We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre at Best ”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mizu Japanese Steak House
Ranked #15 of 73 Restaurants in Alabaster
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 2, 2017 via mobile

The service was okay, sushi was average but nothing to brag about, the hibachi chef didn't put on a show or talk at all, he pretty much looked like he hated his life and did not want to be there which was a real downer. The food had zero flavor. Really disappointing.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank 602brookeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 28 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2017 via mobile

We are regulars at this Japanese steakhouse and the food is consistently delicious. The hibachi chefs are entertaining, the restaurant is clean and the staff is very friendly.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank luvtotravel0330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2017

We have eaten at Mizu often but, unfortunately, it seems to have gone downhill. The last few times have been a disappointment. The quality of food has suffered. We usually sit at tables rather than at the hibachi grill. Ordered filet combos this evening. I am fairly positive the meat was not a filet, but rather a poor quality sirloin. Way to tough to be a filet. The scallops were very thin and had a slimy consistency. One member of our party became ill after eating the filet and scallops. The hibachi meals come with soup, salad, meat, vegetables, fried rice, and lo-mein noodles. The "yum-yum" sauce is very weak and watered down. After leaving, I looked up the food inspection score and probably should have done this before entering--definitely too low for my standards. Very disappointing and too expensive to pay for bad food.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank samsgram2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2017

Great value at lunch time. It's a little more expensive at dinner time, so we like to go for lunch. Great food and comes out in a timely manner.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Jaime C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 26, 2016

The sushi was absolutely the worst I've ever had, and I've been eating it for over 30 years. It was soggy and mostly cucumber. If there was any fish (or eel) in it at all, it was slivers. I will never eat there again. It is hard to pay a lot of money for inedible food.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank autigers10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mizu Japanese Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Mizu Japanese Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing