We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hostel I've been”

Capitol City Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Capitol City Hostel
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

This hostel is a house located on a nice neighborhood, very close to restaurants and at a walkable distance to the city's attractions.
The accomodation is not good at all. The beds and building are old and not quite clean.
The window's shades does not cover all the window so you won't be able to sleep a lot.
The staff is not that helpful as you may notice from other reviewers as well.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank RicardoBrasil88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2015

It cheaper than any other hostel in Washington so you can imagine what you'll get. It was better than I expected but still, if I ever go back to Washington I'd rather pay 40$ more and sleep in a real hostel. Breakfast is actually only coffee, parking is 5$ extra, the area is far from downtown (if you don't have a car you can't walk anywhere) and we were scared to walk around at night time. The owner was nice and it was clean enough but we had to sleep with other two old men (we were two girls) and a creepy chinese that yelled at us and walked around half naked. If you are on a budget and you don't care about hygiene or privacy this place is good enough for you.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Flav3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2015

the management is super helpful and friendly. They gave us great suggestions and directions. The hostel is right by the bus stop which takes you directly into downtown to see the museums and monuments. Great big beds and good aircon. You get a discount if you share the bed with your loved one.

Room Tip: Share a bed to save dough
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 85Brei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2015

I Stayed at the Capitol City Hostel for 3 nights, in may 2009. Though Bill was very kind and helpfull and met some nice people, if I knew then what I knew now, I woudn't stay here.

First of all is quite far from the center. A long ride in the H2 from downtown, or a 20 min walk to the subway leave you far from all the things you want to visit.

The Neighbourhood is scary, specially at night. I must say was a bit scared when I left the bus and start looking arround for the hostel.

But altough it wasn't the best of neighbourhoods, I didn't had any problem and walked around everyday, one night I even walked all the way to the Capitol with an australian friend i met there and we had no problems.

The worst for me was the hostel itself. It was dirty, quite dirty I must say. The rooms needed an urgent cleaning, the kitchen also and let's not talk about the showers and toiletts.

I've been in hostels and some lowcost hotels around the world in my days, and this one will always be one of the least cleaned hostel I've been.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank PedroGreen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2015

We spent two nights here and that was enough. The neighborhood is pretty bad, we felt very unsafe even during daytime. The common area and the dorm rooms were not clean, the bathroom was even worse. All in all not a good experience, though it was pretty cheap. In the end you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Despite what the other reviews say, my 2-night stay at this hostel was the worst I've ever had - and I'd say I stayed in about 25 hostels all over the world during my travels so far. Firstly, the neighbourhood is dodgy and it doesn't feel safe at all (the cornershop has a bullet-proof glass between counters and customers, just so that you can paint a picture...),

second, the check-in went really bad. We had a reservation made through HostelBookers.com for three people, however the housekeeper was not there when we arrived and there was another guy to check us in. He said "Bill" only informed him of one person arriving - so he began arguing with us about the reservation. After about 20 minutes of discussion, he proposed to put me and my boyfriend on one bed, and a friend of us on another one - cause apparently one bed was missing for us.

And third, to top it up, the room where we were staying with my boyfriend in the end was just terrible. It was a basement room, terribly smelling of cigarettes and something unidentifiable, maybe just the smell of a room where there is no window and you put four people in there...

So, to sum up, DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOSTEL, even though it is very cheap, it is not worth the saved money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

this hostel was cheap and a bed for the night (or three), but it was pretty dirty, difficult to find and far out from where you woud probably wanna be if visiting DC. The owner is lovely, and helpful, but the one thing that absolutely ruined it for us was a certain other 'guest' who had been essentially living at the hostel for six months but snored so loudly it absolutely ruined our stay. The walls were sheets, so we could hear everything going on in other rooms oO... and the bathroom was dirty. I don't expect a lot from hostels...but I thought this was simply below par. It wouldng take a lot to clean the place and get either a new wall or something else more substantial than a sheet. HOWEVER. If you aren't fussy about things like that then go nuts it does the job if you got no dollar

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lucy-Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Mount Vernon Square
Capital View
Capital View
#16 of 48 in Washington DC
127 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,380 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
1,710 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#83 of 141 in Washington DC
2,648 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol City Hostel

Address: 2411 Benning Rd NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-4827
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Washington DC
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing