We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, but not "wow"”
Review of Rasika

Rasika
Ranked #14 of 3,494 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: On D Street Between 6th and 7th Streets.
Transit: Two Block Walk From the China Town/Gallery Place Metro and One Block Walk From the Archives/Navy Memorial Metro.
Reviewed July 7, 2016 via mobile

Given the hype and awesome reviews in multiple publications, I think I was expecting to be "wow'd". Don't get me wrong, the food was outstanding, but I was expecting some unique and innovative Indian dishes, sort of like what you would find at Vij's in Vancouver. Aside from that, everything we had was exceptional and well priced.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank ptambeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (2,870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,050 - 1,054 of 2,870 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2016

There was nothing overly wrong or massively exceptional. We waited 2hr for a table due to the fact that we did not have reservations (error on our part) but we were happy to wait to try this restaurant. When we were finally seated (about 8:30pm) there were no seating options for children - but we dealt with that. (I know this is an upscale restaurant, but we do often travel with our children and they are wonderul travelers & eat most cuisine... So we were very comfortable bringing them here). Our girls are usually well behaved so not having booster seats or anything other than nice classes to drink water out of worked fine for us, but please know that this is not an option if you have younger children. Our waiter was wonderfully helpful & suggested food for us as well as our younger ones. Everything was good, my plate while wonderfully flavored, contained one (ONE) prawn, and while I understand upscale restaurants are a lot about flavor and plating one prawn was not acceptable to me for $24. All of our meals had wonderful flavor, and we loved the naan flavor options (though, we have had better naan at other Indian restaurants). It is a loud restaurant as tables are very close together, but that was something we could easily look over, again just note that if you have kids or are looking for a quiet evening. All in all we enjoyed our meal, but I have had Indian food that taste just as good with a bit smaller of a bill and less wait time.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank meamaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 4, 2016

We visited both the D St., Northwest location as well as the West End location for this restaurant. The food, in one word, was exceptional. We are from the bay area and there are a great deal of Indian restaurants in our location. The food in this restaurant, however, was exquisite, well presented, excellently prepared and was served with a style and flair unmatched by any restaurant we have attended before. We were a party of seven and were thoroughly impressed with every aspect of the service, food and environment in this restaurant. It is a little bit pricey, but well worth the effort and money you will spend.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank dkhurana94506
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

I have been to Rasika many times and have yet to have a dish that was not excellent. A great place to go with a group to be able to sample more dishes!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank ontheroadagain1434
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

We were looking for authentic Indian food and someone recommended Rasika .
It was early evening and we thought it was too early for dinner and hence went without a booking .
But when we reached , we found the restaurant to be full and waited 30 minutes to get a table .
We ordered chats as starters which was the same as what we could get in India . For the main course , we ordered chicken tikka curry and vegetable dakshini ( coconut milk gravy )and some nans.
The mocktail were refilled as soon as they would empty out. The service was extremely good.
The only problem was that it was a noisy and crouched place

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Dipa2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Rasika also viewed

 

Been to Rasika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.