We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Robinw1499
Watchung, New Jersey

DC Family Vacation

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 30, 2016
This is a great hotel for a family on a budget visiting the city. I found the best deal on the hotel's website which offered half off parking. The Beacon had great prices and great location but we did not feel as if we were at a "budget" hotel. The room was beautiful. We stayed in a double double with a sleeper sofa and kitchenette. Perfect room for a family of 4 with 2 teens! The kitchenette even had a dishwasher. The bell staff was very helpful and gave us a great recommendation, The Daily Grille, for dinner on Thursday night. We would definitely stay again when visiting Washington DC. The location was great too. We used Uber for our trips to the city's sites, with an average cost of $6.
Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SteveRipai, General Manager at The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review
Responded Aug 2, 2016
Thanks for staying at the Beacon Hotel, we couldn't be more elated that you had a good trip with your family. Unfortunately, it seems as if it is still a secret that the best deals are on the hotel's website but we're glad you're letting that secret out! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next DC trip, there are endless things to see/do in our great city.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
1.5 km from The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Guest Room
0.9 km from The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Free Wifi
Restaurant
3.0 km from The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Free Wifi
Restaurant
0.6 km from The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Free Wifi
Pool
5.8 km from The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
1.7 km from The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Free Wifi
Pool
1.6 km from The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Deck 11 - pool and deck chairs
2.7 km from The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Pool
Restaurant
Exterior
2.7 km from The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Washington DC
Reviews (1,918)
Filter reviews
1,917 results
Traveller rating
668
585
345
165
154
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
668
585
345
165
154
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dupont circle white house rooftop bar front desk staff few blocks location is great national mall metro station kitchenette dishwasher bellman neighborhood uber
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
657 - 662 of 1,917 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2016

This was a nice place for a family to stay. We booked the double double suite with kitchen but got a king suite with kitchen instead but it was still good for us and our kids. Enough room for us and the kitchen is really useful with kids so you don't have to spend as much money out at restaurants. Nice safe neighborhood. 10 minute walk to Metro. 40 minute walk to National Mall so be prepared. Whole foods is 8 minutes away. Staff was very nice. I would stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betsyjohn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SteveRipai, General Manager at The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2016

Thank you for staying at the Beacon Hotel and taking the time to share a comment. We have many different room types to fit all travelers' needs and we love hearing that you were able to enjoy the neighborhood. There are so many shops, stores and restaurants around us, there's always something to do. It can be a hike to get to the National Mall but fortunately it's only a couple stops away on the Metro or a short cab ride away. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2016

This hotel is reasonably located (1mi to the Mall), clean and new, top quality service, excellent bedding. However, valet parking is $41 plus a garage charge on top of this, perhaps the going rate in DC? We had a reservation that included half price valet, which the check in attendant verbally confirmed on checkin to me, but when my husband checked out- we were charged full price. He did not notice it on the bill because he didnt know to look. I have reported the problem but yet to hear back from the general manager. I would suggest finding a better deal for parking if you drive. If not driving, it's reasonably located near metro and loaner bikes and a decent price for nice accommodations.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelledD1531CI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SteveRipai, General Manager at The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2016

Thank you for staying at the Beacon Hotel. We are so sorry to hear there was confusion on your bill, please do contact us directly so we can sort it out. Our secure 24 hour valet parking service is competitively priced for the location but thanks for providing transportation tips to future guests. We are a less than 10 minute walk away from the Metro and we love Capital Bikeshare, where you can rent bikes and is located all throughout the city. We hope to see you the next time you're in Washington, D.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2016

We are normally a Holiday Inn Express, Hampton Inn type family when go on vacation, but this hotel offered the best price for the value of any hotel I could find. We were not disappointed!!! Upon arrival to DC our flight arrived earlier than expected and when we got to the hotel several hours before check in we never expected to get into our room. However, much to our surprise not only did they have a room ready, but they let us check-in and it was a blessing just to get settled.
Later that afternoon we had returned to our room and found the AC was not working properly and it was HOT outside. We called the front desk and within minutes the maintenance man was there and had it fixed.
The hotel staff was extremely friendly and accommodating during the entire stay. The room was comfortable, clean and had a great view of the city. The only complaint I had with the room was the showerhead (simply they need upgraded). There was very little pressure and made for an uninviting shower.
Other than that this hotel was fantastic for the price. I would recommend the SKYBAR and hotel bar/restaurant. Make sure you hit them at happy hour 5-8pm everyday as it got a little pricey after that, but the service and food was great!
If your looking to take the METRO it's about a three block walk, but we UBERED everywhere as it was much cheaper and more convenient than the METRO.

Highly Recommend this hotel and would come back on our next visit!

Room tip: High Floor for quieter nights.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelGuru15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SteveRipai, General Manager at The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2016

Thanks for staying at the Beacon hotel and taking the time to share your experience. We are so happy you enjoyed the hotel and the city. We understand traveling can be strenuous so we try to accommodate all guests as best as we can. The SkyBar is a great hidden gem, what's better than getting a drink on a rooftop bar with a city view? We look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2016

I stayed during a business meeting. Hotel was clean, room was very pleasant and staff was very friendly. It was easy to do the check in and out. Breakfast was very good! (From menu, no buffet). Two minor problems: bathrooms needed a bit of update (shower was leaking and toilet did not work very well, but it did its job). And a noisy neighbors, even when I had a corner room. Besides those issues, excellent location to visit DC! I would stay there again!

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank A. G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SteveRipai, General Manager at The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2016

Thanks for staying at the Beacon Hotel. We often get business travelers as they love our accommodations and central location. We're a big believer in that breakfast is the most important meal of the day and we wouldn't serve anything less than delicious. We trust you had let Guest Services aware of any concerns you may have had during your stay, we have excellent Engineers on the property to resolve any issues. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

I would give this hotel a 3.5 star rating if possible. It's no means a 3 star but the same time far away from a 4 star. The lobby is beautiful and the front lobby workers are beyond great. They open the door for you, will assist you with any questions, etc. The room we stayed in was a King room.

Average room, enough space for 2. Now time for the good and the bad :

1. It was near 100° each day and we didn't have cold water in our sink 3/3 days and in the shower 2/3 days.

2. The TV was horrible like from the early 90s, no HD , and it kept going in and out.. really?

3. The AC works like a charm, so nice and cold throughout our stay.

4. We got a quiet corner away from everyone and had no noise to complain about.

5. Restaurant staff (not the hostess) was a bit rude and didn't even really say good morning. Just what do you want for breakfast?

6. Bed was average, we had a King bed, it was comfortable but to me not "hotel comfortable" if that makes sense.

7. Housecleaning was great and by the time we got back from site seeing mid afternoon our room was done.

Would I stay again? I think I'd try out other hotels in the area. Give them a try, the price can't be beat but no swimming pool for those hot days!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SteveRipai, General Manager at The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2016

Thanks for staying at the Beacon Hotel and sharing your experience. We look forward to reading all comments. We apologize that there were some minor concerns regarding your room, we trust you had let Guest Services aware so we could have remedied the situation. We have some of the best team members in the city, not only do they work tremendously hard to ensure all guests have a satisfactory stay, they do it with a smile on their face. The hotel may not have a pool but you can get a refreshing cocktail at the SkyBar, the rooftop bar, to cool down as you take in the view of the city. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews