We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Ranked #79 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed for 3 days Feb 18-20th in an executive suite and it was really great. The service at the hotel is very good, the hotel is very fresh, clean, and comfortable. We really enjoyed the decor in our room, everything was really comfortable and nice quality. The room was large, furnishings modern, dressing area and bathroom were really nice and good amenities.

Valet is typical DC valet but it was convenient and made going to/from the hotel a breeze and well worth the $$. The hotel is out of the way of most sites and not really near metro stations but we had a car so it wasn't an issue. Also the walk to the White House was very easy as we are walkers. We did eat breakfast and it was good, the morning coffee was a really good value, and they brought me my NY Times each morning which was perfect.

Only slight negative is I called ahead to have fruit/wine in the room and a goldfish (part of Klimpton services) on arrival but I had to remind the front desk and they it was brought later that night. We were excited about the goldfish but unfortunately it was distressed and died which did upset us quite a bit. So next time we will be sure to bring our dogs and skip the goldfish!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaRTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,859)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Rouge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,109 - 1,115 of 1,859 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

The two of us were in town for a wedding and were recommended by the wedding party to stay at the Rouge. Very impressed with the check-in process and valet services. Our room was clean and well prepared. Every request we had of the staff was promptly fulfilled. The White House and surrounding sites are within a 20 minute walk. A unique hotel that we would recommend to see for yourslef!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrgoforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

What can I say, I love this hotel like I have every other Kimpton hotel Ive stayed in.

I came here to have a get away and to do a little business as well and I never wanted to leave. The hotel was under renovations while we were there, but it didnt bother us a bit. They made sure to be as accommodating as possible and we heard no construction noise.

The decor in the room was beautiful. Large dark red drapes, red headboard, and sleek black table and desk area was just put together beautifully.

The staff was some of the friendliest people I've ever met. I cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Weddingdiva27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMJennings, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thanks Weddingdiva!

I'm so glad you had such a great time while we were touching up our new lobby floor and adding in the ceiling art at the bar. No more renovations coming up and we can't wait to have you back.

Regards,

Mark Jennings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I have stayed at the Hotel Rouge twice when in DC for business. The location is a little removed from business downtown and it is a fair distance from the Hill, but I choose Hotel Rouge for that reason. Sometimes it is nice to feel like you are getting away from business at the end of the day, even if you really aren't that far away.

The hotel is a typical Kimpton update of an older property. You can usually tell that the bones are old, but Kimpton does a nice job of refreshing these hotels and giving them a trendy vibe. In this case, the theme is "red" just as the name implies.

The rooms are modern with the usual amenities and conveniences. The rooms I have had on my two stays here seemed a little larger than what other DC hotels offer, though some of that is unusable space in the entryway.

The hotel has a small restaurant/bar just off of the lobby area. I have not eaten breakfast or lunch here, but I did try the hamburger for dinner on my last stay and found it very good.

I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful on both stays. Additionally, the management is quick to communicate and is interested in ensuring that guests have a good experience.

If you are looking for a hotel that offers a bit of trendy tranquility on a business trip to DC and you don't mind cabbing to Hill meetings, give the Hotel Rouge a look.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrEricG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We chose the Kimpton hotel on purpose since we have always had great experiences. The Rouge did not disappoint us. Just as comfortable and staff very very friendly and helpful. Perfect location for White House and colleges! We will always prefer the Kimpton chain!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susann888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMJennings, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Thanks Laurdubs!

I'm so glad we could be attentive even though the hotel was busy. I am so lucky to have a team that really enjoys what they do. We would love to have you back. We seem to be quite the favorite for our friends travelling from the Boston area.

Warm regards,

Mark Jennings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

comfortable, stylish, Kimpton hotel. Very close to major D.C hotspots including Dupont Circle, White House/National Mall and all the memorials and sites. Valet parking options are wonderful and SO lenient. May have to ask the staff to do things a couple of times, but, hotel's staff in general are super busy and handle many, many requests to that is totally okay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed at the Rouge after a great stay at the Topaz about a year ago. We just chose this one to try something different. It was clear once we arrived it was a Kimpton: awesome, knowledgable staff, unique decorating and nice little touches you might not expect. We arrived on a Saturday, and there was the complimentary cold pizza and bloody marys in the lobby (I think only on weekends). It saved us having to stop somewhere for lunch and we could get right to the sights. There was tea and coffee in the lobby in the morning, with a newspaper by our door, and wine and appetizers from 5:00 to 6:00. The room was nice sized with a great bed and lights. The location is also good, as it is close enough to Dupont, but also to the sights (we are walkers, some my disagree with the second part). A couple points: on Saturday night, 16th street is busy and there were a lot of sirens. You may want a room not facing the street. Sunday through Tuesday were fairly quiet, though. There was a 3:30 am party on our floor (that's when it started) which staff took care of very well. The room also have very quietly closing doors, which eliminates the need by some to slam their doors. Overall, I was as impressed with Rouge as much as I was with Topaz. I have to say, it is rare to leave a hotel and have the staff seem like they are going to miss you (thanks Romina). Enjoy, they will take great care of you.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerrenceDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Hello TerrenceDean,

Thanks so much for writing a review!

I am so pleased that you had a great stay with us. Looks like everything was to your liking and I am glad we stacked up so well to our sister property the Topaz. While not caused by us, I wanted to apologize for the noise you experienced during your stay. Awesome to hear our staff handled it so well.

Appreciate it,

Abe

Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#74 of 142 in Washington DC
1,286 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#45 of 142 in Washington DC
491 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 142 in Washington DC
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#61 of 142 in Washington DC
1,264 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
1,680 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Address: 1315 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $163 - $549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Rouge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Kimpton Rouge Hotel is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Kimpton Rouge Hotel entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing