We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST HOTEL EVER....DON'T STAY THERE, PLEASE.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Washington DC
Ranked #137 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WORST HOTEL EVER....DON'T STAY THERE, PLEASE.”
Reviewed 18 November 2010

We were there for a night. (Thank god). We did not deal with bedbugs, but I did smell a mouse and I found mice poop on the top of the desk in our room. I can hear the noise of a mice in the middle of the night inside our room (I did not sleep all night) Rooms were dirty did not look clean.
My husband and I checked in another hotel which was much better and with a better location.
Horrible Experience ever.It smells, the rooms are tiny, filthy and dark.
Don't stay there.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ESL069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOTEL64063, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Dear ESL,
I am sorry to hear that your stay was unsatisfactory because of the mice. At our property we do have routine pest control service and regular room inspection. We apologize for this separate incident and would like to inform you that effective measure has been taken to prevent similar incident. Thanks so much for taking time to share your comments.
Sincerely,
Negassa Rebu
General Manager
motel6dc4063gm@baywoodhotels.com
Tel. 202-722-1600 Ext. 100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    9
    20
    16
    59
See reviews for
30
21
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

There was nothing positive about this hotel. It smells the rooms are tiny and filthy, the staff is rude, the beds are rock hard, the sheets are stained, the blankets are burned, the housekeeper threw away some of my things, there arent enough towels, the window doesnt shut all the way so its cold and you can hear everything outside, the heater doesnt work, it rattles and blows out cold air, and on top of all that, they say you get free hbo and make it sound like you get all these channels, but realistically theres about five channels that come in and theyre not even clear. I will never stay at another motel 6 again

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mteeter42891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOTEL64063, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Dear Mteeter,
I am sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfactory. . Our management value all the comments and feedbacks we received from our valued customers. All the issues you raised are addressed by our management team as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. The TV Channels and internet services were upgraded recently. The hotel is on the process of total renovation. Thanks so much for taking time to share your comments.
Sincerely,
Negassa Rebu
General Manager
motel6dc4063gm@baywoodhotels.com
Tel 202-722-1600 Ext. 100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Graz, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

I checked in the Motel 6 for business trip this October. The rooms was clean and the sheets were new. The room had been cleaned nicely. The morning breakfast was nicely prepared and the place was hygienic. I recommend this motel to my fellow travelers, who was to travel light and for a affordable price.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keanu_maverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOTEL64063, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Dear,
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service. The Comments and feed backs we receive from our customer helps for the improvement of our service.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and your review.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Negassa Rebu
motel6dc4063gm@baywoodhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

I came home with bed bug bites all over my arms, back, and legs. AVOID this motel at all costs.

Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank glmrcomn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOTEL64063, General Manager at Motel 6 Washington DC, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Dear,
I am sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfactory during your visit to Washington DC. Our management value all the comments and feedbacks we received from our valued customers. Our trained professional and pest control service company team strive to continuously improve the quality of our service based of the feedbacks we received from our customers. We recently did k-9 pest inspection to all our rooms and heat treatment, which is recommended to be very effective to avoid similar separate incidents. We hope to welcome you back to see our improved services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and your review.
Sincerely,
General Manager

Negassa Rebu

motel6dc4063gm@baywoodhotels.com
Tel. 202-722-1600 Ext 100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We shopped all over the DC area and this was the best buy in town. There was a Safeway Market a block away for food incidentals. It was a block from walter Reed Med Centre. Subway and bus were easily accessible. The next best price in DC was over $70 more than we paid. It was clean. Everything in the room worked ok. The area seemed safe. So, for the price we paid, it was excellent value. The pool was immaculate and welll maintained. The staff were courteous, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MississaugaTEACHER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

l stayed at this location 7/5-7/6/2010. It was a good value for the location and the pool was in working order. We were in room 214 and experienced no bed bugs. The bathroom did have a slight hint of mildew but not enough to complain. The desk clerks were nice to us. My only complaint was no iron in the room. A $10 deposit was required to obtain one. The hotel had a security guard who was actually doing his job and you can only access the elevators with you key card. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveler36605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We thought we were saving money by staying at the Motel 6. Little did we know that we would bring home bedbugs. I had noticed the bites after the first night but were unable to book another room. I had itchy, sore bites all over my arms, chest, and legs. We switched rooms and the problems did not get any better. The front desk either didn't speak English or pretended not to and did not help us. We did everything we could to avoid bringing the bugs home with us, including throwing away luggage and washing all of our clothing, but the bugs still made it home with us and we had to pay an obscene amount of money to fumigate our apartment. I am completely traumatized by staying that this hotel- I don't understand how they don't do anything about it when clearly so many travelers have experienced problems with bedbugs at this hotel. Disgusting.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klm03013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#128 of 141 in Washington DC
324 reviews
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#118 of 141 in Washington DC
1,769 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#126 of 141 in Washington DC
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#130 of 141 in Washington DC
252 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Baron Hotel
The Baron Hotel
#129 of 141 in Washington DC
381 reviews
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gall...
#116 of 141 in Washington DC
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Washington DC

Property: Motel 6 Washington DC
Address: 6711 Georgia Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20012-2515
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Washington DC 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Washington DC is conveniently located within 6 miles of the World War II Memorial, the White House, and the US Supreme Court. Restaurants are nearby. Enjoy our modern rooms with 32" LCD TVs and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Motel 6 Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Motel Six Washington Dc
Washington Dc Motel 6
Washington Dc Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing