We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #32 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Lexington, SC
1 review
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed at the Palomar Hotel for 3 nights. The room with 2 queen beds was spacious. It was a pleasure to come back from sightseeing every afternoon to relax with a glass of wine at the complimentary wine hour. Location was great - close to the metro and lots of nice places to eat. We will definitely stay at the Palomar again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scnole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,815
    1,095
    302
    114
    46
See reviews for
957
1,619
283
1,034
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (800)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We recently stayed at the Palomar for 3 nights. We were visiting DC for a conference. We were excited when we learned that the organization had gotten a block of rooms at a Kimpton - our favorite chain. What we didn't realize is that they had selected the worst rooms - the Queen Deluxe Rooms (the Executive King is worth the $ difference).

My understanding is that most (if not all) of the Queen Deluxe Rooms have virtually the same floor plan. We were in 626. It is a long and very, very dark room. The window looks directly into the building virtually next to it. In addition, there is no opportunity for daylight to come into the room. The layout was the worst of any Kimpton that we have stayed at. The bathtub stopper didn't work and the sink drained slowly. The room is also near the elevator and the workstation for the cleaners. The walls were very thin and we were awoken at 7am to noise from the hallway - I think that it was workers talking, but could have been other guests. A note on the elevators - two of the three were working and they were very slow. Like many guests we generally used the stairwell. It was actually kind of humorous to see the stairwell so crowded on the higher floors - as clearly many people had given up on the elevators.

All that said, this is where Kimpton distinquishes itself. After that first night I asked to speak to the manager - Clayton. He understood my frustration. Without any pushback, he immediately made amends for the situation and made sure that we were satisfied. Despite the hotel being oversold, we were moved to a very nice room by him personally. The rest of our stay was totally up to Kimpton standards. One thing that I thought was especially neat was during the complimentary wine hour on the first night there was an artist that was doing free caricature drawings of the kids - how cool is that!

All in all, we had a decent time. Clayton literally saved our trip. But with so many Kimpton options in DC, we will go back some some of our favorites - such as the Rouge and the Helix.

Room Tip: Avoid the Queen Deluxe Room - pay for the Executive King
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuysChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear GuysChi,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience. Clayton is pro! So happy to read that he made you feel comfortable and welcome despite the room and elevator hiccups. Please do not hesitate to let me know next time you are in town. I will make sure your future stays remain flawless.

Best Wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Just wrapped up a 3-night stay at the Palomar and I can honestly say that it was one of our best hotel experiences ever. The location was great. The rooms were spacious. And the staff was very friendly and accommodating and went out of their way to make our anniversary trip extra special. The wine hour between 5pm-6pm is also a nice touch. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palermo410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed here while attending a conference, and we were just so pleased from start to end. The mod, well-staffed lobby was gorgeous (as was the daily happy hour provided therein!), the staff discreet and so helpful—no task seemed to be too daunting (including getting us a table at a swish resto!). The room itself was spacious, comfy beyond belief—you practically float in the bed. The bathroom was spacious and equipped with aromatic Aveda toiletries. Breakfast ($$$!) was not included in our rate—but there is a Starbucks just to the left of the entrance on the corner, and various bakeshops, supermarkets across the street. Oh, join the Kimpton Rewards program and receive free WIFI in your room and perhaps other goodies. The hotel is a short walk to the Dupont Circle Metro station (7’), and is situated amongst an abundance of dee-lish dining options; we attended an event in the restaurant attached to the hotel, which offered impressive wines and yummy lite-bites. All in all a fab DC place to call home.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor, center part of the hotel facing the road, as the rooms seem a bit larger (e.g. 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2Escape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Love2Escape
Thank you so much for your great remarks; they will be shared with our staff. We are delighted being able to call you a Kimpton Fan! Thanks for joining the program.
Best Wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I was very impressed with our stay at the Palomar, it was our 1st stay at a Kimpton Hotel and we will definitely be coming back. The hotel itself is very stylish and our room was great, it had everything we needed for our stay and it was very clean and well appointed. All the staff we met were very helpful and the concierge offered some great suggestions for places to eat out. Plenty of people have already mentioned the free wine hour and also the tea / coffee in the morning, be sure to take advantage of these, but also complete the 'Kimpton in touch' registration online before your visit to get free wifi. The hotel is brilliantly placed for the Bars and restaurants around DuPont Circle and is also only a short walk from Georgetown which is worth a visit. You can easily get to the attractions around the Mall either on foot (about 30mins) or on the subway from the centre of DuPont. Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Yorkshireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear The_Yorkshireman,

Thank you very much for the great review. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us. Let me know when you are returning. I would love to say hello.

Best Wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed at the Palomar for 5 nights over Spring break. We'd chosen the hotel due to both its ranking on Trip Advisor (it was #1 at the time of booking) and because of a fantastic stay we'd had at a Kimpton Hotel previously. When we arrived the double queen executive room we'd booked wasn't available and we were put into connecting King and Queen rooms on a conference floor. Although this was dealt with politely and relatively efficiently it wasn't ideal after a long, tiring journey but I get that these things happen sometimes. One of the guys on reception promptly took our youngest off to get some juice and as we'd arrived when the complimentary wine hour was in full swing, a nice glass of wine for us too. The Kimpton Kids check in gift was not offered to our children.
On our second day we checked with the reception staff before heading off and were told our booked room would be unavailable for the second night and we were to stay in our conference floor room and check with them again the next day. However when we returned to the hotel in the evening we were told housekeeping had been unable to move us as planned to the room we'd booked because we weren't packed up. It felt rather unorganised.
Once into the room we'd booked it was a nice room with plenty of space, lovely Aveda toiletries and super comfy beds. Housekeeping was efficient and the rollaway bed we requested was quickly supplied. The complimentary wi-fi for Kimpton In Touch guests is handy although as hotels and business are increasingly offering free wifi anyway I'm not sure how much longer this will be viewed by guests as a great perk of membership.
Out of the five days we ate breakfast, on two days we were sent to a conference room. Although it felt a little odd to be eating in such a room on tables that were obviously delegate tables the breakfast selection was excellent and the staff efficient. On the other three days we ate breakfast in Cubana. Although it's at odds with other reviews of Cubana on Trip Advisor we were disappointed - the breakfast selection wasn't as good as the conference room selection and the tables and chairs seemed in need of refurbushment. The complimentary continental breakfast area was screened off from the main restaurant area making us feel rather like second class citizens.

The Palomar is in a geat location only a short walk from nice eateries and the DuPont Circle subway station making it a great choice for visiting the sights of Washington. It's a very stylish hotel and clearly very popular and this unfortunately seems to lead to long waits for the lifts on many occasions.
The complimentary wine hour is a great touch but it did feel like a hotel more suited and geared towards business travellers or couples. We have travelled widely as a family of four and stayed in many hotels in both the States and Europe and despite the family friendly promises of the Kimpton brand there was little here that made us feel it was the best choice as a family hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stressedoutmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I stayed at the Palomar in DC again this week for business travel and had another great visit. The staff is always friendly and when I checked in I received an upgrade to a suite! It made my night. They also reminded me that I get free access to the internet in my room just by being a Kimpton rewards member! It's so nice when so many hotels are still charging $10 - $15 to log onto WiFi. Finally, I must say it's a truly great location. I love being so close to DuPont Circle and being practically next door to a Starbucks. Good coffee is key to my business travel success and having one on the same block makes my life so much easier.
Thanks, Palomar, for being consistenly excellent! I know where I'll be staying on my next visit to DC for sure.

Room Tip: If you're on the 8th - 10th floor, allow a little time in the morning for the elevators. It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillystar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Jimmythefoodie,
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be sure to share your experience with the staff. We agree the location is hard to beat and it looks like we nailed the service as well. We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you very much for sharing Jimmythefoodie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
2,062 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,632 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#27 of 141 in Washington DC
3,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#58 of 141 in Washington DC
1,242 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
2,153 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#47 of 141 in Washington DC
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing