We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$284
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$328
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The River Inn(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$142
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$229
The Watergate
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$162
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$140
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$161
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$168
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Hyatt Washington(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$149
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$212/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,449)
Filter reviews
2,449 results
Traveller rating
1,181
790
291
109
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,181
790
291
109
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrural societywhite housenice hotelroom servicefew blocksmini barwithin walking distancehotel restaurantluxury hotelsight seeingnational mallking bedfitness centervalet parkingdupont circlemetro stationloews
Filter
Updating list...
1,818 - 1,823 of 2,449 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a classic old hotel that has been renovated very well. Great location just NE of the White House and not too far West from the convention center - just a brief walk away. Beautiful rooms and public areas. Great breakfast and the service was wonderful. A little on the pricey side, but the location and property is very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bouvierlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo_Pedrazzini, General Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Thank you for visiting The Madison! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We arrived in August for our journey to the nation's capital. We booked two rooms in the Madison through Priceline and we were very happy to get each room at less than $100 a day. We had done our homework and knew that based on our selection, we would end up with the Madison when bidding. It looked good from pictures and reviews, but our experience exceeded all of that.

For starters, it's in a great location. Close to everything in DC by car, metro, cab or walking (for some things). It's also a nice neighborhood.

From the second we checked in through the moment we checked out, we received excellent service that you would expect from a Fairmont or Ritz. Everyone from the front desk to people that dropped off ice buckets in the room.

Speaking of the room, we needed adjoining rooms and we got them. In fact, they upgraded one of the two into a one-bedroom suite, effectively giving us a 2-bedroom unit with a living room and kitchen table. The rooms were beautifully appointed, the materials were expensive, the bedding and furniture very comfortable and all were up-to-date and in great condition.

We couldn't think of anything about our stay that could have been better.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marc f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo_Pedrazzini, General Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Thank you for visiting The Madison! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I had a short but very good stay at the Madison. It's well situated downtown and the decor was right up my alley. Nice amenities: good bath products and hairdryer, ironing board and iron, keurig Coffee maker, and the umbrella came in handy for some unexpected rain. Notably, the wifi and tv also worked great--I had some issues with wifi at another nearby hotel. Staff was attentive and helpful. Overall, a great choice for DC. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank odette38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo_Pedrazzini, General Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Thank you for visiting The Madison! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Wonderful stay at the Madison. Very herlpful, friendly staff. Clean,comfortable rooms with nice showers. Wonderful dinner in The Federalist and great breakfast and burgers in Postscript. Very enjoyable visit. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mss52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paolo_Pedrazzini, General Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Thank you for visiting The Madison! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights and was warmly welcomed by each staff person we encountered. All of them made us feel as if we were in our "home away from home". The concierge Tony Brown went out of his way to accommodate our requests. I loved the bathroom mirror and the manager, Alfred Matter researched where I could order one and emailed me the information within 24 hours. The wait staff in POSTSCRIPT were very friendly and took time to learn our names .A suggestion to management would be to train servers to offer water upon ordering. A customer should not have to ask for it. Our favorite servers were Helen and Yana. The rooms were well appointed, newly renovated and the bed was very comfortable. My only issue was the heating/cooling controls in the room which were difficult to manage. This was addressed to management. As in all hotels, the fluorescent light bulbs in lamps are annoying. I suggest if your vision needs more light, always carry your own light bulb! We definitely would stay there again the next time we travel to DC

Room Tip: Do not accept the adjoining room from the corner suite as a single room. We walked in and asked to be moved as the desk was about one foot from the bed. The room needed a smaller desk. We mentioned it to management as well.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding the temperature of your room and our wait staff. Tony Brown is indeed a wonderful attribute to our team and we are pleased that you found him helpful and accommodating! We thank you for choosing The Madison and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews