We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Ranked #114 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

A great hotel with personalized service, a magnificent staff, great value and perfect location. All the staff we encountered were very friendly, polite, energetic, fun and most importantly very accommodating. Every request was answered. Checking-in and checking out was as smooth as you can get. They made me feel special on my birthday and every day. I mentioned to the front desk that it was my birthday and they acknowledged my special day by sending a bottle of wine, a box of Godiva chocolate and a happy birthday note. This was a pleasant gesture and another reason why I will certainly be back.

Kingsley and Solomon was very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hectortorres, Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a pleasant review of our hotel and its staff. We are truly happy to know that you enjoyed our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

900 - 906 of 1,362 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

We have stayed here before but it has been a few years. Service has deteriorated a great deal. Checked in Thursday evening. Front desk could not change 2 dollar bills for vending machine purchase. Friday we left the room at 1.30 and put the please make up room sign. Returned at 10pm to an unmade room. Called the desk who sent up a VERY grumpy housekeeper with an armful of towels. She rolled her eyes and sighed when we asked if she could possibly bring us a few packets of coffee for the next morning. The hallways are noisy and starting to look shabby. Booked for a few more days......Will not be back again.

Room Tip: to choose a good room book a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Booked a room on Priceline Name Your Own Price. Great quality, so cheap, hotel was spotless, quaint, elegant, very comfortable. The friendly staff was also very accommodating. Wonderful surprise!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hectortorres, Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your early return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I was visiting Washington, DC for the first time and wanted to get a decent hotel but after a scan of prices found that most lodges were quite expensive. I came across the Beacon as an option on PriceLine and did a quick scan of its reviews on TripAdvisor.

In general, the hotel is well located near bustling Dupont Circle and would allow for the option of taking public transit or even a 20-minute walk towards the White House and other landmarks. I rented a car and so had to swallow the bitter $33 per day valet parking charge.

The hotel staff was very accommodating (Staff member Kinsley was always helpful). I had booked the room off PriceLine but failed to contact the hotel about getting double beds for my brother and I. The staff quickly took measures to get us a good room (I definitely recommend trying to get a floor on the 7th or 8th floors to mitigate some of the street noise).

Free wireless would push my rating up on this place (although a Starbucks with free wifi is a 10 minute stroll away).

The rooms are clean and furnished relatively well although the general vibe of the hotel is a little aged. Still, if you're looking for a middle-of-the-road option for a visit to Washington, I think the Beacon is a safe bet.

Room Tip: Get a room in the upper floors to minimize noise from street traffic and construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKT_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hectortorres, Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

We would like to express our sincere appreciation to you staying with us and taking the time to share with everyone how much you enjoyed the Beacon Hotel. It is always excellent to know that guests realize the hard work of the staff and Kingsley is really humbled by your kind review and want to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We look forward to your return the next time you are in Washington, DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I want to say that I believe I encountered the best hotel employee I have ever had the pleasure to work with. Halimah was a front desk attendant at Beacon and was always kind and considerate and very quick to respond to concerns. All of the staff was very good to work with but Halimah was exceptional.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lragels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hectortorres, Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to the day when we can welcome you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Good location, restaurant, bar, friendly staff. When open, one of best roof bars in town! Biggest drawback: paper-thin walls. You can hear everything in all adjacent rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryStanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hectortorres, Manager at Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Thank you choosing the Beacon Hotel. We appreciate all the great comments and feedback. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

The hotel is clean and the staff reasonably friendly. However, there were multiple problems during my recent one-night visit:
- The public spaces and room stank of air "freshener." What are they trying to hide? Definitely not a place for anyone with keen olfaction or a chemical sensitivity.
- The A/C had been turned off on a fairly warm day in March, so the room was 74 degrees -- OK in daytime but warm for sleeping. The desk sent up a fan, but the window only opened 4 inches, so it took hours to cool down.
- The security lock on the room door did not engage the door frame.
- The very small basement exercise room had a single, very squeaky elliptical exerciser.
- The "closet" was one end of the bathroom (photo). If a jacket takes on the smokey smell of a bar, what did my clothes smell like?!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSOfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#83 of 141 in Washington DC
1,329 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#91 of 141 in Washington DC
1,461 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#35 of 141 in Washington DC
271 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Gregory Hotel
The St. Gregory Hotel
#100 of 141 in Washington DC
196 reviews
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters

Address: 1615 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3205 (Formerly The Governor's House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Logan Circle/ Shaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: $128 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel creates the perfect setting where guests can "Work, Relax and Play" in an atmosphere that is contemporary, welcoming and elegant. This summer enjoy the benefits of an extraordinary location, from where you can walk to the Smithsonian Museums and Monuments all within an easy walk or short metro ride, walk four blocks to The White House, off "Embassy Row" famous for stunning Diplomatic residences, yet equally convenient to the centers of business of "K Street" and Connecticut Ave. The Walter E Washington Convention Center, The cool restaurants and Night life of Dupont Circle and 14th Street. Two Metro stations are within easy walk. Accommodations include spacious deluxe rooms and our popular "Corporate Quarter Suites" inspired by New York Style studio living, featuring pantries, dining and living areas that complement the lifestyles of our guests with spacious accommodations. Ideal settings whether you are traveling with family, an urban explorer or if you are seeking a romantic escape. The Beacon Bar & Grill presents excellent dining and entertainment options: alfresco dining in season, an elegant dining room, light fare and creative cocktails are featured in season in our Sky-Bar rooftop lounge. Featuring creative American cuisine drawing inspiration from comfort foods, international cuisine and seasonal offerings. Our Saturday and Sunday Champagne Brunch, have been voted amongst the "Top Five" Champagne Brunches in the city for over 10 years running. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel And Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel Corporate Quarters
Beacon Hotel Washington Dc
Beacon Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing