We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
restorant n
New York City, New York

Rip off

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks agovia mobile
Beware of extra charges

This hotel will charge a fee for each night of more than $30. While the location is good, there are much better hotels for the same price in the area. The rooms are old and there is nothing to warrant extra charges. Not worth it.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback. The Beacon Hotel is indeed in a prime location and we're glad you found it convenient. However, it is concerning to hear that you did not find value in our accommodations. We strive to provide competitive rates, and the additional fees cover a range of services and amenities designed to enhance the guest experience.

We would have appreciated knowing more about what specifically did not meet your expectations, so we could address any issues directly. Our team is dedicated to ensuring every guest finds their stay worthwhile and we do hope you might consider giving us another chance in the future.

Safe travels.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$252
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    C$245
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    C$252
0.7 km from The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
C$239
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    C$215
  • Expedia.com
    C$239
1.5 km from The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$150
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$150
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$134
  • Vio.com
0.6 km from The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Free Wifi
Pool
C$250
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$241
  • Expedia.com
    C$250
3.0 km from The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$218
  • Motto
    C$218
  • Algotels
    C$213
  • Hotels.com
    C$218
1.6 km from The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$425
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • travelup.com
    C$393
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$317
  • Expedia.com
    C$425
1.7 km from The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
C$241
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$241
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$198
  • Hyatt.com
    C$232
2.7 km from The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Free Wifi
Pool
Deck 11 - pool and deck chairs
C$198
  • Yotel
    C$177
  • travelup.com
    C$168
  • Expedia.com
    C$177
2.7 km from The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Pool
Restaurant
C$145
  • Expedia.com
    C$137
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$138
  • Hotels.com
    C$144
5.8 km from The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
Guest Room
  • Official Website
    C$221
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$191
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Washington DC
Reviews (1,919)
Filter reviews
1,919 results
Traveller rating
668
585
345
166
155
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
668
585
345
166
155
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dupont circle white house rooftop bar front desk staff few blocks location is great national mall metro station kitchenette dishwasher bellman neighborhood uber
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,919 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Horrific experience from start to finish,

Staff will leave you standing at reception while they play with their computer. Our room was tiny and next to a lift that sounded like a barrel rolling across the celling every 2 minutes. When I complained, I was told it only runs from 7am to 10pm, and no offer to change my room. Thank you, I love paying €250+ per night for a room where the hotel decides at what time I can and cannot sleep peacefully. And they have the audacity to charge €35 extra per night for some ridiculous “resort fee”. This practice is disgusting and price gouging to make them look more attractive per night rate. It’s illegal in the EU to do this, and rightly so, and the expiation I was given was to cover “wifi and other amenities”. Really? You think I should pay extra for poor quality wifi and a pool I didn’t use in 2024?

Notable that no one asked me how was my stay on checkout. I suspect they know the answer to that one.

The only positive I can say is the housekeeping and location was good. Suggest you avoid this place. Horrific experience, we couldn’t wait to get out of here, doesn’t even deserve one star review.

Avoid at all costs.

Room tip: Avoid at all costs.
Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExplorerIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for reaching out. If you made a reservation via third party please contact them for help. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2024

The valet service was terrible. They gave me the wrong car, hit the curb, and a traffic cone. On top of that, they drove away quickly and then almost backed up onto another car. To make matters worse, I was charged for two nights of parking when I only used it for one because it was so bad. They were unwilling to refund the extra charge, so I had to escalate the matter and speak to a manager. In addition to all of this, the wifi didn't work on one of the nights, when I called for more water, they never came up.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gposad440712
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2024

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback, gposad440712, and we're disappointed to hear about your experience. Please call the Hotel directly so we may gather your reservation details and investigate this matter further. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2024 via mobile

Ceiling leaking. They blame it on condensation from AC and do nothing. Shower doesn’t drain. Shower quickly turns into bath. Sink doesn’t drain. Wall paper is bubbling and falling apart. $300 per night

Good location is only redeeming factor, would avoid if other options are available.

Room tip: Avoid this place
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Joel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2024

Joel, it is concerning to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. The issue with the ceiling and the explanation provided are noted, and it is unfortunate this impacted your experience. Problems with the shower and the sink, and the condition of the wallpaper is not up to the standard we strive for.

Your feedback plays a crucial role in our continuous efforts to improve our services and facilities. Our maintenance team is already looking into the matters you've highlighted. We understand that a convenient location alone is not sufficient to ensure a satisfactory stay and your comments will be used to better our offerings.

It is our hope to offer a vastly improved experience, should you choose to give us another opportunity. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2024

Jorge, was the Desk Associate when I checked in. I had some challenges with my room. Jorge not only came to understand the issue, moved me and came to help me move. I had a very specific request from an embassy I was visiting. Jorge was able to direct me to what I needed and it was resolved in minutes. It was his first day and he provided the excellent customer service we used to get. It was refreshing and pleasant. I would stay there again based on my experience with Jorge.

Room tip: This is a 3 star hotel regardless of what some sites say. Good location, clean and friendly helpful staff. Rooms and bathrooms are dated.
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2024

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Beacon Hotel. It is wonderful to hear about the exceptional service you received from Jorge during your stay. The dedication and support he demonstrated, especially on his first day, truly highlight the commitment of our team members to guest satisfaction.

Jorge's willingness to assist you with a room change and his quick resolution of your specific request from the embassy show his dedication and ability to provide outstanding service. We are pleased that these efforts had such a positive impact on your stay.

We hope to welcome you back soon and provide you with another pleasant and refreshing experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2024

Sat with Mrs. Mimi at the bar! She was awesome !!! Made some great drinks & she was great to talk to!!! We’re staying at the hotel & she made our stay very enjoyable!!! We would come back just to hangout with her!!!! Had a great experience! Thank you MIMI!!!

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Larkan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2024

larkanh,

Thank you so much for sharing your delightful experience at The Beacon Hotel! It is wonderful to hear that Mrs. Mimi at the bar left such a lasting impression on you. We are thrilled that her cocktail creations and engaging conversation made your stay extra special. Our team members are passionate about creating memorable moments for our guests, and Mrs. Mimi is certainly a shining example of this commitment.

We are delighted to know that you'd consider returning just to enjoy her company again. Rest assured, we will convey your kind words to her, and we are confident she will be as thrilled to hear your praise as we are.

We're looking forward to welcoming you back to The Beacon Hotel for another incredible stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews