakfast the next morning.
We do our best to accommodate travel delays. We will make owners or staff available to check you in when you arrive – even if it is hours after we have closed our front desk for the night. There is a cost to provide this service however, and as travelers ourselves, we believe it is a cost that the traveler should anticipate and be willing to pay. When we require service that is over and above what is normally offered, or when we inconvenience our hosts and their staff, we are grateful for their help and we pay for the additional service without complaint.
And as for the Marriott, we're pretty sure the cost comparison is a little bit off – you have to add $20-$30 to the cost per night for that American breakfast. And, as our reviews indicate, our guests appreciate the many significant differences between Embassy Circle Guest House and our local chain hotels - and they prefer to stay with us.

Laura Saba
Innkeeper/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I recently had the pleasure of spending a few days at the Embassy Circle Guest House in D.C. I found this great B&B thanks to my fellow travelers on trip advisor. This is ranked the number one B&B in D.C. and it is for good reason. Firstly, the location is perfect. We took the train in and found it was an easy 15 min cab ride from Union station. The B&B itself is so stunning that pictures really don't do it justice. The neighborhood of Dupont circle is lovely and we found it safe to walk around in, even at night. There are great restaurants around and the Metro is a brief 5 minute walk away. Second, the staff at the B&B was WONDERFUL. We were greeted at the time of check in by first name, which was really nice and made us imediately feel "at home." We were told, not to worry about anything and I am happy to say we were able to take that advice! Our room was equally beautiful and clean and the private bath was a plus. We were celebrating a birthday and in the room the staff was nice enough to accomodate my request for a balloon bunch. But not only that, they went above and provided a box of chocolates and a "happy birthday" card. It really made everything that much more special. I would also like to comment that the B&B owners and staff were never intrusive and we were free to come and go as we pleased. We are a young couple, but never felt overwhelmed by being a part of the group (a wonderful group of traveler from all over the world). When we wanted to be on our own, we were free to do so knowing that when we returned there would be a smile and a brownie waiting for us (Bonus!!). On our final day, Laura handed us a gift certiicate to use on our return trip and believe me, we will be back. We were thinking of making this an annual trip and when we are in the D.C area, there is no other B&B that we would stay in. Thank you to everyone at Embassy Circle Guest House!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DivineDiva_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The Embassy Circle is a great place to stay in Washington. Laura and Raymond run a well-run guest house which is close to the Metro and some good restaurants. The morning breakfasts and evening glasses of wine are always a great time to get involved in interesting conversation and catch up on what other travelers are experiencing.
Take some time to speak to Raymond as he offers some great insight, a very interesting man. I thoroughly enjoyed chatting with him about politics, business and family.
Laura and the staff go out of their way to help you, whether it is a dinner reservation or trying to find your way around town. On the last day we were there my wife became quite ill with stomach flu. Her team was extremely helpful getting everything we needed and making sure she was taken care of.
The area itself is very interesting with the beautiful (and some not so beautiful) embassies. Take time to walk around the neighbourhood.
We found the best way to get around town to be the Metro . Buy a pass card (the staff will show you how) and just add money to it as you need it.
One great trip we did was the Moonlight Monument Tour. The Hop-On-Hop-Off tours offer it and it is a great way to see the sites. If you can, take a tripod with you to help you with your night shots.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. It is a very quite house and area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJPlums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We had hiked in the Washington Cascades, the Californian Sierras and visited many of the amazing national parks of Utah, and come mid-September we faced the shock of city life in Washington DC. After all that camping we decided to spoil ourselves by staying at the Embassy Guest House for our 2 nights and are very thankfully that we did. Laura and Raymond were fantastic hosts, the house itself was just lovely, and the other guests from all parts of the world were friendly and seemed to enjoy the house as much as we did. To cap things off the location was great being close to lots of cafes and restaurants and within walking distance of many museums and monuments (or you could easily catch the subway which was very close). It all made for truly memorable stay.
Couple from Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 55Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,383 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
1,171 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malolo Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 35 in Washington DC
350 reviews
Upper Northwest
Woodley Park Guest House
Woodley Park Guest House
#4 of 35 in Washington DC
561 reviews
Dupont Circle
Swann House
Swann House
#6 of 35 in Washington DC
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Circle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Circle Guest House

Address: 2224 R St NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-4035
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range: $234 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Circle Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our historic and elegant Washington DC bed and breakfast, steps to the metro, shops & dining in Dupont Circle. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, afternoon wine & snacks, parking & internet access at our Dupont Circle inn. Our Washington DC B&B is centrally located with easy access to the famed monuments and sights of our Nation's Capital. If you are looking for the perfect bed and breakfast in DC, look no further than Embassy Circle, a Select Registry Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Circle Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Circle Guest House Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing