We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (726)
Filter reviews
726 results
Traveller rating
694
22
7
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
694
22
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests laura raymond wonderful hosts lively conversation bed and breakfast b bs afternoon wine living room the dupont circle metro station yogurt breakfast was delicious every morning quiet street rooms are beautiful wonderful stay visit dc few blocks
Filter
Updating list...
317 - 322 of 726 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at Embassy Circle Guest House September 2012.
From the moment we arrived, Betty was at the front door to let us into the Guest House, she was incredibly helpful, showing us around, the facilities - dining room, kitchen, lounge and then to our room, which was impeccably furnished.
The lounge room where they have a happy hour was more than enjoyable, people from all around the world, even Australians!
The restaurants we were recommended again 100%, all in all, our time at Embassy Circle Guest House we thoroughly enjoyed, Laura and Raymond, a little late, thank you once again for your hospitality and kindness.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Australia016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The hospitality that Laura and Raymond showed us at their wonderful home last week was outstanding. It doesn't seem right to call The Embassy a guest house, as that seems too impersonal.

The interaction with the owners and other guests was invaluable to our enjoyment of Washington. We found out where to visit, where to eat and where to drink, and enjoyed every second of our stay.

We love the US, and have always found the people to be so friendly, especially when compared to here in the UK, but you truly have raised the bar! And Raymond running us to the airport when the taxi failed to show was the icing on the cake.

We wish you all the best for the future, and will definitely return someday.

Thanks once again,

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adetuono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 8, 2012

As one would expect this is a clean and well appointed Guest House. However there are significant disadvantages against a fully fledged Hotel. There is not a 24 hour service or late check-in facility. Whilst the rooms are large the bedrooms lack bathtubs.
The sting in the tail is that even if you guarantee your reservation with a credit/debit card, you will be charged $40 if you check in late (Even if you inform them of your late arrival!).
Breakfast is limited. Hot pancakes are prepared but no typical American breakfast alas.
Bottom line is it is excessively expensive. Circa $300 per night which is TWICE the price of the local Marriott.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lovablelondoners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NativeWashingtonian, Owner at Embassy Circle Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

When there is a problem with your train to London and you miss your international flight from Heathrow to Dulles; when you arrive in Washington DC close to 11 PM, rather than your projected early afternoon arrival time; when you are only here for one night before moving on to another destination - we can understand how you might miss the incredible benefits of staying in a beautiful, world-class B&B. If this guest had arrived with his colleagues as scheduled, we think he would have had a very different experience. In fact, we’re sure he would have enjoyed the House, the evening wine and conversations – there was a fascinating group of international guests here that night – a great dinner at one of our recommended restaurants, a good night’s sleep, and the company and conversation of familiar people at breakfast the next morning.
We do our best to accommodate travel delays. We will make owners or staff available to check you in when you arrive – even if it is hours after we have closed our front desk for the night. There is a cost to provide this service however, and as travelers ourselves, we believe it is a cost that the traveler should anticipate and be willing to pay. When we require service that is over and above what is normally offered, or when we inconvenience our hosts and their staff, we are grateful for their help and we pay for the additional service without complaint.
And as for the Marriott, we're pretty sure the cost comparison is a little bit off – you have to add $20-$30 to the cost per night for that American breakfast. And, as our reviews indicate, our guests appreciate the many significant differences between Embassy Circle Guest House and our local chain hotels - and they prefer to stay with us.

Laura Saba
Innkeeper/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of spending a few days at the Embassy Circle Guest House in D.C. I found this great B&B thanks to my fellow travelers on trip advisor. This is ranked the number one B&B in D.C. and it is for good reason. Firstly, the location is perfect. We took the train in and found it was an easy 15 min cab ride from Union station. The B&B itself is so stunning that pictures really don't do it justice. The neighborhood of Dupont circle is lovely and we found it safe to walk around in, even at night. There are great restaurants around and the Metro is a brief 5 minute walk away. Second, the staff at the B&B was WONDERFUL. We were greeted at the time of check in by first name, which was really nice and made us imediately feel "at home." We were told, not to worry about anything and I am happy to say we were able to take that advice! Our room was equally beautiful and clean and the private bath was a plus. We were celebrating a birthday and in the room the staff was nice enough to accomodate my request for a balloon bunch. But not only that, they went above and provided a box of chocolates and a "happy birthday" card. It really made everything that much more special. I would also like to comment that the B&B owners and staff were never intrusive and we were free to come and go as we pleased. We are a young couple, but never felt overwhelmed by being a part of the group (a wonderful group of traveler from all over the world). When we wanted to be on our own, we were free to do so knowing that when we returned there would be a smile and a brownie waiting for us (Bonus!!). On our final day, Laura handed us a gift certiicate to use on our return trip and believe me, we will be back. We were thinking of making this an annual trip and when we are in the D.C area, there is no other B&B that we would stay in. Thank you to everyone at Embassy Circle Guest House!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DivineDiva_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Embassy Circle is a great place to stay in Washington. Laura and Raymond run a well-run guest house which is close to the Metro and some good restaurants. The morning breakfasts and evening glasses of wine are always a great time to get involved in interesting conversation and catch up on what other travelers are experiencing.
Take some time to speak to Raymond as he offers some great insight, a very interesting man. I thoroughly enjoyed chatting with him about politics, business and family.
Laura and the staff go out of their way to help you, whether it is a dinner reservation or trying to find your way around town. On the last day we were there my wife became quite ill with stomach flu. Her team was extremely helpful getting everything we needed and making sure she was taken care of.
The area itself is very interesting with the beautiful (and some not so beautiful) embassies. Take time to walk around the neighbourhood.
We found the best way to get around town to be the Metro . Buy a pass card (the staff will show you how) and just add money to it as you need it.
One great trip we did was the Moonlight Monument Tour. The Hop-On-Hop-Off tours offer it and it is a great way to see the sites. If you can, take a tripod with you to help you with your night shots.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. It is a very quite house and area.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJPlums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews