We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Centrally located Hotel with comfort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Washington
Ranked #69 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
363 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Centrally located Hotel with comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012 via mobile

Located at Penn Center in Washington DC, the Hyatt is a contemporary, modern, atrium-style hotel with all the modern comforts. It offers an array of services and restaurants, including a Starbuck's in the lobby, and an excellent bar and restaurant. During my stay, I had spacious in-ward facing room with a comfortable bed, a well-appointed bathroom, and small desk for work. The hotel seemed full of business folks, tourists, and conference attendees. But the hotel seemed to function efficiently with very little noise and no commotion. A breakfast buffet available in the Grand Café downstairs offered a good selection of breakfast items, including freshly prepared omlettes. The area around the hotel also had lots of eating options if you prefer to go out for your meals, especially at night. If you opt to remain on site, there is a Sports Bar and a more upscaled Bistro-type restaurant.

While there is a discounted access to the adjoining health club, the hotel does not seem to have an exercise room. An oddity given the size of the facilities. Internet service was available at a significant charge; not sure if the cost is worth it.

Although I was on a business trip, the Hyatt seemed centrally located for tourism activities. The White House was not far; several museums were near; Chinatown was close. On my next trip, I will plan for some tourism time.

Definitely,a good location for short stays while on business. Not sure if I would recommend for families.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pucela08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,657
    1,446
    597
    263
    161
See reviews for
967
733
183
1,760
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (729)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We just returned from 4 days at the Grand Hyatt Metro Center. Super easy to get there from Reagan National...just hopped on the Blue Line Metro, and there's access to the nearby station within the lobby. Our room wasn't ready yet, but we were able to drop our bags so we could go explore. The front desk called us promptly to let us know our room was available. When we arrived several hours later, we found our room on a lower level floor facing 10th Street. This gave us a peripheral view of St Patrick's Cathedral, and also the construction noted by others. The room had plenty of space for my daughter and I, including a minifridge, coffee maker, hair dryer and nice-sized TV. There are several dining options within the hotel, including a Starbucks, with a sandwich/salad place attached and open for breakfast and lunch. There's also a nicer restaurant for lunch and dinner, a sports bar with decent options (but the least capable service we experienced) and the standard hotel restaurant with a nice (but pricey) breakfast buffet. Once you're ready to explore, the mall and White House are within walking distance. Having the Metro so close made getting to Arlington Cemetery, the Capitol and Union Station a snap. Ford's Theater is two blocks down the street. We did get back late one night after a Trolley Tour and the neighborhood was a bit sketchy. As for the construction, I could hear it through the windows, but leaving the fan running in the room helped block the street noise. Very comfortable room after long days sightseeing. I'd definitely recommend this hotel if you're heading to DC

Room Tip: Try not to face H. There are rooms facing the atrium that are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank googlymoogly014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

The location is great. The lobby is beautiful.

This is a very large hotel that seems best suited for huge conventions and processing large number of guests.

The rooms were a bit disappointing/bland for the price. Paid a 5 star price and got a 3 star room. The furniture and decor seemed cheap and austere and in need of upgrading. Bed was OK but not as comfortable as other hotels in same class range. The rooms are not very sound proof and I could hear conversations next door and in the hall. No extras in the room that one expects nowadays from nicer hotels, like magnifying mirrors and decent selection of bath amenities. My room would not cool down despite setting the thermostat to 65. When I asked for another room I was told they were full and could not move me.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Promontory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I travel often for business, mostly to LA but recently to DC as well. Overall, great stay, friendly staff and comfortable bar & bistro attached.
Expected a little more bang for my buck in terms of the room size and set up, but other than that, no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VR_Bianchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Overall a very nice experience staying here during a conference. Hotel amenities were excellent, guest room was well appointed and comfortable, and there was a lovely atmosphere in the main hotel areas. By far the best part of the stay was the staff, who were always incredibly friendly and helpful. The location is great-- walking distance to major tourist sites and museums. The only minor negative was the lighting in the guest room-- the bathroom light was pretty poor and, having a window that faced the interior of the hotel, the room did not get any sunlight at any point in the day.

Room Tip: If you prefer a room that gets natural light, definitely ask for a room with windows that face outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank getawaygirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
I appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. I am glad you had an excellent stay. It sounds like your found your room to be comfortable and the staff to be extremely helpful. I will make sure to pass your comment on regarding the lighting in your room. Your comments are greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you back for another stay in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I was in DC for business last week and stayed at the Grand Hyatt. I thought it was a great hotel. I asked for a high floor facing the inside (as had been suggested on TA) and was pleased with the quiet atmosphere. My room was spacious and clean. The front desk staff was very accomodating. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was fine. My only complaint was with the breakfast buffet. The eggs were runny and the bread was nondescript. Also I thought there were too many sweet, high caloric cakey options. I would have liked to have been offered more interesting rolls and semi-sweet brioche. I would definitely stay there again. The location is central and close to the sights.

Room Tip: High floor facing inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripfantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

One of my favorite hotels in the DC area. Walking distance to just about everything. Staff is friendly, rooms tidy, beds comfortable, and they have a nice little bar/restaurant that has healthy food choices. Only downside is their fitness room costs $. Take the room with the outside view.

Room Tip: Outside room with view of the DC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajscherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#45 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Washington

Property: Grand Hyatt Washington
Address: 1000 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hyatt Washington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 897
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown City Center- with convenient in-lobby Metro Center access - this Washington DC hotel is an ideal spot to explore the Nation's Capitol. Enjoy stylish guestrooms with plush Grand Beds™, indulgent amenities and multiple dining venues. Utilize our full-service business center and 32 outstanding meeting rooms - just steps from Washington Convention Center. Escape to extraordinary elegance at Grand Hyatt Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Grand Hyatt Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing