We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My first choice in DC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Ranked #70 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My first choice in DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Very stylish and large room. Great front desk staff. Had a good meal and drinks experience at the bar. Will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadhemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    638
    201
    77
    35
See reviews for
381
577
152
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
128 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Im a big Kimpton fan and frequent traveller to DC but this was first visit to the Rouge. I will definately come back. Typically I got complementary upgrade to King deluxe room. Lots of room, light and very clean. My only request was for "quiet" room and my upper floor room on back side of hotel was very quiet. Good location. Few blocks to shops and restaurants on Connecticut Ave and 17th Street. About 4 easy blocks to Metro. Staff were super. Good value and I highly recommend to business travelers and anyone else for that matter.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markobrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

First off, as has been mentioned ad nauseum the location is outstanding. It is one of the more secure sections of DC within walking distance of nearly everything you would expect on a business trip. It is about 5-7 minute walk over to the White House and then mall just beyond. There are a number of dining options in the trendy district just 2-3 minutes along P Street.

As for the hotel, it works its trendy tone from the lobby into every room in the place. It is funky & fun but not something I'd prefer on a regular basis. As a oddity, it work for a few nights.

The room was spacious and the bed comfortable.

Room Tip: There is some street parking in front of the apartments next door that can help you avoid the costly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SlyFox_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

This lives up to the quirky fun ambiance of a Kimpton hotel. Not the most elegant but very boutique feel. Staff is quite friendly and helpful. Room was good size and in good working order. Love being a Kimpton member and getting the mini bar pass. Makes you feel part of a club. Location is great for getting to much of DC although not very near a Metro stop. Lots of restaurants near by.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marles83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Lovely hotel! Very accomodating and service oriented. Nice extras such as water with oranges and water with cucumbers in the lobby at all times. Afternoon cocktails and coffee in the am. The rooms were clean, bright and comfortable. Conveniently located.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheree7883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

This place was wonderful! My fiance and I booked 3 rooms at the Rouge for ourselves and our guests through priceline, and we were not disappointed. We loved the decor. We especially loved the bar and the bar tender who gave us free drinks to celebrate our wedding. There are some nice cozy places to hang out to enjoy food/drinks. The hotel is also within walking distance of other great places to eat, and all the touristy sites of D.C. We would definately stay at the Rouge again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cruiser777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMJennings, General Manager at Kimpton Rouge Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Congratulations on your wedding, Cruiser 777!

I'm so glad we could contribute to this special life event. We hope you comeback soon or at least to celebrate your anniversary. You should be able to find the best deals on our hotel website or call us and let us know you are coming to celebrate.

Hope to see you soon,

Mark Jennings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I stayed again at the Rouge, a conveniently located boutique hotel, for a business trip and again found them very accommodating with comfortable beds and rooms and nice extras such as coffee/tea starting at 5 PM and afternoon cocktails at 5 PM.

Room Tip: I was overlooking the front on the 6th floor and it was still quiet on the street! Friends on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsa819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#84 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan
Kimpton Donovan
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Rouge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Rouge Hotel

Property: Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Address: 1315 16th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-2205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#50 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimpton Rouge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Washington DC's historic Embassy Row, Kimpton Rouge Hotel is a superb luxury boutique accommodation. This Kimpton Hotel is a playful and colorful urban retreat at the doorstep of the city's top cultural and historic attractions. Within blocks of Dupont Circle and near the White House, National Mall and countless museums and galleries, the alluring Kimpton Rouge Hotel entices with its rejuvenating décor, exceptional service, signature amenities and adjacent Bar Rouge lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Priceline so you can book your Kimpton Rouge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing