We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Claudia S. AWESOME!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #51 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Barto
1 review
“Claudia S. AWESOME!!!!”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I stayed at the Carlyle suites with my 3 children ages 16, 15 and 14. We enjoyed the GREAt location, you could walk everywhere. Close to the metro station, right in the heart of Dupont Circle. Walked to all the restaurants, and they were all very good. We had great staff at the hotel, our concierge David and his team were absolutely AMAZING, extremely friendly and helpful in every single way. The room was great, we had a kitchen,a plus for a family. Super clean!!
Would definitely stay here again and also would recommend it to anyone planing a trip to DC.
Can not beat the GREAT prices!!! REALLY.. What more could you want ?

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,164
    593
    145
    46
    37
See reviews for
580
504
119
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We live in the neighborhood and when we have guests come to town, we always suggest the Carlyle. Not only is it close, but super-convenient to everything in DC and the rooms are very clean and spacious. The manager David is fantastic - great to work with! We're so happy to have them in the neighborhood.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, il
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I chose the Carlyle Suites based on the stellar reviews it received from Tripadvisor, and am so glad I did!! GREAT location, tons of cute restaurants and bars just steps away, GREAT room - kitchen such a plus for our family! - GREAT hotel staff, so friendly and helpful and upbeat - EXTREMELY clean (someone even did our dishes for us each day while we were out!) And the view from our room was so beautiful - so nice to have such big sunny windows. I would DEFINITELY stay here again, and highly recommend it to anyone. Beautiful hotel, incredible staff, fantastic location, can't beat the price - what more could you want in a vacation stay?

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clonella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We just had one of the best experiences EVER--and we
have traveled extensively after 48 years of marriage.

I can't remember a more unique or warm welcome than
David's meeting us at curbside and still calling us by name
four days and hundreds of guests later!!! Everyone on staff
was smiling, welcoming, thoughtful, helpful---100% perfect.

Our bartender was like an old friend---very busy
serving a full bar but with time for a personal conversation---
just amazingly friendly yet so professional--and the food was
terrific.

I seldom write an e-mail like this but it was truly a perfect stay
over a busy Easter Weekend---it was never hectic or rushed or
anything close to what one usually experiences on the road!

We look forward to a return visit this summer!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Setauket, New York
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My family (two adults and two children ages 11 and 14) stayed at the Carlyle Suites in April 2012. We enjoyed an excellent stay. The rooms were clean and well appointed. We had a corner suite with a small kitchen, two beds, and a fold-out sofa. The mattresses, as others have noted, are very comfortable--a real upgrade over most standard hotel mattresses. The staff is beyond pleasant and helpful. There is a small parking lot behind the hotel and we were lucky enough to snag the last spot when we arrived. Bring your small car--the lot is tight! If you like the Dupont Circle area (we love it, although it might not be for some), this hotel puts you right in the neighborhood. It's a pleasant 10-minute walk to the Metro red line, and there are abundant restaurants, coffee, bakeries, and other fun shops within easy walking distance in every direction.

Room Tip: We like fresh air and were able to open the windows a crack in our room (a corner suite). Not sure a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordonsville
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Good place to stay in DC. Nothing is cheap in the city. This is a nice enough hotel in a good neighborhood. No complaints at all. Metro, multiple restaurants, and a Safeway within a 3 block radius.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordonsvillegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This is the second time i stayed at this Hotel.
The Rooms are nice, clean and with a kitchenette perfect for longer stays.
The Fron Desk Staff (specifically Karen) are friendly and very nice - if
there is a Problem - they will solve it.
The ONLY negative thing and i have that mentioned also at the sister Hotel
in which i stayed several times is the Inernet requiring you to log on
every 4 Hours - this is not up to standards - the connection should be "on" for
24 Hours before a "re-login" is required.
The Location is PERFECT in walking distance to the heart of Dupont Circle.
Supermarkets, CVS and other stores are very close by.

The BEDs are very nice (Tempur Pedic) Pillows unfortunally do NOT include
a feather Pillow which i would prefer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notaFANLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
2,921 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
1,574 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#76 of 140 in Washington DC
1,796 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Property: Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing